We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel worth a look” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mirachoro Hotel Apartamentos II & III

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mirachoro Hotel Apartamentos II & III to your Saves list
Mirachoro Hotel Apartamentos II & III
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urb. Alto do Quintao, Lote 64/65 | near Praia Da Rocha, Portimao 8501-913, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 76 Hotels in Portimao
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“good hotel worth a look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

rstayed here on 14 may for 7 days was very worried at some of thereviews, picked this deal up on mighty deals about 8 months ago .read the reviews and wished we had nt bought the voucher . was very surprised to say the least our self catering accommadion was very good easily fit a family very clean actually id stayed in turkey on an allinclusive hol and mirachoro was far better than my stay in turkey . we arrived at 11.30 at night and they served us a hot meal was most impressed . our rooms welcomed us lovely white sheets clean white towels spotless rooms mini kitchen only down side no oven but you can live without one . even put upwith whistle kettle as we had gone as a group we had two rooms and we made do between the two no complaints from us . you ve got to try this hotel its a bargain .. shopping precinct not far to get your shoppng lovelyplace quite cheap nice handbags and a clothes shop called mo . the beach at pria de rocha clean not over crowded bloody lovely .we had lovely walks , we walked to the left of the promenade follow to the end its like part of a castle ,posh boats and loads restaurants try a pirate themed restaurant fantastic nice waiter as well very friendly gave us 10 % off our next visit . anda bottle of wine ..we have already booked another holiday in jan to try another part of the island .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    78
    56
    7
    10
See reviews for
39
95
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed at Mirachoro II for 7 nights, was a pleasant apartment with spacious living and bedroom area. Lovely scenery from the balcony.

The pool area was slightly small and wouldn't recommend for big families, perfect for small family holiday, the bar served pub snacks and a variety of alcoholic beverages.

Only one negative, there's only WIFI available on the bottom floor of reception and in the bar, would have been perfect if it was in every room.

all in all, it was a great cheap, last minute holiday. Praia da rocha wasn't too far away either, casual 20 minute walk or there's a free shuttle bus at 10am... A taxi there and back isn't that expensive either.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

this hotel has great big apartments, cleaned every day, really helpful staff, would return to this Hotel, close to the beach, supermarkets and restaurants in Praia da Rocha, the beach is magnificent and very clean

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised how nice the hotel was, we booked 26 nights in May 2013, the hotel staff were great, its a pity the bar had no entertainment on at all. The apartment was clean and quite large with a large balcony. Supermarkets were about a 15 minute walk away, and the beach was about the same distance. The hotel offers a free bus service to and from the beach every morning except Sunday. If you want a quiet holiday and you can walk a mile or two, this could be the hotel for you. It is pretty basic but for what we paid for our stay we were more than pleased. Use the hotel as a base and you wont go far wrong. The swimming pool is quite small and unheated, the loungers are in short supply and very uncomfortable. I bought and airbed to make them comfortable. there is a nice garden area with a couple of fruit trees. Local bus stops are yards from the hotel entrance. Taxis are not too expensive. I you want a cheap quiet holiday that mostly involves lying around the pool or lying on local beautiful beaches. I would recommend this hotel. If you want a lively 5 star hotel, do not stay here. It is excellent value for money for people on a tight budget. I would stay here again : )

Room Tip: We found Taffy's bar near the beach made lovely fish and chips. You can buy English bacon from L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Came expecting not too much but ended up being pleasantly surprised rooms are huge a little dated but clean maids came every day pool area small but nice could do with updating the sunbeds I would stay here again definitely location right in the middle of pria da rocha portimao and a little fishing village of alvor well done Mirachoro 2

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Our holiday in the hotel got off to a bad start, with the manager handling a concern with the room very aggressively and abruptly, but things were rectified quickly and the holiday went smoothly from then on. Initially, our apartment was in an unacceptable condition when we arrived, so we asked night staff to arrange cleaners in the morning, who didn't come, so after an hour or so I went to reception to discuss the room.

The manager was adamant that the room was fine, and started shouting loudly and aggressively, which could have escalated badly. He then came to view the room with his housekeeper, and he quickly realised that his staff had let him down, and was extremely apologetic. We were given another room on the 6th floor which was lovely and clean, with awesome views, and 'much nicer' than the first room, and the manager was very helpful and professional for the duration of our holiday, as were all the staff.

Cleaning service was quite regular thereafter and we had no problems to report.

Both rooms were similar, in that they had separate bathroom and bedroom. The first room had nice furniture, although ring stained etc, and the 2nd room felt much newer and well maintained.

Beds were very comfortable in both with matching bedding and curtains. Both had sliding wardrobes and dressing table, with the first having it's own balcony from the bedroom, with reading lights above beds and bedside drawers. Furniture throughout apartment was pleasant with wooden lockable doors and features.

Bathroom had large sink and mirror, with white toilet, Bidet, and bath with tap shower. Tiled floor.

Kitchen and living room next, with kitchen fitted to end wall, wooden units, sink, cooking hot rings. Under fridge with small freezing space, and microwave. No kettle, toaster, or iron etc, but we received both kettle, toaster, and tin openers etc, and a tv remote (not needed to work portable tv)) from reception upon asking, free of charge.

Dining table, 2 settees either side of the room, with coffee table and sideboard, leading to sliding patio doors, to large balcony. White plastic chairs on balcony and table a little tired. This is only a 2 star hotel though to be fair, so over all no complaints.

The stairs to each floor were all wooden, and charming, with 2 lifts also, and the decoration was pleasant, with sponged walls, and quaint sideboard on each floor. I liked it, as it was warm and homely.

Small pool outside, plus a tiny kids pool, with loungers and seating. Typical outdoor pool table etc. A grass area to side of hotel. Hotel protected by a fence.

We went with On The Beach, who list many facilities at the hotel which don't exist, so be aware of this.

24 hr Reception area, with, large screen tv, computer / wifi, seating area. Pleasant toilets in lobby.

There is one bar at the hotel, situated in a very pleasant room, which has nice wooden beams, disco style dance floor, and seating / coffee tables. Large screen tv, cigarette machine, organ. The bar is well stocked and serves draft beer as well as cocktails and shorts etc.

Beer is 2.50 for a pint. Cocktails 5.00 which is reasonable. Barman was friendly and reception helpful.

There is no shop or supermarket at the hotel, and no restaurant. You can order basic food from the bar though, such as burgers, omelette and chips, sandwiches etc, but don't expect a restaurant. There is a room for your cases etc on the last day.

Supermarket wise, there is a large shopping center called Continente, about 10 minutes walk, that also has fast food outlets on the 2nd floor that are worth a visit.

The hotel location isn't too bad. Walk one way, you have the beach. Another direction, the town centre, and another, the shopping, with the hotel kind of in the middle, not next to anything, but only 10 min walk from everything. You can get a taxi for about €4 to most places, but you can also cut through a small wild area full of beautiful wild flowers alongside the neighboring sports pitch which is quick enough.

The resort itself is full of tall blocks of apartments, with a bit of graffiti here and there. The promenade has plenty of bars and restaurants serving decent food. You can get a pint for 1 Euro in a few places, but average is 2 - 2.50. 3 Course meals in a few places for less than a tenner if you are on a budget. Steak 12€ rising a few Euro for fillets etc. We went in May, so don't know if more in peak, but cheaper than a lot of other places I've been.

Beaches are wonderful. Mile after mile of golden sand. My preferred spot was to the right, where it looks more natural. Water in May was cool, but not freezing, and on a sunny day was perfectly useable for a quick dip.

Watched Portimao FC in a football league match for only 5€ each which was something different.

Back to the hotel, my overall thoughts were positive.

We looked for a cheap holiday, and not a 5 star hotel, and other than the crazy manager episode (he was nice afterwards to be fair to him) I thought the hotel was a good choice for our budget.

If you don't mind a short walk, you'll be ok.

Portimao has great beaches, reasonably priced food and drink, and nice people. Faro airport is very expensive btw.

The hotel is a safe choice for a decent location if you want a basic place to stay that is pleasant but it could do with a little updating.

Not bad though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Retford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here for a week and the people there are very helpful and go to great lengths to help people.the rooms are a little basic with not much aof a good view but the maids come everyday and kept it clean enough.thought we might have got a microwave to cook with though? Its cheap enough to go out for meals anyway.only problem was it was a fair walk to anything.they do have a bus but we kept missing it

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mirachoro Hotel Apartamentos II & III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirachoro Hotel Apartamentos II & III

Address: Urb. Alto do Quintao, Lote 64/65 | near Praia Da Rocha, Portimao 8501-913, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 76 Hotels in Portimao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mirachoro Hotel Apartamentos II & III 2*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Mirachoro Hotel Apartamentos II & III reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirachoro Hotel Apartamentos Ii And Iii
Mirachoro Hotel Portimão
Mirachoro Hotel Apartamentos II & III Portimao, Algarve, Portugal
Mirachoro 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirachoro Hotel Apartamentos II & III, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.