We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check out the hype!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gigi

Gigi
Avenida comandante matoso, Sagres 8650-357, Portugal
+351 282624316
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 50 Restaurants in Sagres
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: On the road leading down to the Memmo Baleeira Hotel
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Check out the hype!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Walking past this restaurant it was always busy, at lunch and queues at night!
The seafood was fresh and overall good value for money. Definitely one of the better places we ate at in sagres

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    61
    29
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“more touristy than authentic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Lots of tourists, very busy in the afternoon, otherwise it's tasty but not perfect, usual portuguese restaurant for tourists, not so good, not so bad

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Don't eat the meat!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

When we arrived we were told the wait could be up to 45 min for our food. Not an issue as we were told. We had a good bottle of cheap red to keep us going, but our mistake was ordering the steak/ veal. This restaurant obviously specializes in sea food, so stick to that. The meat was tough and some of the worst we've had. Service was ok, not the best restaurant in sagres...

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice seafood and fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Nice seafood and fish at relaxed place. Don't expect super service, but still worth it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“leave it to the locals”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

we ate here on our first night as it was very busy, lots of locals, it was ok not quite our taste but quite cheap

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gigi also viewed

Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 
Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 

Been to Gigi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gigi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.