We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favourite Restaurant in Monchique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1692

1692
Caldas de Monchique | 8550-232, Monchique, Portugal
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 28 Restaurants in Monchique
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Our Favourite Restaurant in Monchique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We head out to this restaurant every time we are in the Algarve. A central location in the heart of Monchique. The outside seating is in a large rectangular courtyard with older buildings forming three sides and a few trees within. Usually, most of the outside tables fill up, but not in May (off season) where only two other families were eating there too. We had the 1692 steaks, meduim to well done which were melt in the mouth lovely with accompanying crisp vegetables. Then a banana split to share.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    13
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Loule, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere but the menu is boring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had a dinner there with my family on my birthday. The restaurant itself and decor are very nice and in the winter they have an open fire going making it very romantic, with classical music playing quietly in the background. But the food is not to the same standard and is very plain. Maybe I just have high expectations of Portuguese cuisine living in Algarve for the past 10 years but the food was very average to me. And this is the 2nd time I have eaten there. Unfortunately the service leaves a lot to be desired too. It's a shame as the place is so cozy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful Portuguese cooking in lovely surroundings.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed in Caldas de Monchique for six days, and ate here a few times.
You can eat either inside in a lovely spacious restaurant or outside in a beautiful
Courtyard weather permitting., which is almost all the time.
The meal starts with some nice breads, accompanied by fresh olives, fish paste and
Carrots in garlic.
Excellent choice of starters and main, including meals of the day which are excellent value.
The staff are all very friendly and multi lingual.
All ingredients are locally sourced and may be washed down by some excellent wine!
Enjoy!g

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Mixed fare in historic village property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

After a morning coffee in the lovely lazy square outside 1692, we were tempted back for dinner in the restaurant. My spinach and ricotta tortellini was nothing special — rather like supermarket fare — and slightly overcooked. But my husband chose well with the mushroom risotto, which was excellent. We ended up swapping! The dining room, with plenty of character, was comfortable and smart. Service pleasant and efficient.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motza Ilit
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Charming Atmosphere with Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Both the shaded court yard and the delightful interior of the restaurant are real pleasures. Service was superb and the table was laid out for the most demanding guest. And the menu of classic Portuguese dishes is unbeatable.
The Caldas is certainly worth a visit -- hiking up the paths along the streams -- but the highlight of your stay will be 1692.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1692 also viewed

Monchique, Faro District
 
Monchique, Faro District
Monchique, Faro District
 

Been to 1692? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1692, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.