We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet relaxing holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamentos Estrela do Vau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Apartamentos Estrela do Vau to your Saves list
Apartamentos Estrela do Vau
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alto do Vau - Sitio das Delgadas, Portimao 8500-308, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 78 Hotels in Portimao
angus
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice quiet relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here on a half board basis. The room was spacious and although clean, was not cleaned on the Sunday and after 5pm on the other days. This meant an afternoon nap was out of the question.
The kitchen was fully equipped even though we were half board.
The reception staff were very helpful and all but one (older guy) greeted you with a smile.
The meals in the restaurant were good when we ate there.. However, the choice was limited if on half board. We ate out two nights as it was chicken, fish or seafood pasta (I don't eat chicken or fish.) We did have lunch at the bar a couple of times and it was very nice.
I enjoyed staying here as it was very quiet at night and there was just something very relaxing about the area.
The hotel is a bit of a walk(!5 to 20mins) to the nearest shops and bars but taxis were only 5 euros. We walked most of the time as it was a nice walk.
I would go back again but in high season when it was a bit warmer. (Can't blame hotel for that)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    105
    57
    23
    15
See reviews for
122
84
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My partner and I booked this hotel for a week from 1st April this year, we are only just back from it and I must say it was a great hotel, the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The rooms were a little dated but well stocked out, there is a tv with a few English channels, good for when the weather wasn't the best. The weather in general was nice during the day but it could be a bit cold in the evenings. They have an indoor pool and jacuzzi, was nice but a bit expensive at €25 per week. Think this should be free if I am honest cos the outdoor pool was freezing! The hotel was very quiet but this was merely due to the time of the year. We went half board, breakfast was a choice of breads, croissants, eggs and bacon. The evening meal was soup and a choice of 3 different main courses followed by desert. The food I thought was an 8 out of 10. The staff in the restaurant really were the most pleasant hotel staff I have ever came across and I've stayed at a lot of hotels. They were extremely polite and attentive. I think the hotel is in a nice location but it is a bit of a walk from from the shops, it's approximately 3km from each little town/village, I would recommend taking the scenic walk along the beach to Praia do rocha or a taxi costs approx €5 each way. The beaches were by far the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. Over all I give this week break at this hotel a 7 out of 10, the reason I have taken points off is due to the location and the charge for using their indoor pool. I would however definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here for 3 weeks in March and it was lovely.Apartments are cleaned 6 days a week(not Sunday)bed linen and towels changed regular again these were white,nice fresh and clean.The reception staff are all very helpful and nothing's too much bother to them and it's the same in the resturant good food and good service.Grounds are really nice there are 2 outdoor adult pools and 1 for children, the childrens play area looks nice as well.Bus service to Alvor and Portimao is very good and regular.Found Taxi's varied and some charge more at weekends so that's one to watch out for.On the front in Alvor there's a seafront cafe Yacht Club nice food and drink while you look out on lovely seas also lots of nice places round about.Portimao has lots to see also I believe they have markets there on the waterfront.Best supermarket is Contenette in Portimao or Pingo in Alvor.I think for people with walking/breathing problems just stay around in the lovely grounds because no matter where you go it's hilly.Anyway your almost on the Golf course so for some that's a bonus.Going back soon,very soon

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I was traveling with my Mother, who was staying for one month (I only stayed for 2 weeks). We had a very large apartment - 2 bedrooms, two bathrooms, fully equipped kitchen, dining area and living room, also a very large patio area. The hotel went to a lot of effort to make sure everyone was happy with their room placement (we were on the ground floor which was just fine - no stairs or elevator!). The bedrooms are spacious with plenty of storage space but the pillows were very skimpy and hard. The on site restaurant was very nice - the meals were always well prepared and reasonably priced. For a long term stay it would be a little monotonous to eat there every day. We were able to purchase groceries at nearby shops & prepare our own meals. The hotel is quite a ways from the beach - it is a 10 - 15 minute walk away, but it is a lovely beach with breathtaking views. Nearby Alvor or Portimao are well worth visiting and we spent much time there. There are daily shuttles to one town or another. There are also a very good selection of possible tours leaving from the hotel which I would recommend - all very interesting. Overall, for a long term stay, these apartments are very nice - clean, well appointed,and very friendly. I would love to go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I booked a week for the beginning of March and we were really happily surprized by how good this resort is.

Estrela Do Vau is located between Alvor (3miles) and Praia De Rocha (2miles). The nearest beach is a 10 mins downhill walk and when the tide is in, it is a beautiful cove but when the tide is out you can walk the whole length of the beach into Praia De Rocha. Dotted along the beach are various restaurant/bars. If your not a fan of walking, don't stay here however there is a very handy bus stop nearby the hotel and there are buses every 20mins in either direction to Praia and Alvor.

As we pulled up to the security gate and got buzzed through the driver made his way around the fountain and dropped us at the door. We used A2B transfers and for 2 of us it was £50 return. We had a mini bus with 8 others and it took about an hour from the airport to drop them off and get to our apartments.
The reception area is airy and staffed by friendly, helpful, multi-lingual people. We were promptly given our room and headed up to see what we got. Room 322
The apartment was as expected, large, roomy and well equipped. We had 2 single beds, which were easily made into one large double by the room maids after we asked at reception. The kitchen/lounge area had a fridge (small freezer compartment), electric hob with 4 rings, kettle, toaster, microwave and all the cutlery and crockery for 4 people. The lounge area had a table for 4, a sofa and an armchair both could be made into beds. There was also a small portable tv with a few English speaking channels. The whole apartment was clean and fresh but maybe the only fault would be it’s a little tired now. The bathroom especially had a few cracked tiles but it wasn’t off putting or dirty. The bedroom and kitchen had doors out onto the Balcony.
The one thing that would worry me about going in high season would be the noise from other apartments. In the “Welcome to…” leaflet it states please don’t wear hard shoes/heels when walking about as this could disturb others. Well the lady above us clearly didn’t read this as every morning at 0630 she would continuously walk about for an hour in hard shoes. One morning I thought she had broken in as it was so loud. Ear plugs I hear you say, yip myself and wife wear ear plugs every night due to my sleep apnea machine and it was still LOUD!
We booked a garden view room and this is essentially what we got. If you looked straight out it was a view of trees and golf course. However if you looked down it was a car park. As it was March the sun didn’t reach the balcony but I imagine in the summer by late afternoon it would. If you want a sun filled balcony you would need to book a room overlooking to hotel entrance or pool area.

Other amenities are –
Free Wi-Fi in reception area
Room safes which are 30 euro for the week with a 10 euro refund
Gym and Spa area with Jacuzzi, small indoor pool, Turkish sauna and treatment area.
3 swimming pools. 1 is very shallow for kids. There is also a pool side bar (closed off season).
Kids play area – didn’t see it only the sign post.
3 tennis courts and a mini golf (in bad state of repair)
A small tourist shop in reception area and a small grocery shop near the bar.
A TV room with a book case and 2 computers with internet access and a vending machine.
There is also a bar/restaurant which we didn’t eat at but if you went B&B or full board this is the area for eating. The bar is well stocked with a large screen tv for sport and a pool table. It is supposed to have free Wi-Fi but the password the bar manager gave us didn’t work and he just shrugged his shoulders.
I believe there is also a hairdresser at the back of the property
One other thing is there are lots of spaces to park hire cars safely.

Alvor is a lovely wee village with loads of bars and restaurants. There is also a boardwalk connecting the village to a lovely beach.
Places of interest in Alvor are few but the restaurants I would recommend are -
Ruccula – book at high season, good mix of European food, beautifully made and well presented by the friendly staff.
Buganvilla – book first, as Portuguese as can be. I cannot recommend steak on a stone highly enough. You get one of the best pieces of beef ever to carve and cook just how you like it on top of a mega hot stone. Served with anything you like. This place is a must visit. Across the road is Paddys Bar for a pre or post drink, friendly and helpful and they will point you in the right direction.
No Patio – again book but handily its right beside the hotel. Good European fare and popular with the golfers. Martin the owner is a lovely man and will again give you great advice on the area.

Praia De Rocha restaurants
I only went to one I would want to mention on here and that’s Vinhos & Comidas on the strip, the Portuguese steak was lovely.

We hired from car for 2 days from budget (40Euro) (cheap and cheery, great staff who happily picked up our car from the hotel with no extra charge) We went via Lagos to visit Sagres/Cape St Vincent and then drove back via Aljezur and Monchique in the mountains. All except Aljezur was worth the visit.

Overall the place was exactly what we paid for, the area was lovely. Unfortunately for us the weather could have been better but we made the most of it and spent our walking on beaches, time dodging showers, drinking coffee, eating good food and having a giggle. We’ll be back one day and would stay nearer Alvor.

Room Tip: For sunny balconies book a room overlooking the pool or hotel entrance, both I imagine will be noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

just got back from staying at estrela do vau last week monday 22nd until monday 29th
we booked the flights seperatly this year and contacted the hotal directly to book our appartment.
right here go's
the little pool tiles we reported last time were all fixed
the gardens at the bottom of the flats have been completely re vamped with stone chippings to make it look fresh and cleaner brillient
room wise some remedial work could be done but they were clean and very usable and the kids loved it
the staff at the hotel are brillient no word of a lie everything we wanted was sorted
the weather was bad on the odd morning so they got my boys a table tennis table out and we played many a competition when ever we could
the spa onsite was excellent i had a back massarge 30e 45 mins and went to sleep on the couch much to the wifes fun
she had a faciial with spot extraction for 50e that was nearly 2 hours very good service lovely ladies who went out of their way to help
the pools were fine clean and maintained but cold but it was late october so it was funny watching people jump in then freeze grimace and then get out again much fun
the small supermarket is still expensive but go to either jumbo (supermarket) in the aqua shopping centre
or continente in portimao jumbo is more reasonable and it quite an experience but both are good rose wine under 2e which was very nice
again the local taxi drivers were brillient especially Manuel who if you email me i will pass his details on he did the pickup and drop off at faro airport and ferried us around a really nice bloke and sergio his night time driver was ace too
weather was mixed with a day of rain the odd morning of showers but sat and sun it was warm and sunbathing was the name of the game

we went to 2 restaurants this time 3 palemeres (glass box building on the main roche strip) this was exceptional twice the 2 waiters were excellent food was fantastic and at 9e for a 3 course meal which changed every night its a bargain
we did go to another restaurant on the main strip just a word of advice dont ask for piri piri chicken as although the meal was nice the chicken was leg or wing and must have been on a diet as hardly any chicken was there ask for chicken breast and then put the piri piri sauce on yourself far better meal

men word of advice dont take wives to aqua shopping centre as they will buy lots of shoes at the seaside shop and generally do that shopping thing
we will be back next year we really have found a great area we like but prehaps will hire a car next time so we can get out and about

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brazil
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Nice place to stay very quiet area no bars restraunts etc in the area. Complex has pool bar restraunt and mini mart. Mini mart poorly stocked and expensive. Nearest bars and cafes at do vau beach about 15 mins walk. Jacarada was our choice and good value.nearest beach 10 mins and fantastic. Lovely walk on beach to praia da rocha which is about 25 mins away and a concrete resort bars and clubs etc. 30 min walk other way is alvor a lovely fishing village with bars restraunts etc. All cost about 5 euros each way in a taxi. Good weather last week sep first week oct. Would go again but would use more central accomodation in alvor.accomodation would benefit from a courtesy bus in evening to resorts.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartamentos Estrela do Vau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Estrela do Vau

Address: Alto do Vau - Sitio das Delgadas, Portimao 8500-308, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Portimao
#7 Romantic Hotel in Portimao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Estrela do Vau 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Apartamentos Estrela do Vau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Estrela Do Vau Portimão
Apartamentos Estrela Do Vau Portimao, Algarve, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartamentos Estrela do Vau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.