We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most westerly hotel in Europe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada de Sagres, Infante

Save Saved
You added Pousada de Sagres, Infante to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Sagres
Cadiz, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The most westerly hotel in Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our visit was in January 2013 and we were lucky enough to be the only residents in the hotel for our one nights stay. The location is fabulous being at the furthermost tip of Europe with spectacular views of the cliffs and beaches of Sagres. The room was clean and comfortable and so quiet we had a really relaxing nights sleep. We had a superb dinner which we really could have shared because the portions were so large. At breakfast, the buffet was brought to our table and we had the choice of everything; fruit, every type of bread you could imagine, cakes, cooked meats, cheese, cereals and then were offered something cooked. It was quite an event eating in the large dining room by ourselves and we stayed a little while to make the most of it. The staff couldn't have been more helpfull and, it was definitely worth the journey to get there. During our stay we visited the attractions of the area and all in all, had a great time.

Room Tip: The rooms on the west overlook the swimming pool, terrace and the westernmost point of Europe and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    105
    29
    6
    3
See reviews for
33
177
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorks, UK
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Following a lovely stay here in Spring 2012, we were delighted to be coming back to this beautiful, welcoming and spectacularly located Pousada. Again, our welcome was first class, with the friendly and efficient Reception and Restaurant staff doing their utmost to make you feel at home in the wonderful surroundings.

You could pay much, much more, and never get a view like this. Set on a promontory a couple of hundred yards or so from the little village of Sagres, this must be one of the world's greatest views. The end of the world as it was once known is so spectacular, and best viewed from your sea view bedroom in this lovely hotel.

The rooms are surprisingly light and modern, but spotlessly clean, and beautifully maintained by courteous and smiling housekeepers. Our suite was wonderful, but any of the rooms as long as they face the sea are just great. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff who are charming, friendly and always smiling. They take a pride in this lovely hotel, and it shows.

There are few nicer things to do in an evening than watch the spectacular sunsets over to the west, sipping cocktails with the sea rolling in before you. And even in bad weather, it is just as spectacular. The lounges are calm, comfortable and airy - just perfect to relax.

Breakfast is reliable, with a wide range of cold and some hot dishes. It is here you soon realise you are not the only returnees here - the pousada has, and deserves an ever growing band of regular clients. We are happy to join them, and will be back as soon as possible.

Thank you to all the staff at the Pousada Infante de Sagres. Keep our room safe for us - we will be back. Just the most lovely place to stay in Portugal.

Room Tip: Sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just spent 4 excellent days in Sagres. The hotel is in the best location in the town with superb views all around. The room was huge and spotlessly clean and had an endless supply of toiletries and "room chocolates" provided every day. Breakfast was very good and both the breakfast room and restaurant have views out over the sea and pool. The bar and public lounge areas on the ground floor have free Wi-Fi, and are very comfortable nice places to just do nothing. All the staff are very friendly and efficient, particularly Cristina who we meant to nominate for Employee of the Month but we forgot so sorry about that - she got our vote though!

Room Tip: This time we had a Suite as the rate was so good but you don't really need to go for a special r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Pousada in a sea-view room. The hotel is located on the top of the cliffs on this beautiful, wild & unspoiled stretch of the Algarve coast. The views from our room and balcony were stunning, it's worth staying there for that alone. However the hotel has more to offer - we ate dinner in their restaurant both nights and the food was very good. I loved their fish stew, it could have fed 2 people and at 13 euros, was exceptional value for money. All of the staff we met were friendly and helpful. Hotel is well sign-posted and easy to find, large car-park and English spoken by all staff.

Room Tip: It's worth asking for a sea-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Best location in the whole south-west Portugal with really breathtaking views from the rooms and restaurant.
Rooms are ok., clean, with good climatisation, but nothing special besides the view.
Service friendly, breakfast ok, good kitchen for dinner!
We come every year and surely will return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel was a bit dated but the location made up for it. Our room was beautiful with a separate living area and bedroom. It was clean and had all we needed. The balcony overlooked the pool and ocean. The breakfast was just ok. The hotel didn't offer any food services after 9pm the night we stayed and seemed hesitant to recommend a place in town-they stated all would be closed. We found several restauarants open and had an excellent meal at Vila Velha. Be sure to explore the entire property, the view at the edge of the cliffs is amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Previous recent reviews just about say it it all. Nice room, good service, attentive staff, wonderful scenic surroundings. Good place to walk from and enjoy local attractions, for example, a boat trip with Mar Ilimitado.

Bar area a bit smokey from open fire, a possible problem if you are asthmatic.

Sagres amenities and restaurants are easy to walk to and good value.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room with balcony for wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pousada de Sagres, Infante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Sagres, Infante

Also Known As:
Pousada Do Infante Hotel
Pousada Do Infante Sagres
Pousada Do Infante Hotel Sagres
Address: Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
#4 Family Hotel in Sagres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Sagres, Infante 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Sagres fort and the lighthouse of Cape St Vicent, Pousada do Infante enjoys a beautiful cliff-top location along the Atlantic Ocean. The sunbeds around the swimming pool offer breathtaking views of the coast. Sporty guests can enjoy a game of tennis on the tennis courts or go fishing. Guest rooms of the Pousada de Sagres include air conditioning, a work desk and safe. Each room has a modern bathroom with bathrobes for extra comfort. After a relaxing day, guests of the Pousada de Sagres can enjoy grilled lobster and typical Algarve almond pastries in the hotel’s restaurant. The Sagres fort is located a 5-minute drive away from the hotel. Lagos can be reached in a 30-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Escapio, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Pousada de Sagres, Infante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada de Sagres, Infante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.