We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mar a Vista

Mar a Vista
Praia Da Mareta, Sagres, Portugal
+351 282620280
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 47 Restaurants in Sagres
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Odense
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Nice local restaurant and one of the best fish restaurants in town. Perfect view over the sea and near one of the best beaches "Maretta" and one of the best bars "The Last Chance". Don't miss it if you visit Sagres.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    27
    40
    20
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Perfect evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had a lovely evening here . Bit of a retro theme with the decor which added to its charm.
Great food, wine and service and extremely good value. Only sorry we dined here near the end of our holiday as we would have loved to have returned

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Unexpected Discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

An accidental find while looking for food in deserted Sagres this summer. All of three tables were occupied when we arrived at 10 p.m. and the waitstaff were surely looking forward to going home, but we were treated with courtesy and enjoyed a leisurely meal. Having opted for the regional porco alentejano specialty (pork cooked with clams and served with potatoes, garlic, lemon, and parsley), I can't say much about the quality of the seafood, but the clams that accompanied my dish were fresh and tasty. The wine recommended to us was a regional red, cheaper than the one we were considering, and quite satisfying. We thoroughly appreciated the food, the discreet service, and the quiet atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Top nosh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Absolutely excellent, ate here twice during our six day visit and loved it . First class seafood starters including fresh clams and the barnacles are a must try ! Beautiful selection of fresh caught fish , dorada and bass were our choice. Delicious Portugese wines both white and green at very fair prices and very efficient waiters with perfect English and good humour and a good knowlege of everything they are serving, finally, the home made sweets are a must have !

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

We stopped off at this place on the way to the coast for a little lunch. It seemed to be the busiest place on the front and prices ranged from reasonable to whopping.

Service was nothing spectacular although one of the waiters did smile at least twice, which was nice.

The food was nice although we suspected the swordfish had been frozen as it was suspiciously well cut.

Overall a nice place but more of a food serving place than a restaurant.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mar a Vista also viewed

Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 

Been to Mar a Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mar a Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.