We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ups and downs but gud holiday will return.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Amarilis

Save Saved
You added Club Amarilis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Club Amarilis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida V3, Portimao 8500-801, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 80 hotels in Portimao
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ups and downs but gud holiday will return.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Ups hotel great and hepfull staff and clean and free air con also free wi fi in lobby or just five euro for use up in apartment . Downs hotel self catering missing only one thing an oven thats it. Also down not stated on web page five euro charge to use pool and a further four euro to buy a cap . Ups town and place got here no rep or anyone to help just a note off jet 2 and thats it not even info pack wiv helpfull tips or help in so thats no gud its a do it urself hol completly. Yepp thats a down now bout place beach carnt fault really nice just get sum tricket sellers that all. Gud food at bistro set menue and drinks value for 3 mealsand woz nice. Avoid one down rd.carnt remember wot called its next one down same side and tryin to be upcut place rip off food not great service not gud avoid. Place up close to center portimao avoid lidal use local supermarket in town or up on strip in square near hotel. It cost us 5 euros goin and 7 cumin bk if u can remember if u go bk walk it take u bout twenty mins max i reckon. Anyhow hope this will help anyone cumin ere in future we will return in two yrs overall out of ten we give it 8 so aint bad and out ov season. Enjoy ur hols here .. john and julie and little man joni ...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    42
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
28
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gisburn
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Having just returned from Club Amarilis and being almost the end of the main holiday season, its hard to assess what the hotel would be like in july/august because there was only a few guests at this time of year, so there was no bar open or entertainment in the hotel,the swimming pools were available, but we chose to go to the beach a 10min walk away where there was plenty of restaurants open for a snack and a drink or better still a sardine lunch and the sea was not too cold for the end of October.
Regarding the apartments we found them to be clean and spacious , although very tired in places a 3 star rating is probably about right, one thing if you dont like high rise buildings dont go to this resort, we were on the 12th floor and most buildings in the resort are high rise not very pretty to look at, one last thing about the apartments, we found the staff to be friendly, lifts to all floors and only a short walk to shops and bars etc .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on Trent, Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed here 10th - 17th October 2013 (mature couple). Good basic hotel close to everything you want in Praia da Rocha. A short walk (literally 5 minutes) up a slow incline to the beach and restaurants etc. On the plus side we had a spacious apartment on the 11th floor (there are 4 lifts and they were all working during the whole of our stay) with a balcony overlooking the pool and we could see the sea in the distance. There was a table and 2 chairs on the balcony. The room/hotel was clean enough and the beds were comfortable. Maid service was good with clean towels every day and a change of bedding was left in the room during the 7 days we were there too. The TV channels for UK visitors is a bit limited,but we didn't spend time watching TV much anyway, so it didn't bother us. It is true there is a minimarket within the hotel, but they tend to pretty much open when they feel like it, despite what it says on the "opening times" on the door. However, there is another small shop literally over the road and several small supermarkets along the main strip if you don't fancy a trip to the larger supermarkets. We didn't eat at the hotel, preferring to eat out for breakfast and dinner each day, so I cannot comment on food and we didn't cook anything in the kitchen either, but the equipment supplied was ok with a large fridge/freezer, electric cooker etc. There are lots of restaurants/cafes close by for breakfast and dinner. Location of this hotel is excellent for PDR.
On the down side, the hotel and rooms could do with some TLC and a bit of deep cleaning in our bathroom/regrouting would have spruced things up a bit. However, I don't want to put anyone off, as for the price it is good and if you are just looking for a base (which we were) then it is absolutely fine. I would definitely consider this hotel again if I went back to PDR, which is very likely as we love the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location five mins walk to the beach and strip! Bedrooms spacious and clean. Would definitely recommend this hotel!low cost hotel well worth the money. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed at club amarilis 15th September We had a large apartment on 5th floor facing the pool to get sun in the late afternoon you need to be at the end of the building The apt itself was very large with separate dining and lounge area. Kitchen facilities very good with 4 rings micro wave etc. There is a small supermarket on ground floor but the hours seemed a bit iffy. There are some shops close by. It is close to beach and many restaurants and bars prices reasonable we ate out every night No entertainment and never saw the bar open. safety deposit boxes FOC

couldn't complain for the price we paid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Hi iv just stayed here last week and im really disappointed. The apartments were very clean but are not safe for children ,as the we were on the 5th floor the windows did not lock and the balcony was very dangerous as the edging was missing. There is no entertainment in the hotel and the shop , hairdresser and bar never seem open .The weather was not good so we used the indoor pool which cost 5 euro per person and 4 euro per person for hats to be worn in the pool which is a disgrace .would not recommend these apartments to families.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Have just returned from an eight night stay at Club Amaralis. Apartments are lovely and spacious, Large lounge area with wide screen TV. There was a separate kitchen with everything you need for a self catering holiday, kettle, toaster, microwave, plenty of pots and pans etc if you need them, House Keeping called everyday bins were emptied and towels changed, Reception staff were very friendly and welcoming no task was to big or small and they were always very helpful, whether with information regarding the resort or booking a taxi etc. There is a small supermarket on site, very reasonably priced, the gentleman in this shop was ever so pleasant and friendly. There is a safe in the rooms at a charge of €20, this was returned at check out. There is also a hairdresser in this apartment complex and a nail bar. The bar didn't seem to be open at night which was a pity, there is a large pool area with plenty of sun loungers, plenty of space here with a nice sized pool, there is also an indoor pool and spa. The apartments are only a 5 min walk to the main strip and beach. Overall there apartments are very pleasant and in an ideal location, would i stay here again? Without doubt yes.

Room Tip: I would recommend an apartment overlooking the pool,as you have sun here all afternoon and into the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Amarilis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Amarilis

Address: Avenida V3, Portimao 8500-801, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 80 hotels in Portimao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Amarilis 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Club Amarilis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Amarilis Hotel
Amarilis Hotel Portimão
Club Amarilis Portimao, Algarve, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Amarilis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.