We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun authentic Portuguese Seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Tasca

A Tasca
| Baleeira, Sagres, Portugal
282 624 177
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 47 restaurants in Sagres
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Astoria, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fun authentic Portuguese Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

A Tasca is right next to the harbor. We were staying at the Meemo Baileeria Hotel, which is right next to the restaurant. It's a very fun atmosphere with mosaics and old bottles on the walls. There is a large tank with crabs, lobsters, and crayfish when you first come in.

The service was a bit slow, but you are in the Algarve and have time to relax. We ordered the prawns and the hamburger. The prawns were massive. They give you a skewer with about 7. They are each about the size of your hand. There is lots of lemon and peppers. It was a delicious dish. It comes with a salad. The hamburger didn’t have a bun, which we thought was odd. It was ok. The fries were not seasoned, but you can ask for salt.

Since we stayed at the hotel, they gave us a free dessert. It was St. Vincent's pudding or something like that. A little weird, but had a caramel flavor.

All in all, a nice atmosphere. I'd say go with seafood and you won’t be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    22
    44
    15
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tourist trap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Ideally located overlooking the wharf and with a confortable terrace it felt as a perfect spot for lunch. Service was correct. The food was also decent although it lacked soul. The final price was scandalously high at 90 euros for 2 pax sharing a starter of clams and a shrimp with rice for two. No wine and no dessert!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A first class place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Quite surprised at some of the reviews as we had a wonderful couple of meals at A Tasca. The harbourside location is fantastic, and the fresh fish, simply grilled, was so succulent it just melted in the mouth. The house desserts are incedible too, with the best almond tart we tasted all trip. Yes, the service was a little slow, but it's well worth the wait, and the prices were ok. Not cheap, but comparable with similar-quality places in this part of the algarve, certainly not far above what you would expect to pay for real top quality seafood. A wider selection of fish than many other places in town, and a cut above the samey menus at some other local eateries.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Prime location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Great view, really lovely outlook.
Menu was great and food superb, and good wine.
More expensive than other places in sagres.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience all round - in Sept 2011 /”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I cannot beleive what I am reading.

I went to this restaurant in Sept 2011 whilst staying in the nearby Martinhal Resort. It was amazing. My father and law and I pitched up and asked to be seated outside. We had a bit of banter with the waiter and asked him to look after us.

We didn;t order we asked him to recomend and told him we want giant prawns and fish and lots of it. Washed down with whatever wine he suggested.

We stayed for 4 hours and had one of the best meals I've ever had in my life.

For all you moaners ..... THIS IS A SEAFOOD / FISH restaurant.

Getting off a bus and ordering hamburgers or chicken will just annoy this extremely proud and authentic restaurant.

We are going back next week to do it all over again. One of the reasons we wanted to return to this area and the Martinhal resosrt again was this restuarant.

this place is not cheap and its not for moaners who want french fries and burgers. If you want and authentic portuguese experience and you are willing to pay for it, then look no further.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Tasca also viewed

Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 
Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 

Been to A Tasca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Tasca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.