We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly acceptable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Made Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Made Inn to your Saves list
Hotel Made Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Vicente Vaz das Vacas N 22, Portimao 8500-746, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 78 Hotels in Portimao
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfectly acceptable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed here for just 1 night whilst visiting family holidaying in Algarve (we were actually staying in Lisbon). The rooms are basic, but are very clean and decorated to a high standard. Breakfast was basic, but everything offered was of a good standard. One recommendation I would make is that they either put some background music or the huge T.V. they have in the dining room on, to add a little bit of atmosphere to the breakfast room. We found it awkwardly silent and all you could hear was peoples knives and forks!

I would definitely stay again, if I was in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMadeInn, General Manager at Hotel Made Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for your comment and for recommend our hotel to others. :)
You have absolutely right about the background music in the breakfast room. I have to tell you that you have sound in the room, but the staff must had forgotten to put the music on :(
It's a thing that I've always concern about, but it escapes on that day... Sorry about that.
Did you enjoy our services, as wi-fi, net zone, bike rental and audiotour of Portimao?
Maybe next time, since you are near us ;)
See you soon!
Regards.
Joana Silva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    60
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
91
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

very clean hotel, good breakfast and very nice and helpful staff. its in the city center, to the beach you have to walk a bit, but its ok. we enjoyed our stay here! thank you very much! greetings from germany

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMadeInn, General Manager at Hotel Made Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hi dear guests!
Greetings from Portugal :)
Thank you so much for your nice words!
You also can go to the beach in our bikes for rent ;)
Did you enjoy our terrace as well?
See you when you came back to Portugal :)
Regards.
Joana Silva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Perfet place to stay in Portimão. Very clean. In the center of Portmão. The room was unique. No noise from the road or from the other rooms. Black outs realy work.
Will come back nest time. Good breakfast.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMadeInn, General Manager at Hotel Made Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hi, Dear Guest!
Thank you so much for your kind words!
We're glad that you've enjoyed our hotel, with excellent cleaning, nice buffet breakfast, and the room, with free wi-fi, private bathroom, all new and well decorated ;)
Did you visit our terrace? Nice place for chill out and enjoy the view over the city.
Next time, try to bike the city in one of our rental bikes or, if you prefer walking, try our audiotour trough Portimão!
Thanks once again!
See you soon!
Best regards.
Joana Silva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel was located about a 5 minute stroll from the busier parts of Portimao.
Hotel rooms are small and basic but very clean. Bathrooms are the same.
Hotel is very quiet. Breakfast was basic.
The staff were very helpful and recommended some great restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMadeInn, General Manager at Hotel Made Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Olá!
Obrigado por partilharem a vossa opinião.
Temos uma fantástica relação qualidade-preço, temos pormenores de decoração muito bons (como poderão verificar pelas críticas), esforçamo-nos por tratar os nossos hóspedes da melhor maneira e a recompensa são as maravilhosas críticas!
Estamos localizados no centro de Portimão, junto da rua de maior comércio (com muitas lojas), perto do centro comercial e a 5 minutos a pé da zona ribeirinha, onde há animação cultural. Estamos a 2,5Km da Praia da Rocha, para onde se poderão deslocar a pé, de carro, de autocarro ou numa das nossas bicicletas de aluguer.
Quanto ao pequeno-almoço, em nossa opinião (e de outros hóspedes) é um buffet bastante completo para um hotel de 2 estrelas, visto que tem ovos, salsichas, fiambre, queijo, pão variado, cereais, chás, café, leite de vaca, leite de soja, sumos, iogurtes, fruta, bolos e doces.
Temos classificação de 2 estrelas, mas queremos proporcionar aos nossos clientes um serviço 5 estrelas!
Conheceram os nossos quartos temáticos, com uma decoração especial? E divertiram-se na nossa Nintendo Wii gratuita?
Esperamos que sim e que possam voltar para experienciar outros serviços.
Cumprimentos.
Joana Silva.

Hello!
Thanks for sharing your opinion.
We have a fantastic value for money, we have very good decoration details (as may be verified by other guests critics), we strive to treat our guests in the best way and the rewards are wonderful reviews!
We are located in the center of Portimão, beside the street from greater trade (with many shops), close to the shopping center and 5 minutes walk from the riverside area, where there are cultural events. We are 2.5 km from Praia da Rocha, where you can go on foot, by car, bus or in one of our rental bikes .
As for breakfast , in our opinion (and other guests) is a comprehensive buffet for a 2 star hotel as it has eggs, sausage , ham, cheese , assorted breads, cereals , tea , coffee, milk cow , soy milk , juices , yogurts , fruit , cakes and sweets .
We are a 2 star hotel , but we want to provide our customers with a 5 star service!
Did you met our themed rooms, with a special decoration? And had fun in our free Nintendo Wii?
We hope so and hope you can get back to experience other services.
Greetings .
Joana Silva .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We should have stayed there for days, but ended up booking another hotel after just one evening. It did not live up to my expectations of a hotel at all - except for the kind service in the reception. I must say he was the exception. When we arrived to the hotel there was i bad smell in the hallway and in our room 403. On top of that the bed was hard as a rock, and the room was so small that the air condition made us feel like we were inside a hair dryer. The internet connection was existing but just incredibly slow. The breakfast was very standard, not very good at all. By the way I think it was the worst cup of coffee i have ever tasted. The yogurt was definitely OK! I would recommend this hotel for very short stays or transit...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMadeInn, General Manager at Hotel Made Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hello !
We regret that we have not lived up to your expectations.
Every day we strive to provide maximum comfort to our guests and in most cases succeeded. Glad you liked our receptionist.
We have bigger, others smaller rooms - depends on availability at time of booking. I'm sure you mention the stench was something off, because we are very careful with it.
Our mattresses are orthopedic, with BONEL springs, so we have not had complaints from customers .
As for wi-fi, works fine in most cases, but if each guest has a computer, a tablet and a smartphone operating simultaneously, then the network does not support all requests of all guests. And we have 3 computers up and running, at the reception, available to our guests free of charge.
As for breakfast, in our opinion (and other guests) is a comprehensive buffet for a 2 star hotel as it has eggs, sausage , ham, cheese , assorted breads, cereals , tea , coffee, cow milk, soy milk , juices , yogurts , fruit , cakes and sweets . Sorry if the coffee was not good . May have been , occasionally , poorly done , but I'm sure if you have said to our staff , would give you another much better . For we are here to serve you in the best way !
We appreciate having us, still, recommended and we hope that you can come visit us in another opportunity to prove the effectiveness and beauty of our services !
Greetings .
Joana Silva .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel last summer. I can't say a bad thing about it! The staff were so kind and always trying to help give directions.
The room had everything and it was probably the cleanest room I have ever stayed in. Everything is white so it's very easy to tell :)
The price to quality ratio is outstanding. Our stay included breakfast and it was quite a substantial buffet especially for the price. It's not beside the beach but its only a short walk and it's an enjoyable one strolling through the town.
We really enjoyed our stay and if we ever go back to portimao that will be the place we will try to stay in.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMadeInn, General Manager at Hotel Made Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest!
Thank you so much for your nice review!
Yes, we demand a very good cleaning and our staff is always trying to work hard to satisfy our and your demands :)
We have a very good buffet breakafast, accordingly to our price/quality ratio and we are very glad that you've enjoyed so!
We are located in the centre of the city of Portimão and you can walk beside the river - very close to us!
Now, we have a very brand new themed room: "Around the world"! Check it out!

Best wishes!
Joana Silva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Small but very comfortable and clean hotel, with most helpful stuff EVER.... they will do all to make your stay pleasant.
Very good breakfast, and strong wifi conection
Good value of money.
I would definitely recommend. Gretings from Bosnia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMadeInn, General Manager at Hotel Made Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hi, there!
We are glad that you've enjoyed your stay with us!
Did you try our new service: audiotour in Portimão? Very good to know the city walking ;) at your own pace!
Thanks for your kind words and I'm going to tell our great staff about your opinion ;)

Regards from Portugal!
Best wishes!
Joana Silva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Made Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Made Inn

Address: Rua Vicente Vaz das Vacas N 22, Portimao 8500-746, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Portimao
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portimao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Made Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Portimao, at Hotel Made Inn you will be able to feel at home, with a family atmosphere and friendly service at all. You can enjoy free Wi-Fi, an excellent breakfast buffet, play for free at the electronic games room, relax on the terrace with a panoramic view or rent a bycicle to tour the city. It has 28 rooms with air conditioning, cable TV, telephone, wireless internet, private bathroom and amenities. It also has at your disposal wake up service, safe deposit box (at reception), fax/copy service, TV room and parking garage, payed, on the street of the hotel. Recently renovated, Hotel Made Inn gives you modern facilities with a special touch in the decoration - immerse yourself in the themed rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Made Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Made Inn Portimao, Algarve, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Made Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.