We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pizza in a cool little village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizza Pazza

Pizza Pazza
Pedralva | This IS Not in Sagres!, Sagres, Portugal
282639173
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 55 Restaurants in Sagres
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza in a cool little village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The tiny village of Pedralva in the SW corner of the Algarve region of Portugal has a wonderful restaurant called PIzza Pazza. There are many different and unique thin crust pizzas available to satisfy everyone. The service was excellent from the Italian owner and we met his nice German wife as well. He designs the pizzas and she imports the great German beer!
The village has a unique story to tell as well so its nice to walk the tight streets after a good stuffing of pizza and beer.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ourtrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Crazy pizzas in the middle of nowhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Very nice pizza place in the small village of Vila do Bispo close to the good surf spot. The story of the place and great fresh pizzas makes the place definately worth to visit if near by.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annavalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The pizza was pretty good. Not quite as amazing as people have described as they could have been improved by better seasoning and herbs, but I'm very picky and they were very good indeed for Portugal. The pizza bases were lovely and thin, which is just how we like them. Lovely ambience and buzzing with life.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Foodood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pizza Pazza did not drive us crazy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We went to have pizza in Pizza Pazza Petralva two weeks ago. As we got it recommended a couple of times we gave it a go. The place looks quite beautiful and the village is worth a visit. We had booked a table, so we had no problems finding a table although we were not guided to our table but had to find it ourselves because none of the staff took notice of us. The staff in general is quite unfriendly despite the owner. He really should get rid of his waitresses who are not taking care at all after their guests. It was alomst a hunt to get the waitress round to order a bottle of water and two pizzas.
Well the pizza... having lived in Italy for a while, the pizza is not bad. But in fact it has nothing to do with a real italian pizza! We would have loved to order just a Magherita pizza but that does not exist in the menue. Instead I got a pizza with some stinky farmers cheese which tasted quite strange as there were grated carrots for topping. The toppings anyway come quite weird, it seems tha you get more or less of what you have orderes. When we wanted to pay it ended in a long wait on the bar as the waiters cannot bill you, just their boss. It took ages, about 20 minutes waiting to pay! And we were not treated with a "sorry" but staff was well crumpy with us.
Actually we know better places in the Algarve for pizza. So I don t care about Princes Harrys visit back in 2008! I just want to have real tasty pizza and a nice welcoming staff. This might be good for anyone who likes carrot pizza and bananas on pizza...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peanut333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
152 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very crowded on Sunday night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We went there on Sunday night and it was really crowded, and we had to share the table with another family. I think it was around an hour before our food was served. The pizzas are alright, and the prices are reasonable. It was the most lively place in the small village of Pedralva.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jip79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Pazza also viewed

Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 
Sagres, Faro District
 

Been to Pizza Pazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing