We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fab hidden gem in the sunshine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tipi Algarve, Glamping

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tipi Algarve, Glamping to your Saves list
Tipi Algarve, Glamping
Rasmalho, Portimao, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Chipping Barnet, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A fab hidden gem in the sunshine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at Tipi Algarve with our four children aged 9,9,7 and 5 in August for 3 nights. We had the two Safari tents side by side with their own camp kitchen. The tents were fab with a double and single bed in each and the kitchen had gas rings and a fridge so everything you needed for cooking and camping! There was fresh water for washing up and a lovely plunge pool for cooling off in.

Calvin and Sam are excellent hosts who are welcoming and very helpful, there is loads to do nearby and if you fancy a lzay day at the site there are hammocks in the shade and a lovely chill out lounge with wifi for the evenings. The children loved the pool table and selection of games to play as well as Sunny and Chief the two resident dogs who are super friendly and very keen to catch a ball!

If you fancy something different from a villa/hotel holiday then this is the thing to try. There was yoga at 7am and 7pm each day taught by the lovely Caroline and both my daughter and my son did classes as well as myself and it was wonderful, the yoga temple is on the side of a hill overlooking the valley and at sunset it is perfect and a fantastic way to end the day.

There are flushing toilets and showers which although not hot are plenty warm enough..all the facilites are kept very clean. There is a vegetable patch and plenty of figs and grapes growing wild all over the site.

We had a wonderful stay and our children are already planning our next visit!

Room Tip: There is loads of space between all the tipis/yurts and tents so does not really matter where you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    10
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
31
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I read about Tipi Algarve online and instantly knew I wanted to go there.
My boyfriend and I booked last minute, I was worried we wouldn't be able to stay as we wanted to stay for 5 days but Calvin managed to squeeze us in for 3 days as it was mid august- peak season.
After our flight was delayed it was no problem for us arriving late at night, the directions provided we clear and we managed to arrive in the dark with no problems .
Arriving at Tipi Algarve was magical, little stone paths leading to tipi's and tents sprinkled with fairy lights and the STARS IN THE SKY where so clear! Calvin greeted us and showed us the chill out area and the toilets.
Our safari tent and camping area ( small table, stove, fridge- which was stocked up with bread and jam for breakfast! hammock -) was picture perfect with bunting & olive trees, the tent was roomy and nicely furnished with a very comfy double bed.
I would strongly advise hiring a car, we did and it allowed us to explore the area and drive into Portimao to get food shopping and have a look at the portuguese shopping areas.
The Tipi Algarve was beautiful, peaceful and dreamy.
I attended morning yoga sessions, small intimate class out in nature, for €10.00 for an hour in a yoga temple that prepared me for the day perfectly.
They had a lovely little pool great for a morning plunge before we headed off to adventure around Portugal.
Calvin was always super friendly and helpful offering great advise on local beaches and even have boogie boards and umbrellas you can grab and take to the beach ( so much fun!)
I only wish i had stayed here longer! 3 days were not enough and i will be returning again.
It is perfect if your tired of the stereotypical getaway, the Tipi Algarve was revitalising and stress free!

Room Tip: Couple Safari Tent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had just the best holiday!

We travelled to portugal in March / April 2012, and wanted to find an eco-lodge to stay in to keep costs down a bit as hotel's were quite a lot more expensive.

When we arrived we were greeted immediately by the owner Calvin and showed to our Safari tent. It was beautiful and a lot bigger than we'd originally thought. Although it was right at the start of the season, Calvin had said if we were missing anything at all just to give him a shout and he would make sure it was available.
This was exactly how the rest of our week worked out. We were always invited for lunch and dinner with the rest of the volunteers.
We were quickly introduced to the animals, two dogs Chief & Sunny and the cat Cookie, who are all lovely and very friendly.
The toilets and showers were very clean and cleaned regularly. All the food used to cook was fresh from the vegetable patches on site.

We had our own fully equiped kitchen area including a fridge, kettle and all necessary cutlery. Two hammocks to relax in in the shade and we had a table so we could really have a feast laid out for dinner.

On the morning of my birthday I was surprised to be brought a beautiful birthday cake and flowers as a treat breakfast in bed! Beautiful. I also tried out some of the spa therapies on offer, and although a little bit more expensive than we'd hoped it was well worth it.

We could come and go as we pleased, although something to be aware of is the track leading to the eco-retreat as it can be (in the earlier parts of the season) quite muddy and wet.

The beaches of Praia de Rocha and many others along the coast are simply beautiful and not very far away to drive to. A 15 / 20 minute drive as long as the traffic is good.

If you don't want to stay at the retreat all the time there are a couple of fabulous smaller restaurants near by with a fairly simple menu, but very enjoyable nonetheless and usually filled with the locals which is always lovely to see.

A thoroughly enjoyable stay, we would highly recommend this as a fabulous holiday destination for anyone looking to get away form it all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed in a tipi called Budha, well decorated and very clean, we had our own fully equipped kitchen. With an organic garden that we had the opportunity to taste some delicious tomatoes and fruits picked directly from the tree.
Yoga classes with Yoguissima in the rising sun, inspiring and full of power and Yoga at sunset, relaxing and restorative. An authentic peace retreat in a yoga temple with view to the valley!
A 10 minute drive to gorgeous beaches and small historic towns nearby like Silves or Monchique.
The volunteer staff were very helpful and friendly. We participated in BBQ night where we had also opportunity to meet everyone in the glamping. It was the first time we stayed in a Glamping and consider an experience to repeat!!

Room Tip: Buddha and Dragonfly have some shade and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a tucked away tipi on the edge of the camp and were very happy with everything about the week we stayed there. The tipi was decorated beautifully and it was very clean with a comfy full size bed and great lighting. The glamping kitchen was fully stocked with everything you could ever need including a fridge (a life saver in 40 degree heat!). The chill out area was a real highlight with cold beers, wine and ice cream available. We loved the vibe and the people so much at this camp (guests, owners and staff) that we decided to serenade them all with our music as we brought along our guitars on holiday! It was very well received.

We were on our honeymoon and were very pleasantly surprised to find our tipi decorated with rose petals and flowers to mark the occasion, plus a bottle of sparkling wine, chocolates and little gifts. We were totally blown away!!!!
Other added goodies that we loved are the swimming pool, hammocks, pool table, barbecue area, yoga workshop (open-air yoga anyone??), pizza oven and fairy lights strewn throughout the campsite creating an enchanting feel.
This one place we will definitely be returning to and recommending to our friends without hesitation. The owners are so lovely and friendly and add their own personal touch to the campsite. You will love this place!
It is also very well placed to explore the entire region of the Algarve plus up to the west coast of Portugal. But t is remote enough to see the most amazing display of stars at night!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portimao, Portugal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I always enjoy camping but have never been Glamping before and so decided to try it this year and also heard good things about Tipi Algarve from friends who stayed last year . We were not disappointed. We followed the directions that Sam sent us and arrived with no problems. We stayed in the small Tipi which was called Buddha and it was nicely furnished and clean with lovely touches. We appreciated having our own private camp kitchen with small fridge, cooking facilities (saves money cooking then eating out all the time) and equipment with tables and chairs, garden furniture and hammock to look up at the stars at night. The pool was great to cool off in and had a nice shaded area behind the pool to laze away in a hammock reading a book.
The yoga temple is a great, quiet space to look out onto the valley , and we enjoyed feeding the chickens and ducks and fish in the pond area. We liked the social atmosphere of BBQ night. A couple of guests who were musicians played one night in their chill out lounge and it was a lot of fun.
We would definitely recommend Tipi Algarve, it has the right balance of peace and tranquillity in a lovely natural , rustic setting, only 15 minutes to some great beaches and attractions in the Algarve.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed in June, a couple with a toddler, had a great time staying in small tipi. Sam and Calvin are wonderful hosts and are so enthusiastic, warm and welcoming. The setting is truly magical and most nights we sat out under the stars and enjoyed a glass of wine in the chill out lounge area, very romantic and relaxing. The perfect get away too relax and unwind, enjoy the natural beauty of the countryside and treat yourself to the excellent facilities including fantastic treatments and massages offered by Sam.

Room Tip: The small tipi was great for a couple and toddler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tipi Algarve, Glamping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tipi Algarve, Glamping

Address: Rasmalho, Portimao, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Portimao
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and join us in the peace and tranquility of our eco-retreat and enjoy a Tipi holiday at Monte Joao Afonso in the Algarve, the sunshine coast of Southern Portugal, and experience a truly unique holiday. Tipi Algarve offers glamorous camping, otherwise known as "glamping"... with real comfort under canvas.Guests can stay in one of our stunning and spacious North American Family or small 2 person Tipis or our traditional Family Western Yurt all of which are furnished for your comfort with real beds and fresh linen. Alternatively we have Safari Tents which are perfect for both couples or families or groups.Each unit has its own private camp kitchen with fridge, gas rings to cook, cooking utensils, pots & pans, crockery & cutlery, tables & chairs and a hammock to enjoy alfresco dining under our pollution-free starry night sky. We have separate ladies & gents communal shower & toilets.We are only 45 minutes drive from Faro Airport and 15 minutes drive to stunning beaches and near all the main attractions the Algarve has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tipi Algarve, Glamping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tipi Algarve Hotel
Tipi Algarve, Glamping Portimao, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tipi Algarve, Glamping, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.