We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Bernarda

Santa Bernarda
Rua Judice Fialho, 4, Portimao 8500-072, Portugal
+351 282 422 791
Website
Improve this listing
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great family adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Did the trip today in mid March at sunny conditions (family with 3 and 1 yr old daughter) and loved it. The boat is even more beautiful than on the pictures, you feel the love the captain invested when building/renovating it. The trip along the beautiful coastline east of Portimao with its cliffs and caves itself is worth the cost. Going with the small extra boat close to/into some of the caves completes the adventure. Although the weather conditions (not low tide, some waves) did not allow entry into many caves, we loved it. Captain Bernarda is very experienced and knowledgeable and his stories shared along the ride are very entertaining and inspiring.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of the best things I have ever done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This trip was just outstanding. My sis and I did the full day trip and dressed up as pirates (which Bernard loved). We sailed along the East until we came to a secluded beach only accessible by small boat. So Santa Bernarda dropped it's anchor and we got on our small boat and went and down some cave tours before going to the beach. We got right inside the caves - with the help of the waves! - and it was just amazing. We then went onto the beach where we chilled for a bit while the crew cooked our bbq lunch. The lunch was very tasty and one member of the crew was crazy doing hand stands on the beach and falling into the sea. We then went back on board and sailed West past Portimao. Once we headed back they cut the engine and put the sails up and cruised back into the Port. Captain Bernard aptly put on We Are Sailing by Rod Steward which was hysterical. Cracking day out for the money. By far the BEST thing to do in the whole of the Algarve.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Boat Trip to the Caves”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Really good fun and very well orgainsed. The crew could not do enough to help.

Our trip went ou of Portimao and into the sea heading East to the caves. When we arrived 2 smaller boats took passengers out and into the caves with very skillful boat handlers.

The captain spoke several languages and gave an excellent commentary during the trip.

The sea was a little choppy and unfortunately a couple of passengers were not feeling well. The crew could not have been more sympathetic/helpful.

Good fun for 30 Euros.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pirate ship tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The tour was excellent. We were taken down the west coast of the Algarve near Albufeira and stopped to see all the caves along the way. You also get to taken in small boats through the caves in the dark. Its definitely worth seeing if you like to see something different! You can do an all day tour or half days.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We couldn't understand anything the captain was saying in English or Portuguese.
they didn't make it fun or exciting. Basically not great tour guides. Boring and dull.
Water got choppy, not their fault but they cancelled the trip early and didn't give out refunds or discounts. Went first week in September

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Bernarda also viewed

Portimao, Faro District
Mexilhoeira Grande, Portimao
 
Portimao, Faro District
 

Been to Santa Bernarda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Bernarda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.