We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museu de Portimao

Museu de Portimao
Rua D. Carlos | Zona Ribeirinha, Portimao, Portugal
+351 282 405 230
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$56*
and up
Private Tour: Portimao, Alvor and Ferragudo...
Ranked #19 of 71 things to do in Portimao
Attraction details
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Excellent Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

What a wonderful laid out Museum, its main feature beening the History of the canning industry, the display is showing the whole process of industry, they have the old machinery, plus excellent life size figures showing where they would be working in the process. There is also portuguese quitars showing how they were made and the history of the family that made them. That was excellent too All worth a visit enjoy

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    47
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Loved this museum - stylish and interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The museum was stylishly laid out with some beautifully staged exhibits - and gave a very clear understanding of the history of Portimao and the sardine canning industry. I really liked the lifesize models of the workers on the production line and the film about the old factory was excellent. Not at all dusty or boring!
The section devoted to the development of the Portuguese guitar was also attractive: and we enjoyed the special photographic competition exhibits upstairs.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portimao, Portugal
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fascinating insight into the Portimão of yesteryear”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We thought the museum was well laid out, very informative but could do with an English translation of the exhibits. Our Portuguese is good but most visitors would struggle. We loved the film showing the old canning factory. Well worth a visit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“How it all began - with a Sardine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Well worth an hour or so to see how the town was driven forward with the Sardine Fishing industry - sound boring - not at all!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very interesting and well planned Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My wife and I visited here on a damp November day. The museum is very well planned. The sardine industry section had several video's with English subtitles explaining all about the history. There were lots of old photographs too in each section. We also enjoyed the Portuguese guitar section of the museum. I love the sounds coming from the guitars and the designs were beautiful. The ceramics display also looked stunning. For 3 euro's it was very good value.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museu de Portimao also viewed

Praia da Rocha, Portimao
 

Been to Museu de Portimao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museu de Portimao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.