We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Emporer - incredible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mar a Vista

Mar a Vista
Praia Da Mareta, Sagres, Portugal
+351 282 624 247
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 50 Restaurants in Sagres
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Red Emporer - incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Food - fresh and brilliant, it is seafood so dont expect anything if you order pasta. the best fish meal we have ever eaten and we eat all over the globe
Wine - well priced and affordable
Children - selection limited but workable and accomodating to kids.
Views - sweeping to the ocean
Staff - some need a personality transplant, but we did not let this spoilt the meal. They are well versed and knowledgable on the food and wine offered.

2 Kids, 2 Adults and a bottle of wine - 80 Euro.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    55
    23
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Mar a Vista”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Very good seafood, with reasonably prices. The views are great, specially at sunset and near the beach.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best Fish In Sagres!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

This without doubt serves the best fresh fish in Sagres, service is simple and you have the advantage of great sea views hence the name Mar a Vista! Not the cheapest but far better than the restaurant at the harbour which is way over priced for the quality of food served.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish and Sea Food by a Honest owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We wanted "Perceves" sea food. Paulo, the owner said openly that i was not fresh those days ,and so he does not recommend it. Instead we had a fantastic "Cataplana of Fresh Fish". The staff was also very nice and preffessional. A place to enjoy and to recommend. We will go back in our next visit to this part of Portugal. To be also mention the wonderful ocean view of the Restaurant.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic sea food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The restaurant is very popular with the locals and tourists. It's better to book before you go to avoid disappointment.
We naively shown up without booking, was very lucky to grab a table out side, so I can't really tell how it's like for the indoor are, but it was packed!
Very fresh and beautifully cooked seafood!! If you are a seafood lover like us, then this is a place you have to try, although it could be a bit pricy, depends on what you choose. But you are on holiday...there's no harm to treat yourself a fantastic meal!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mar a Vista also viewed

Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 
Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 

Been to Mar a Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mar a Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.