We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pizza in a cool little village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizza Pazza

Pizza Pazza
Pedralva | This IS Not in Sagres!, Sagres, Portugal
282639173
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 47 Restaurants in Sagres
Price range: $10 - $15
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza in a cool little village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The tiny village of Pedralva in the SW corner of the Algarve region of Portugal has a wonderful restaurant called PIzza Pazza. There are many different and unique thin crust pizzas available to satisfy everyone. The service was excellent from the Italian owner and we met his nice German wife as well. He designs the pizzas and she imports the great German beer!
The village has a unique story to tell as well so its nice to walk the tight streets after a good stuffing of pizza and beer.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    26
    6
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Crazy pizzas in the middle of nowhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Very nice pizza place in the small village of Vila do Bispo close to the good surf spot. The story of the place and great fresh pizzas makes the place definately worth to visit if near by.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The pizza was pretty good. Not quite as amazing as people have described as they could have been improved by better seasoning and herbs, but I'm very picky and they were very good indeed for Portugal. The pizza bases were lovely and thin, which is just how we like them. Lovely ambience and buzzing with life.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pizza Pazza did not drive us crazy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We went to have pizza in Pizza Pazza Petralva two weeks ago. As we got it recommended a couple of times we gave it a go. The place looks quite beautiful and the village is worth a visit. We had booked a table, so we had no problems finding a table although we were not guided to our table but had to find it ourselves because none of the staff took notice of us. The staff in general is quite unfriendly despite the owner. He really should get rid of his waitresses who are not taking care at all after their guests. It was alomst a hunt to get the waitress round to order a bottle of water and two pizzas.
Well the pizza... having lived in Italy for a while, the pizza is not bad. But in fact it has nothing to do with a real italian pizza! We would have loved to order just a Magherita pizza but that does not exist in the menue. Instead I got a pizza with some stinky farmers cheese which tasted quite strange as there were grated carrots for topping. The toppings anyway come quite weird, it seems tha you get more or less of what you have orderes. When we wanted to pay it ended in a long wait on the bar as the waiters cannot bill you, just their boss. It took ages, about 20 minutes waiting to pay! And we were not treated with a "sorry" but staff was well crumpy with us.
Actually we know better places in the Algarve for pizza. So I don t care about Princes Harrys visit back in 2008! I just want to have real tasty pizza and a nice welcoming staff. This might be good for anyone who likes carrot pizza and bananas on pizza...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very crowded on Sunday night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We went there on Sunday night and it was really crowded, and we had to share the table with another family. I think it was around an hour before our food was served. The pizzas are alright, and the prices are reasonable. It was the most lively place in the small village of Pedralva.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Pazza also viewed

Sagres, Faro District
 
Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 

Been to Pizza Pazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizza Pazza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.