We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Spot in the Heart of Sagres” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praca da Republica | Mareta, Sagres 8650-356, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Spot in the Heart of Sagres”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We loved this property -and probably the best value we got during our three weeks in Spain and Portugal. We had very good service from the hotel. The room was clean and nicely appointed. Breakfast was pretty minimal, but all you need before a day of surfing. Its a close walk to the strip of bars and restaurants and just up the hill from the beach. Have only positive things to stay about this property.

Room Tip: Sea view is very nice as is having the balcony- though don't expect full sea view as there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SagresHolidays, Gerente geral at Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear customer
Thank you for your review.
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.
Best regards
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    77
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
14
117
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holmestrand, Norway
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The hotel was a designer hotel, and our room was very beautiful in white and turquoise with a balcony overlooking the sea. There were also a minibar, which is not standard in all hotels, but it is ok to have cold drinking-water when it is hot. The breakfast was really excellent, and the sourroundings of the hotel was just fantastic! Especially nice to walk along the cliffs in the evening, and on the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SagresHolidays, Gerente geral at Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comment. We really appreciate you had a good time with us!
It is very important for us to get your feedback..
Kind Regards
Mareta Beach Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in the hotel in end of February. As soon as we got there , we upgrated for one of the top floor room with seeview, it was just so beautiful.The room nicely decorated, LOVED the big wardrobe! For breakfast we had plenty of choice, all pastries and fruits were fresh. The staff was lovely and helpful,the cleaners were spot on, they even folded our clothes.
The only negative thing i would mention that sometime you could smell a little bit of sewage in the bathroom coming from the drains.

I orderd a cocktail in the bar downstarirs, called Mareta I think, well cost me over 5 euros for 4 squeezed lemon with a small shot of votka. It tasted so terrible, like drinking pure lemon juice but the barman was convienced that was the way to make that cocktail.We still laugh about the face I pulled when I tried. I would love to know, how you meant to make it?

Shame the jacuzzi didnt work.

Room Tip: take the 210! all day sunshine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Found this hotel to a good deal and centrally located. We stayed 1 night a couple of days before Christmas (Dec 2012 - rate 35 euro) and nearly had the place to ourselves. It is a hotel and not a traditional B&B, in case you are looking for the latter. The hotel has modern decor and the breakfast was excellent. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. We walked to the hotel from Salema and the hotel was easily located, approximately 5 hrs walking depending on whether you stop for lunch. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SagresHolidays, Gerente geral at Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your comment.
We are very grateful to know you had enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking forward to see you soon.
Regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

If you're going to stay here, make sure you get a room with a sea-view! We did and it was perfect; the room, the view; the entire 3-day stay! We are definitley coming back to this hotel.

The rooms are simply but tastefully furnished - all white, blue and turquoise creating a perfect frame that is the window. The staff in the bar/cafe and restaraunt were friendly and helpful and extending our stay by one night every morning was no problem. The food, coffees, snacks, cocktails, and service were all first class.

There's plenty to see and do in the area. But I'd recommend starting your day by walking the very short walk to beach behind the hotel and soaking in the sea and then lying out on the gorgeous sandy beach and drying in the sun (and wind sometimes :) Other lovely restaraunts in the town of Sagres are worth exploring. And if you have a car, go to the 'end-of-the-world' for teh views and sunsets.

Room Tip: Request a sea-view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SagresHolidays, Gerente geral at Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your comment.
We are very pleased you had an unforgetable time with us!!!
Looking forward to see you soon.
Regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benalmádena, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I went to mareta beach for three nights just before Christmas for a time of R&R. The GPS was on the blink so we went past the hotel as we searched. We needed to check the town out anyway. We eventually found it and checked in with no problem. The modern decor is clean, well done and functional. There is no elevator/lift, we carried our small bags up one flight of stairs. No problem for us but for some that would be an issue. Our room was good sized with a very nice bathroom and a massive balcony overlooking the gardens and sea.

The jacuzzi, which featured heavily in the advertisements and our choice of this hotel was not in service during our stay. That was a disappointment. This was low season and for part of the time we were the only guests in the hotel. Perhaps running the hot tub in the winter for only one couple is cost prohibitive. We had considered a room at a Spa Hotel for more than three times the price. We went to see the hotel and were told that their pool and spa were also closed. Glad we chose Mareta Beach!

The breakfast was very nice. Fresh breads, rolls, croissants, pastries, and fruit combined with cold cuts, cereals, yogurt, juice and coffee was very satisfactory. I enjoy my eggs and bacon for breakfast but when you are paying 40 euros per night for two people for a nice room with a sea view balcony that includes breakfast and wifi in your room, you really oughtn't complain.

My only other negative comment is that the light switch was on the hinge side of the door outside the bathroom.

Overall we were extremely pleased and will probably return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are bright, comfortable and modern. Wifi had a habit of dropping from time to time but computer with internet was provided in the lounge. Breakfast was self service from a small buffet and was reasonably good. A storage room is provided for bicycles and surf boards which was very convenient. The location was perfect - a stones throw from the beach, cafes and shops. Very nice staff - very nice Hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SagresHolidays, Gerente geral at Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your comment.
Your experience is very important to us! We are so pleased to know you had a good time here!
We also will consider all your notes to make a future visit even better!
Looking forward to see you soon.
Regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.6 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
1.4 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
0.5 mi away
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
23.6 mi away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 19 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Address: Praca da Republica | Mareta, Sagres 8650-356, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying an outstanding location in the center of Sagres, Mareta Beach has panoramic views over the beautiful coastline and sea. This brand new hotel is just 200 meters from the beach, close to all shops, restaurants and bars. We have an Italian-style coffee shop, Caffè Espresso, open from 8h00 to 22h00, where you can enjoy your favorite coffee or tea, milkshakes, smoothies pastries, paninis, sandwiches and homemade cakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.