We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent facilities, wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel to your Saves list
Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urbanizacao Quinta do Martinhal | Apartado 54, Sagres 8650-908, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Christmas at "Land's End"
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent facilities, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in a 2-bedroom house at Martinhal over the Christmas holidays. As the other reviewers say, the facilities are top-class. To add to that, we found the staff to be wonderful! We have rarely felt as looked after as we did at Martinhal. When one of our party was injured, they arranged ice and medicines, offered to help us get medical assistance and followed up to check on our progress.

We found that what makes Martinal special is attention to detail: from the unusual and spectacular layout of the houses, to the furnishings, the cleanliness, the toiletries, the entertainment, the location, and the first class amenities (including wifi), everything is top notch.

But what makes this place truly special, in our opinion, is the warmth and efficiency of the staff. From the front desk, to housekeeping and dining services, to the staff at the pool, everyone was so friendly and helpful!

Thank you for such a nice stay. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
As you kindly mentioned, at Martinhal we do take every aspect seriously and we also strongly believe that small details do make a difference.
Thank you for taking the time to post your fantastic review and letting us know we are on the right path in surpassing our valued Guests expectations. It is indeed a great pleasure and very gratifying to know how much you enjoyed your Christmas holidays at Martinhal.
We look forward to welcome you again – hopefully very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    187
    53
    23
    7
See reviews for
458
138
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Christmas at the Martinhal Resort was really special for our family. My three daughters 11, 13 and 15 just felt right at home the minute they landed with the warm reception by the staff. The Blue Room was really set up well for their age group. Our three Bed roomed Ocean Front House was just amazing. Decor was A1, comfort was just better than home. Security in the whole complex was very safe for the children. The swimming pools heated to perfection gave us all plenty of exercise. Gym well equipped and great staff. Tennis Courts and paddle Ball were great. We enjoyed our Christmas Dinner in the Terraco Restaurant where we also had breakfast every morning with excellent views over the whole Bay. The beach was spotless and a great walk in the morning as the sun was rising. Local people in Sagres all so friendly and helpful. We want to book our next holiday and would say the best place we ever stayed was the Martinhal Resort. Thanks to all there that made it a great stay. Finestra Spa was just out of this world with very highly trained staff and Interior was just amazing.

Room Tip: Our Corner House was great with a double Balcony where it gave us all our own space to relax in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We are delighted with your appreciation of our very essence!
It is so rewarding to learn that we have offered you and your family a very special Christmas holiday. Thank you for your kind recognition and high praises on our luxurious accommodation, 5 star facilities, amazing location, quality service and friendliness of our Team.
We all look forward to host you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a nice (very well equipped) villa 2 minutes walk from the indoor pool and kids club..Our 3 year old loved every minute of her holiday. She met many new friends and would lead the way in walking to the next event. One day the 'activists' lead the children down to the beach and our daughter smiled at us but kept going with them.
Mealtimes there was always a childrens space with an attendant to distract them.
It seems to be a very safe place with lots to do for all ages: tennis, 5 heated pools, good gym, lots of space,walks, beach and beach bars, basketball, cycling etc.all within easy walking distance. Older children (of all ages) can be independant here.
As for adults well, we had 8 full days of sunshine out of 10 with temperatures up to 20. (Dec 23 -Jan1). We sunbathed, relaxed, cooked, cycled and hung out looking at the views. A trip to Lagos when it rained and a wonderful sunny trip to the Lighthouse and 2 evening meals out were enough excitement for us. There is a lovely village square in Martinhal which will be enchanting on summer evenings; it reminded us (sort of) of Ravello.
Martinhal restaurants were excellent quality with food and service of a high standard, often with Portugese options. .
Apparently there were 60 full time staff (at Xmas) with up to 150 in high season. We had a peacefull wonderful time. Even full this would not be the Forte Village crowded Italian experience.
The Sagres area is itself worth a holiday whether or not at the Martinhal. Sagres is not built up, seems genuinely Portugese (in low season anyway ) has many beach places,many nice restaurants and seems to be a casual, laid back unhurried surfer/relaxed place. You might consider the Bieerra (? ) design hotel or if older the Pousada here for example.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are pleased that you have experienced the best of what we have to offer in the winter. Hope to see you at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic resort it is and will return in spring. as is sagres if you have travelled around the area you will know how beautiful it really is and unspoil. lots of coves and beaches which are great . Some nice restaurant in sagres too would recommend a car to get around but martinhal has everything u need if you want to relax.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback! We look forward to receiving you again in the Spring. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our extended family always gets together for a week somewhere in Europe during the summer for the last 10 years. This time we chose this unique and picturesque location of the portuguese Algarve coast.

We were a large group (14 rooms in total) and the hotel was very organized and accommodating when it comes to the reservations. They asked us for a 50% deposit upon reservation and then the full amount one month before arrival, which I did not found unreasonable for a large group like ours.

At our arrival, the reception personnel was very attentive and showed us to our room; we got beach rooms facing the Atlantic with a nice lawn in front of the terrace. The setting is spectacular and the premisses very well maintained.

The staff is generally very young but very attentive and go out of the way to make your stay a great experience.

There are three restaurants in the resort which provides for a lot of options every night; reservations are necessary.

Activities include, tennis, paddle and water sports including windsurf and kayaking. The weather is a little chilly (even in August) and windy. The beach is 3 minutes from the hotel and it is magnificent; don't dare to get in the water though since it is very cold.

The hotel arranged for us a charter boat for us to spend the day sailing to St Vincent Cape nearby. It is a beautiful coast and we left from the near harbour of Sagres. There are a lot of things to do around the resort if you have transportation.

This resort is perfect for families with small kids since there are a lot of activities for the little ones all throughout the day. It is also great for racquet sports.

The only thing we missed was a good lounge or night bar where we could have a drink after dinner night. It was pretty quiet after the restaurants closed which was a little bit of a disappointment.

We are thinking about coming back to Martinhal again since everyone enjoyed the whole experience

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We are thrilled that you and your family have thoroughly enjoyed your summer holidays with us. Thank you for your lovely review and appreciation of our service!
We are also looking forward to the pleasure of hosting you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We have twin boys aged 14 months and the kids club staff were fantastic. Edwardo and carla were so caring and just brilliant. Lovely play areas for them and activites.
We had a gorgeous, beautifully decorated and well equipped ocean villa. Would fully recommend this hotel villa resort for families.
Great food, serving staff need a wee bit more training but so polite, spa treatments are expensive but good, facilities like pools and play areas are great too.

Room Tip: Ocean villa every time for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
It gives us great pleasure to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
As you kindly mentioned, we do take every aspect seriously and we also strongly believe that small details do make a difference. It is therefore very reassuring when an increasing number of our Clients, like you, rate Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel as the best luxury family destination in Europe.
Many thanks for your appreciation of our service, in particular Eduardo and Carla in our Kids Club.
We do look forward to warmly welcome you back for another wonderful family stay – hopefully very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Martinhal is a wonderfully designed resort with great accommodation and facilities especially for the children.
The Pinewood villas are appointed to a great standard and the garden pool is an excellent addition.
The swimming pools around the resort, tennis club, Blue Room and various organised activities are very good for the children.
The selection of restaurants and onsite shop again makes the trip an easy one for adults and children alike.
Sadly this 5 star facility is spoilt by the details. The staff are charming and accommodating but the systems are poor.
Some of the items are rather trivial but when there are so many in the space of a week it mars the visit
1. The tennis club could not sell coffee as they had no milk! Apparently they were winding down for the winter. Given we had paid the higher fees for half term week this was really poor. What would it have taken to have had milk available?
2. Again the tennis club had no change and so could not take payment for a court in cash.
3. Despite making reservations at two of the restaurants, on each occasion for 5 people and seeing one of the reservations in theory logged onto the computer, on none of the evenings was our table booked and set for 5.
4. Booking at the Spa was efficient as we sat at the Spa reception desk and made the reservations with the staff directly. Only to be called 20 minutes later to be told it was all very difficult and our bookings had to change. This felt really inefficient and very annoying.
5. The Spa closing for lunch is awful. They say relax after your treatment then take a booking for an hours treatment at midday and then throw you out at 1pm as the staff have to go to lunch!
6. Despite 3 calls to reception the staff were unable to provide replacement toiletries as requested.

Room Tip: Pinewood villas are great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
We are very glad to know that you have found wonderful our resort’s design, five star quality and unique features of our accommodation as well as all our facilities and activities. These are indeed some of the details specially though out for the enjoyment and delight of all our Clients that do render a superior experience when staying at Martinhal where all is fine-tuned for families.
However we are sorry that some of your impressions fell short of the superb hospitality we strive to provide and for what we are so well renowned for.
We all hope to warmly welcome you and your family back for a much improved experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel

Address: Urbanizacao Quinta do Martinhal | Apartado 54, Sagres 8650-908, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sagres
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel is the finest luxury family resort in Europe. Positioned within a protected natural park near the historic fishing port of Sagres, on Portugal’s unspoiled western Algarve coast, Martinhal is where luxury meets Nature. Martinhal welcomes families and couples, and the greeting is warm, open and generous. Guests feel at home. And it’s memorable. This is where life-long friendships will blossom, and where lasting impressions will be made. Stylish, contemporary architecture complements the organic personality of the resort, which has been shaped to blend effortlessly into the indigenous landscape. This is function and form at its best. This is sustainability. And Martinhal is more. For conferences, weddings and celebrations, Europe’s finest luxury resort sets the scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Expedia, seekda GmbH, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinhal Beach Hotel Sagres
Martinhal Beach Resort And Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.