We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, fish lovers will enjoy this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nortada Restaurant - Beach Bar

Nortada Restaurant - Beach Bar
Praia do Martinhal, Sagres, Portugal
918 613 410
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 50 Restaurants in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, fish lovers will enjoy this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have had the opportunity to visit the Martinhal area twice during the last 14 months. I really love the area but I must say I love this restaurant. Firstly and very importantly the staff are very friendly and they make your experience enjoyable. The location is great for people coming off the beach for a cool drink but also brilliant for lunch or for dinner. I love fresh fish and I was not dissapointed. You ask the waiter for the fish of the day and a big tray comes out with the days catch for you to choose, usually bream, seabass, tuna, mullet. There is also a wide selection of shellfish also. I had dinner most nights at Nortada and I really enjoyed it and relaxed there. It really is a lovely experience to have dinner or even a drink at night time looking at the lights of boats coming in to the nearby harbour. A great place that I would recommend to everybody.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    29
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great local beach restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We ate at Nortada twice during our stay at Martinhal resort last week. It came reccomended to us by the staff at martinhal.

I had the Pichanha after having a lot of seafood during our stay and it did not dissapoint! Just as good as some of the brazilian steakhouses here in the states. My wife had the fried shimp and it was by far her favorite meal of our trip.

The atmosphere was great. We sat on the patio both nights and enjoyed the nice cool breeze off the ocean. Was a great break from the Texas heat!

The staff was very friendly and the services was wonderful.

Can't reccomend this place more!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tuna steak - Food poisoning”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Both my girlfriend and I had the tuna steak and about an hour after eating there, we started feeling the ill effects of it. Don't know whether this is just bad luck for them but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Fantastic fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Excellent restaurant and stunning setting. Kids can race around in the dunes whilst waiting for dinner. There are two beach restaurants and this is by far the better of the two. Very fresh seafood. Warm and relaxed service. Good variety on the menu as well for parents as well as children.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great location for Martinhal hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We came here many times during our 2 week stay, partly as the prices and service at the Martinhal were not great, and partly as the kids absolutely loved playing on the sand dune outside the restaurant with all of the other kids dining in the restaurant each evening. The staff were extremely friendly and the food was very good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nortada Restaurant - Beach Bar also viewed

Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 
Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 

Been to Nortada Restaurant - Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nortada Restaurant - Beach Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.