We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel

Save Saved
You added Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urbanizacao Quinta do Martinhal | Apartado 54, Sagres 8650-908, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Sagres
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wow!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just returned from Martinhal today and was very sad to leave.

I went with my 2.5 year old daughter and husband and what a wonderful hotel. I did plenty of research online and this one came up trumps, why aren't there more hotels like this .

We were lucky enough to stay in the ocean bay house which I must say was fab. As we paid half board, there was a breakfast hamper waiting in our house. That included milk, a loaf of bread, butter, orange juice and cornflakes. There is a dishwasher and washing machine. You don't need to bring any tablets for the dishwasher as they do give you a tablet a day as well as washing up liquid. I did bring washing tablets to wash my clothes though as it was great to not bring as many clothes.

My daughter was entertained the moment she got there so no need to bring toys apart from books. Everywhere we went,there was something for her.

All three restaurants were great as they had play areas in each restaurant. I preferred the terrace restaurant as there was a lovely lady called Daniela there who looked after my daughter whilst we ate. Great to have as my daughter is not one to stay still.

A suggestion to the hotel would be to use children's plates and cutlery for the children's meals, I did have to ask for the plates numerous times and sadly no children's cutlery.

A little windy for me and the indoor pool was quite cold so my daughter couldn't use that.

I would suggest gong half board as not much outside the hotel really. The only downside is you had to pay for drinks.

Overall a great holiday with great staff which suited us and wasn't at all stressful. Hope to return next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
On behalf of the all of us at Martinhal many thanks for your fantastic review!
It’s heart-warming to know all our efforts are recognised and that we are on the right path to continuously surpass our Clients expectations. It is indeed a great pleasure and very gratifying to know how much you and your family loved your stay and enjoyed some of the secrets of this beautiful part of the Western Algarve!
We all look forward to your return and provide you and your family with many more perfect holiday experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    407
    164
    45
    20
    7
See reviews for
411
129
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Over the last few years things have changed all due to having a baby. Holidays and hotels are now picked on baby friendly criteria rather than 5 star spa facitites. However, the Martinhal is a hotel that exceeds all expectations. The accomodation is clean, spacious and practical for families with babies. Everything has been planned with a childs safety in mind and still feels 5 star . Sterilisers and cot beds are there when you arrive and you can hire buggies so you dont have to lumber one all the way from home. There is an excellent creche / nursery on site - If you are planning to use this facility its best to book the space well before you travel as spaces go quickly. We ate in three different restaurants on the resort and all we fantastic - Fine dining, seafood and a casual Italian. The pools are lovely and clean and surrounded by giant bean bags which are a great idea with kids. If you can get away from the kids for an hour the Spa is definately worth a visit.
Above all this, my lasting memory of the Martinhal was the customer service. It was just excellent and all staff were just brilliant with our daughter. Nothing was ever too much trouble.
At first glance, the prices for a holiday at the Martinhal may seem a little on the high side but in my opinion its worth every penny. Don't take the risk on some random family brits abroad hotel with overweight Chelsea fans diving bombing into the pool during the day and singing "Vindaloo" at night when for a few extra pounds you could stay here. You will love it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Public Relations Manager at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We take our Clients expectations very seriously, especially when travelling with children who enjoy a large choice of activities and their parents that look forward to simply relax! It is therefore very rewarding to know that you and your family had a lovely stay with us and that we successfully provided you all with a win-win perfect combination.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon for more memorable holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was our first trip to Portugal and our stay in Martinhal was an icing to an excellent holiday. The facilities were excellent with convenient amenities. Views were magnificent especially the view of the Atlantic Ocean. The staff are always there to attend to your needs. Travelling with 2 young kids are always a challenge but once you're in Martinhal, they help take that load off your shoulders. Thank you staff and management of Martinhal. It was worth the 20 hours journey from Singapore!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are excellent. For longer stay, consider the Ocean View villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
It is our goal to exceed expectations and we appreciate you letting us know we did in so many ways. Thank you!
We hope you will continue to make Martinhal your first choice and we look forward to welcome you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burwash
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

i cannot recommend this resort enough. We actually spent a lot of time trying to find something wrong!
we stayed in a bay house and if only my house was as beautifully designed, high quality and spotless! nespresso machines in kitchen, flat screen TV (never used) white goods, two fridges one just for beer! good quality well stocked utensils. patio doors both sides that open fully and insect doors, black out blinds.
The design, the lighting, even down to the door handles has been carefully selected and and no expense spared. Beds, mattresses, pillows, bedding were amazing, the bath and shower efficient and well designed. Wonderful good quality NOYA beauty products left in the rooms that we treasured.We worked out it was shop price of £80's worth per house. The giant outdoor bean bags were a top hit too.

The cleaning fairies came every day and did an exceptional job.

Everywhere we strolled our breath was taken away, the amount of care that had gone into it. The gardens, the architecture, the soft furnishings and lighting, design themes and contrasts. One day we found a path we hadn't seen before to find a little clearing in the edge of the beach, a box of beach toys supplied, a pod, a hammock and some hanging chairs hidden away in a little wooded area, totally secluded and blissful with untouched views and not so many kids. Such a pleasant surprise.

But the biggest plus is the amount of care the resort exudes. blankets on hand if you're cool over dinner, staff to entertain kids as you eat so they don't get bored and you don't get hassled. They even a service to deliver a cool box to you on the beach.

Breakfast was so amazing it brought a tear to my eye.. my eldest loved serving herself healthy organic locally grown fruits, going back again and again and mum and i enjoyed the champagne! When my step dad asked if they has any goats cheese they offered to get some in for him to next day. it was one of the best bits.

We liked the sea food restaurant better than the Terrace, although there was not a lot in it, but we enjoyed eating there best. Great vegetarian choices and the trampoline and playground in view to keep kids busy.

it is so nice to be somewhere that gives you the feeling that they (hopefully) treat their staff as well as their guests, going by the smiles on their faces and how chirpy and happy they all seemed. Nothing you asked for was too much. I was touched by one waiter Daniel (S?) who used to bend down and talk to the kids in the pool as he went past delivering cocktails to lazy mums, complimenting them on their swimming or giving them a hand if they were struggling to get out. Lovely. My kids have never felt so safe anywhere before and that gives parents an strong element of freedom to relax, and relax I did! I can see why people return, i hope one day ill be in a position to take my kids back there, it would be my first choice.

i didn't rate 5*" s for location as i found the area a bit blustery and barren, the wind was a challenge at times. Sagres lacked any architecture or cultural significance for me, and there was none of the bustling streets or vibey spots like we noticed in old town Albefeuira that we visited. Martinhal was a little sedate, which might well be a taste thing but i like to have a little bit of fun in the evenings adult no-kids-around style. we had hopes for the surf bar but here was just no one in there and the excellent band thats there when we went for pre dinners cocktails had finished by 9pm when we went back.

I marked down value although many if not most elements are value for money but some things felt like a rip off. I thought (like many others) that when the beds are free everywhere but not on the beach that was a bit or a shame. kids club too, was very expensive and i think more activities could have been free. €5 for a water at dinner was a bit high as was €8 for a glass of sparkling wine when id bought 2 whole bottles for the same price in the supermarket that were just as good.
But don't let that put you off, its a wonderful experience to visit there, read all the reviews, pick up what you can in advance of booking and packing so you get the right balance then it could be as wonderful for you as it was for us.

Room Tip: You don't need to take beach towels as they are supplied to your room and if you're too laz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Many thanks for your review and many praises. It is very rewarding to know that we are on the right path!
We ensure you that at Martinhal we monitor our Clients feedback very closely to ensure that we can constantly improve as well as continue to develop our products and services in response to our valued Clients expectations.
We look forward to host you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have read about this resort in Fodor's and the review was so good that we drove all the way from casablanca (Morocco) to stay for the weekend and despite the cloudy, windy, and even rainy weather we did not regret it. Everything about Martinhal is perfect, the service, the accommodation and the setting.
We went for several walks along the surrounding cliffs, and got to discover the stunning landscapes of the western Algarve. What a difference between the warm and friendly Portuguese and the grumpy Spanish....

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Our sincere thanks for your very lovely compliments. It is very rewarding to know we are succeeding to provide the luxury hospitality we strive for.
We look forward to your return as we are sure you will enjoy many more fantastic holiday experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

It was our first stay in Martinhal resort with our 2 children, in an Ocean View small villa. The location is great (very nice beach with beautiful views), the villa (great views from the terrace AND the first floor) was well equipped and spotlessy clean. The resort is very well done for the kids (several swimming pools, goods clubs with a very friendly staff and a wide range of activities), restaurants are from OK (Gambosinhos) to very good (the steakhouse) but more expensive than any other in the area. A real relaxing break, we will definitely come back. To be improved : service in the M bar too slow, and for the price a DVD player in the house should not be an option. Tip : the small "mercado" is very convenient but you will get a better value for money in the Sagres Intermarche.

Room Tip: Look carefully at the map on the website to choose your villa... the views are different !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

A really great resort, very friendly. We stayed in the villa mimosa, a lovely clean and modern town house with everything you need. There is a stair gate for toddlers.
If you hire a car to get there we couldn't fault the service at Avis, even having a child seat fitter. The journey by car is easy to the resort and handy having a car as the local supermarket is a 5 minute drive.
The resort itself has great children's playgrounds and toddler pools, and easy access to the beach. The square in the evening also provide children's activities to watch .We had one cloudy day where we ventured to the zoo a 25 minute drive but a nice outing .
The resort also has a local shop which stocks a lot of toddler essentials.
Overall a great trip and we would return .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Many thanks for your review and many praises. It is very rewarding to know that we are on the right path!
We ensure you that at Martinhal we monitor our Clients feedback very closely to ensure that we can constantly improve as well as continue to develop our products and services in response to our valued Clients expectations.
We look forward to host you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel

Address: Urbanizacao Quinta do Martinhal | Apartado 54, Sagres 8650-908, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sagres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel is the finest luxury family resort in Europe. Positioned within a protected natural park near the historic fishing port of Sagres, on Portugal’s unspoiled western Algarve coast, Martinhal is where luxury meets Nature. Martinhal welcomes families and couples, and the greeting is warm, open and generous. Guests feel at home. And it’s memorable. This is where life-long friendships will blossom, and where lasting impressions will be made. Stylish, contemporary architecture complements the organic personality of the resort, which has been shaped to blend effortlessly into the indigenous landscape. This is function and form at its best. This is sustainability. And Martinhal is more. For conferences, weddings and celebrations, Europe’s finest luxury resort sets the scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Escapio, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinhal Beach Resort And Hotel
Martinhal Beach Hotel Sagres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.