We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous relaxing family oriented place with lovely accommodatin staff and awesome food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warung

Warung
Rua do Mercado | Sagres 8650, Sagres, Portugal
+351 282 624 432
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 47 Restaurants in Sagres
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Mexican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: The livingroom at the end of the world with amazingly good food, beauteful atmosphere, friendly staff & good music.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous relaxing family oriented place with lovely accommodatin staff and awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Our party of 7 adults and 5 children visited Warung on 3rd Nov 2012 at the end of season for the area. We were treated so well and the food was awesome. A party like ours always has varied needs with children ranging from 1 to 5. Nothing was a problem and we had a fab evening. Thanks to the staff :-)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    26
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect way to complement a day on the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

After warming up on the beaches of the Algarve after a relatively cool tour of Bavaria, this place hit the spot. The place has a very chill, surfer feel (welcoming to all but especially those of us who actually surf) and we arrived on a lazy Sunday evening as the sun was setting. We understand it can be a busy, happening place with live music, but today this was perfect. Others write this place feels grubby, but having arrived by day with a comfortable number of patrons, Warung was clean and airy, relaxed. The low seating futons and oversized backcushions gave it a very relaxed atmosphere. Both the proprietors, a Mexican and a German, were extremely nice and helpful (and their command of various languages would be helpful to touring patrons). Again, it was early Sunday evening, so it was not extremely busy, so they gave us a generous supply of tips for visiting the local area.

The local beers were complemented by some German Weizenbier, which was a nice touch. The food selection was not extravagant but deliciously spiced and tasty... those of us that had Mexican fare (chicken burritoes) were quite pleased and found some unusual flavors we had not experienced in North America. The veggie burger was one of the best the partaker had eaten... with an eggplant on top and the fried carrots were unique and delicious. My grilled "carnivore" plate had a great trio of meat and tasty potato wedges.

In short, I look forward to coming back to Sagres one day, and I already plan to revisit Warung!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It's a bar for goodness sake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This really shouldn't be in the restaurant section, although it does do food. It is a hang out surfer place with grotty loos and a grubby, dark feel. I'm sure it rocks when it's late and in the high season but really it does not warrant receiving high marks as a restaurant. The food is extremely average and the cocktails are good but so are they at loads of places in this part of the world.

It's really really ordinary.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Laid back, inexpensive and great food and drinks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Loved the vibe of this little surfer restaurant. The owner (from Mexico City) taught me how she makes her Micheladas (get one! best I've had!) and was super nice and chatty. We had chalupas and it was some of the best Mexican food I've had. YUM! Service slowed down as the place filled up, so beat the rush.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Grubby and dark, staff very offhand”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

An over-rated young people's hang-out. Staff uncaring and bored-looking, slow and lazy. Not an overly clean place. Food mediocre and cocktails poorly made. It's obviously where the young locals hang out and play pool. Go for a beer to see a bit of life but don't have anything else. Can't understand the other reviews frankly.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung also viewed

Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 
Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 

Been to Warung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.