We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Clean and Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praca da Republica | Mareta, Sagres 8650-356, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Sagres
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good Location, Clean and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here for 10 days in September. Hotel was very clean and 24 hour check in was great for us as we arrived late. No allocated parking but could always find a space close by. Staff were friendly and hotel rooms were clean and well decorated. I would definitely recommend paying the extra for a balcony too, ours was large over the front of the hotel with nice sea views of Mareta and nice to sit out in the night. Despite being on a round-a-bout the room wasnt noisy at all. Easy walking distance of 2 beaches and close to bars, cafes and supermarket. I would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: We were in 103, with the large balcony over reception. Definitely recommend this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    55
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
81
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at Mareta Beach for 10 days. The hotel was convenient for the beach, beautifully clean, and very tastefully decorated, but was let down by a few things which, if put right, would make it superb.

The room was very modern and sleek, but unfortunately, didn't have any drawer space (even in the bedside tables) to store small things. So for the whole of our stay, the dressing table was cluttered with our sun creams, manicure set, books, wallet and purse, etc.

The wardrobe was adequate, but for a ten day stay, clothes had to be piled up. More hangers would have helped.

It also only had one chair - in a double room!

The bathroom was good and well equipped, but the lighting was dismal. A shaving light over the mirror would have made such a difference.

The breakfast was excellent, with a large range of everything you could want, but was served in a basement room with the most dreadful acoustics.

The presence of the attached coffee bar really made a big difference, and gave a place to have a cooling beer on coming from the beach, or a late night coffee (in comfortable chairs) before going to bed.

Unfortunately, we weren't offered the 10% discount card mentioned by some other reviewers for the coffee bar and Italian restaurant. It appears you have to ask for this?

Would we stay here again? Probably.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SagresHolidays, Gerente geral at Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your comment.
We are very pleased to know about your experience with us. We tak a note about all points, which we will do our effort to increase the quality, as furniture and fittings, lightning, etc...
Regarding the discount card for hotel guests it is a promotion that we promote for a limited period only, which doesn't include our summer months. Our apologies about it.
Looking forward to see you soon.
Regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Couldnt say anything bad, if not the accident exactly at check out. Not to mention that clothes were touched without our permission , and stuffed all in haotic manner , because we were late for check out, and in this haotic packing one of our mobile phones was lost, or staff member ,maybe, took it. Ofcourse no one knows now where it is, but still its a bit unpleasant touch to the end of nice journey.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SagresHolidays, Gerente geral at Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for your comment. Unfortunately what you wrote is not true.
First of all, all our guests are informed about the check out time, which is 12h00. If we have another guest arriving on the date of your departure, we would like to provide the same quality of service as you get when you came in, I mean a cleaned room!!! You were informed during your breakfast about the check-out time and just ignored! You and your children just appeared to make the check-out at 16h00, which is absurb!
Our housekeeping team are profissional and we just collect all your stuff with supervision of our Head Receptionist. It is not polite to acuse any of our staff to stole something that you or your children lost on the beach, just to get any type of compensation for it. Actually, when we mentioned to call the police, you prefered to ignore the situation. Any special reason???
In case of create a false reputation about our professionalism, you should be in time with our commitment and make the check-out on the agreed time. We never charge you an extra amount for your delay and inconvenience.
Regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

It's a mid budget hotel with excellent room : clean, with good taste in its style and not noisy. Its location is perfect 5 minutes far from Beliche (you definitely gotta spend a day at this beach!!), and close to a little plaza where you can find a bunch of bars and restaurants.
Only bad things are bad wifi connection in rooms and cleaning service starts at 8.30/9.00am.

Service is perfect and people in charge of recepction are really kind and helpfull.

Breakfast is the only thing i would suggest to improve : it s served downstairs in a closed room. It is ok, but would have expected something more. Last year, i stayed in Mareta View, and breakfast was served in the terrasse, in front of the ocean, and that was i expected in this hotel a bit more expensive.

Despite the breakfast thing, i would recommend the hotel ... if View Boutique is not available :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SagresHolidays, Gerente geral at Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your comment.
We are very grateful to know you had enjoyed your stay with us.
Unfortunately we cannot serve breakfast in a different area, as the building is exactly what it is! We do not have a different are to do that. But, in the meantime, we will consider all your notes for a future improvement.
Regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Great B and B. Simply, but tastefully decorated in blues and turquoises. Lovely large room overlooking the sea. UK channels on the TV and free wi-fi to keep in touch with home. Breakfast was served in the cafe downstairs with a great range of coffees, cakes and pastries. A 10% discount card was provided for the cafe and adjoining Italian restaurant. The owner was incredibly helpful, providing us with all the local information we needed about the surrounding area. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SagresHolidays, Gerente geral at Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your comment.
We are very grateful to know you had enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking forward to see you soon.
Regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Small hotel, great decoration, spacious rooms, huge bathroom! good breakfast, not quite the view we were expecting, but i guess not everyone can get the sea view x) great location, very close to mareta beach and tonel beach, good restaurants and bars all around. would definetly stay again next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SagresHolidays, Gerente geral at Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your comment.
We are very grateful to know you had enjoyed your stay with us.
As you had noted, we have 3 type of rooms: land view, seaside view, sea view balconies. You must book a Sea View Balcony next time!!!
Looking forward to see you soon.
Regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed at the Mareta Beach Boutique hotel for 10 days in July 2012.
Our room was on the first floor with a balcony, giving us a view of the town but not of the sea, though we had asked for a sea view room.

The room in itself was big, with a comfortable bed and a reasonably sized bathroom. However we found the price quite steep for what it was, 97 euros for a double with breakfast. The breakfast was the same every day offering pasteis de nata, cereals, cheese, ham, bread and a few fruits in unlimited quantity. All the beverages came out of a machine making them below average in quality. It was also a great dissapointment that it was served in the basement instead of on ground level where we could have had sunlight and some sort of view.
The staff were nice and helpful.
We regretted staying for so long in this hotel as unbeknown to us when we booked, Sagres is a very small town with not much to do. A 3-night stay would have sufficed and it would have been even better to book it at their sister concern, 50 metres down the road, which has rooms at the same price and with a better view, garden and jacuzzi and breakfast room - Mareta view hotel.
For those wishing to go to the Algarve I suggest staying closer to Lagos.

Room Tip: Choose a room without a view as you will pay more for a view and it is not worth it in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SagresHolidays, Gerente geral at Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your comment.
Your experience is very important to us.
Unfortunately we cannot change the position of our hotel. If you book a sea view room, you get a sea view room! If you book a balcony room, you get a balcony room. Our balconies doesn't provide the same view. You should take the seaside view (no balcony) if you are just booking because of the view!
A part of that, we provide our Portuguese Continental Buffet Breakfast changing the range of products on daily basis. It is not an american or english breakfast, which you probably were expecting. Our apologies about it, but we always mentioned we serve a Portuguese Continental Buffet Breakfast, with plenty of pastries, cakes, breads, fruits, cereals, etc...
Regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Address: Praca da Republica | Mareta, Sagres 8650-356, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying an outstanding location in the center of Sagres, Mareta Beach has panoramic views over the beautiful coastline and sea. This brand new hotel is just 200 meters from the beach, close to all shops, restaurants and bars. We have an Italian-style coffee shop, Caffè Espresso, open from 8h00 to 22h00, where you can enjoy your favorite coffee or tea, milkshakes, smoothies pastries, paninis, sandwiches and homemade cakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.