We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb staff, wonderful hotel, beautiful surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel to your Saves list
Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urbanizacao Quinta do Martinhal | Apartado 54, Sagres 8650-908, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb staff, wonderful hotel, beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We spent 10 days over New Year at Martinhal - 3 adults and 2 small children each at different stages of a nasty flu that started its rounds at Christmas. Despite our illnesses we managed to have a lovely time - mostly due to the amazing warmth, care and thoughtfulness of the staff. Could not praise them enough. In addition the hotel rooms were beautiful and a pleasure to be confined to for convalescence. The food, facilities, childcare/kids club were all great and there is plenty beyond - the coast and beaches east and particularly north of Martinhal are magnificent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review.
We are delighted that the quality of our service, attention to detail and dedication has surpassed your expectations and made the difference in the enjoyment of your stay despite the illnesses – we trust that the whole family is doing well now. Winter is a wonderful time to be at Martinhal and we all look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again and to provide you and your family with plenty more memorable experiences, as well as organising more exploratory trips around our wonderful region at the south-westernmost point of continental Europe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    188
    53
    23
    7
See reviews for
460
140
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed in the beach room with full sea view for 5 nights. The beach is maybe a 3 minute walk from the beach rooms. These rooms are superb as you have a stunning view and you can hear the sea all night - not in a loud way more a soothing you to sleep way. There are also beach rooms partial sea view and they are just as described - same style of room but not a full view of the sea. This was our second visit to the Martinhal after having visited during the first year in 2010.

All staff encountered were very good as before from reception to maid service, restaurant and maintenance staff. All very friendly and courteous and had obviously been trained to very high standards. The cleanliness of the rooms and all equipment was as spotless and in great condition as it had been during my first visit 3 years ago. The maids were great as they would nip in if you were just gone for breakfast for half an hour and they would have the place spotless on your return.

The main O Terroco restaurant was closed for a couple of weeks whilst its being extended so I'm sure this will add to the experience in the Martinhal. We dined in O Terroco restaurant the last time and the 5 course menu there is superb. Not cheap but definitely worth trying at least one night. As such on this occasion all food had to be taken in As Dunas which was fine - some nice seafood choices. A couple of nice restaurants in Sagres itself but many are closed in January. Fish is the main speciality which was superb - try the sea bass!

We stayed in Early January - deliberately as we knew the place would be very very quiet. Which it was! We had the pools and restaurants to ourselves which suited us fine. We went in October the first year and it was busier but not too crowded - this may have changed since as the resort is certainly gaining in popularity. I would say choose your time wisely as if you're going for a quiet relaxing couples break then avoid certain times of the year as this is a family resort and as such the peak holidays season would be jammed with lots of kids etc. (I'm not anti kids - its just it wont make for a relaxing couples break :-) Next time I go back I would say it will be March/April - we were lucky with the weather in January maybe 17/18 degrees most days. Also, the rates can vary widely depending on the time of year you pick.

I would advise getting a car if you're staying for any length of time as there are things to see in the area and the town of Sagres is maybe 1.5-2 miles. There are mini markets on the way to the town which are fairly well stocked for those who are going on the self catering option. There are also nice towns within half an hour drive that are worth a look. All in all a very nice relaxing break and cant wait to go back....

Room Tip: Beach rooms with full sea view are the best if you're going as a couple. The partial sea view b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We do aim to provide all our valuable guests with memorable experiences, not only by pampering our guests but also paying close attention to details that do make all the difference. We are proud of our prime location overlooking Martinhal Bay and neighboring protected Natural Park, fantastic facilities, luxurious accommodation, as well as the our warm winters. Indeed the fantastic winter microclimate that we have in Sagres and Martinhal is often the key factor of attraction for our guests returning during these warm winter months.
While periods outside of school holidays, and especially the winter months, are excellent for couples visiting without children, we certainly try to ensure that couples visiting at other periods are well-looked after too.
We are too looking forward to your return – hopefully soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went twice to the Martinhal and experienced a sea view villa the first time and then a garden view villa on the second trip. I would say that it is worth paying the little more money to get the sea view as waking up in the early morning with the beach and sea at your horizon is really unforgettable. sitting on the top floor veranda with a nice Nespresso coffee (machine provided by the hotel with complementary capsules). The rooms are nicely designed with a modern clean nordic design with flat screen TV and free wifi. The garden view villa was just as nice but you realise you can't quite relax as there is always guests going back and forward in front of the house. It felt a bit claustrophobic the garden house after experiencing the bay view.
there are many outdoor activities in the resort with indoor and outdoor pool, tennis court, gym, sauna, spa, bike rental, small shops.
during the day there is a morning and afternoon kids club where children can play safely supervised by a friendly staff, most of whom speaks english. Most hotel staff will always make the effort for you to feel at home.
The only criticism that I would give is the restaurants long waiting time. Literally you could spend the afternoon to have your lunch. We decided to go out for dinner in the village which was quicker and cheaper. You can also cook your own food in the fully furnished kitchen. there is a supermarket in Sagres.
There are many breath taking view beaches around Sagres, but the sea is cold and it can be windy.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view; a bit more expensive but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Many thanks for your loyalty and preference to Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel.
Your kind comments are highly appreciated and encouraging to continuously surpass our valued Guests expectations.
We look forward to host you again in 2013 so that you and your family may enjoy again another unforgettable holiday and a much improved service in our restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We visited Martinhal in October half term 2012. My first impression was that it was like a funkier more modern version of Bedruthan Steps in Cornwall if anybody has been there. The beach and the way the hotel was built into the cliff was eerily similar. We stayed in a two-storey appartment. It was really well appointed with two bedrooms and bathrooms, and a large open plan kitchen/living area upstairs with super views over the bay. It felt a bit like an Ikea room set! It was great having the room cleaned once a day and the beds made et. Along with the two restaurants, the whole thing felt like having the best of both worlds - self catering but in a hotel. We ate in some nights and went out others, depending on how tired the children were. It was also lovely not having to jump out of bed in the morning in order to get to breakfast!

Martinhal isn't the most luxurious or spoiling place I've been but it was great for the kids. They really enjoyed the kids club, which was an absolute god send given the weather was NOT good. Generally, our children don't spend that much times in kids' clubs but the cool temperatures meant the pool and beach were not options for a lot of the time. There are several pools (including an indoor one - although this didn't appear to be heated), play areas, tennis courts, kids club etc but one can't help but wondering whether this is all necessary because of the weather? I've been told it can be very changeable all year around.

The spa was good although getting a slot was tricky - again, because the beach and pool were out of the question much of the time I guess that is where all the grown ups went when their children were at the kids' club!

When the sun did come out, the beach was beautiful. At times the sea was very rough but other days it was lovely and calm - great for paddling! On the sunny days, the main pool area was fairly crowded and it was difficult to get a bed, so I'm not sure what it would be like in the middle of the summer holidays.

One of our favourite features was the fact the restaurant had a balcony overlooking a giant sandpit and trampoline. Our children loved this, and it meant we could sit and relax while keeping an eye on them. There was a separate little play area for very small ones. Most of the staff were very friendly and great with the kids but not all.

We may well come again but I think we'd visit in the summer months when there is more chance of better weather.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your great review.
We are glad to learn how much you and your family enjoyed your stay last October and how your children loved their time in our fantastic Kids Clubs allowing you to enjoy plenty of relaxing moments in our Finisterra SPA. Many thanks for your appreciation of our As Dunas restaurant overlooking Martinhal Beach which offers the ideal combination for both parents and children. The variety of delicious fresh seafood and fish dishes, amongst others, is sure to allow you to experience an amazing meal while the little ones have lots of fun.
We all hope to warmly welcome you and your family back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in a 2-bedroom house at Martinhal over the Christmas holidays. As the other reviewers say, the facilities are top-class. To add to that, we found the staff to be wonderful! We have rarely felt as looked after as we did at Martinhal. When one of our party was injured, they arranged ice and medicines, offered to help us get medical assistance and followed up to check on our progress.

We found that what makes Martinal special is attention to detail: from the unusual and spectacular layout of the houses, to the furnishings, the cleanliness, the toiletries, the entertainment, the location, and the first class amenities (including wifi), everything is top notch.

But what makes this place truly special, in our opinion, is the warmth and efficiency of the staff. From the front desk, to housekeeping and dining services, to the staff at the pool, everyone was so friendly and helpful!

Thank you for such a nice stay. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
As you kindly mentioned, at Martinhal we do take every aspect seriously and we also strongly believe that small details do make a difference.
Thank you for taking the time to post your fantastic review and letting us know we are on the right path in surpassing our valued Guests expectations. It is indeed a great pleasure and very gratifying to know how much you enjoyed your Christmas holidays at Martinhal.
We look forward to welcome you again – hopefully very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Christmas at the Martinhal Resort was really special for our family. My three daughters 11, 13 and 15 just felt right at home the minute they landed with the warm reception by the staff. The Blue Room was really set up well for their age group. Our three Bed roomed Ocean Front House was just amazing. Decor was A1, comfort was just better than home. Security in the whole complex was very safe for the children. The swimming pools heated to perfection gave us all plenty of exercise. Gym well equipped and great staff. Tennis Courts and paddle Ball were great. We enjoyed our Christmas Dinner in the Terraco Restaurant where we also had breakfast every morning with excellent views over the whole Bay. The beach was spotless and a great walk in the morning as the sun was rising. Local people in Sagres all so friendly and helpful. We want to book our next holiday and would say the best place we ever stayed was the Martinhal Resort. Thanks to all there that made it a great stay. Finestra Spa was just out of this world with very highly trained staff and Interior was just amazing.

Room Tip: Our Corner House was great with a double Balcony where it gave us all our own space to relax in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We are delighted with your appreciation of our very essence!
It is so rewarding to learn that we have offered you and your family a very special Christmas holiday. Thank you for your kind recognition and high praises on our luxurious accommodation, 5 star facilities, amazing location, quality service and friendliness of our Team.
We all look forward to host you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a nice (very well equipped) villa 2 minutes walk from the indoor pool and kids club..Our 3 year old loved every minute of her holiday. She met many new friends and would lead the way in walking to the next event. One day the 'activists' lead the children down to the beach and our daughter smiled at us but kept going with them.
Mealtimes there was always a childrens space with an attendant to distract them.
It seems to be a very safe place with lots to do for all ages: tennis, 5 heated pools, good gym, lots of space,walks, beach and beach bars, basketball, cycling etc.all within easy walking distance. Older children (of all ages) can be independant here.
As for adults well, we had 8 full days of sunshine out of 10 with temperatures up to 20. (Dec 23 -Jan1). We sunbathed, relaxed, cooked, cycled and hung out looking at the views. A trip to Lagos when it rained and a wonderful sunny trip to the Lighthouse and 2 evening meals out were enough excitement for us. There is a lovely village square in Martinhal which will be enchanting on summer evenings; it reminded us (sort of) of Ravello.
Martinhal restaurants were excellent quality with food and service of a high standard, often with Portugese options. .
Apparently there were 60 full time staff (at Xmas) with up to 150 in high season. We had a peacefull wonderful time. Even full this would not be the Forte Village crowded Italian experience.
The Sagres area is itself worth a holiday whether or not at the Martinhal. Sagres is not built up, seems genuinely Portugese (in low season anyway ) has many beach places,many nice restaurants and seems to be a casual, laid back unhurried surfer/relaxed place. You might consider the Bieerra (? ) design hotel or if older the Pousada here for example.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are pleased that you have experienced the best of what we have to offer in the winter. Hope to see you at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel

Address: Urbanizacao Quinta do Martinhal | Apartado 54, Sagres 8650-908, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#2 Family Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel is the finest luxury family resort in Europe. Positioned within a protected natural park near the historic fishing port of Sagres, on Portugal’s unspoiled western Algarve coast, Martinhal is where luxury meets Nature. Martinhal welcomes families and couples, and the greeting is warm, open and generous. Guests feel at home. And it’s memorable. This is where life-long friendships will blossom, and where lasting impressions will be made. Stylish, contemporary architecture complements the organic personality of the resort, which has been shaped to blend effortlessly into the indigenous landscape. This is function and form at its best. This is sustainability. And Martinhal is more. For conferences, weddings and celebrations, Europe’s finest luxury resort sets the scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, seekda GmbH, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinhal Beach Resort And Hotel
Martinhal Beach Hotel Sagres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.