We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Termas in Monchique” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort to your Saves list
Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Caldas de Monchique, Monchique 8550-232, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Monchique
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Termas in Monchique”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This review about the termal complex only; we have not stayed in the hotel.
The termal complex is not large, it only has one indoor pool with jets and one outdoor pool that is available to the hotel guests only. They also offer a series of treatments such as wraps, baths and massages. The treatments we had were conducted in a very professional manner.
The prices are quite expensive: Euro 75 for a massage.
Overall, it's ok, not great, not the best value for money, either. Spa complexes in Budapest or in Austria are much much better!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    52
    29
    11
    8
See reviews for
33
89
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Beautiful setting away from the high-rise concrete on the Algarve. Administration staff were friendly and helpful. Restaurant service very slow and occasionally indifferent. Our favourite hotel in this region.

Room Tip: We turned up on spec and paid a discounted rate for the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viseu, Portugal
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

The hotel is the best in teh area. it is cosy, clean and the restuarant has very nice food at decent prices.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

After a 300Km drive I arrived at the hotel front desk, at about mid-night, to check-in and only when I asked for the SPA details did they say, “Oh, here are the massages we can give you in some room, because the SPA will be closed until April”. Anyway, because I had seen a beautiful Wellness Resort on my way there, I thought I would just spend the night and go to another hotel in the next day.

So I left my luggage in the room, and went down to the bar where they had a fire-place. I asked for a drink and then so start the fire as it was frizzing.

The hotel staff didn’t know how to start the fire, so they told me I was free to do it myself..what kind of hotel don’t teach the staff how to work?! Anyway, so I did. After about 5 minutes I had to run out of the bar because the chimney was completely clogged and there was smoke everywhere!

Eventually I got to bed but could sleep at all because 1 – the air conditioning was very noisy EVEN SWITCHED OFF and 2 – the generator was left running the entire night and no one could turn if off.

The nightmare continued the very next day, when I went down for breakfast and asked for bacon and eggs and the lady told me to make it myself.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

We spent 3 nights at this hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed this stay. Very picturesque huddled in the mountains and very much like Portmerrion in North Wales (The Prisoner).

A couple of the reviews on here are just about the Spa and probably do not do the hotels and general resort justice - although I appreciate many people will visit here for the Spa. We stayed in a suite in the D.Carlos hotel. Very clean and roomy and beautifully furnished. Nice bathroom. Lovely view from balcony. Good standard of cleaning. There is a large bar with pool tables etc available although the bar in this hotel wasn't open during our visit as the hotel very quiet- but bars and drinks available elsewhere in the resort.
We ate at the main restaurant twice where we also had breakfast which was good and the house wine is very good. I had steak and fish both of which were very good. Sausage bread was delicious.

Nice choice for breakfast - very good bread - nice choice of continental plus cooked eggs if required.
The outdoor pool was excellent and very clean. As the hotel was quiet we spent most days there on our own which was lovely. The water is cold but the warmth from the sun is a lovely combination.

Nice little resort with a few artisan shops and a gift shop and post office. A lovely little bar which serves snacks during the day.
My partner paid to use the gym, indoor pool and steam/sauna - about 15 euro which he enjoyed - but would have been good if these had been complimentry for hotel guests as quite an expensive hotel.

A couple of slight issues I would comment on. Bags took about an hour to get to our room. The chap on reception was lovely and polite and friendly but I think were perhaps short staffed as it was quite quiet. Also, one morning no towels by the pool. These are just little things and did not effect our enjoyment of the stay.

All of the reception staff were very helpful - booking taxis etc and helping out with local restaurants.

We spent a day in Monchique (about 10 minue taxi ride) Worth the visit. We walked up to the ruined covent which also affords great views across Monchique and the mountains. Nice square with lots of nice cafes. Even a great traditional barber where my partner had his annual holiday hair cut (excellent barber and very god price -just up the hill on the right off the square). We also visited a restuarant called Paradiso Monthana?? which is next to Las Rampas which has got rave reviews on this site but was closed when we visited. We had Piri Piri chicken which was delicious and the sunset and the views were fantastic. Local taxi would be able to take you there
All in all a very enjoyable stay. The resort is lovely - tucked away in the hills. Staff polite and friendly. Good food and lovely pool.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

Having visited quite a few spas on my travels, Monchique Spa is extremely disappointing. At 25 Euros each, plus 3 for a bathing cap (compulsory), it resembles a neglected hotel pool rather than the 'spa' you are promised. The 3 changing cubicles are in the same tiny room as the toilets and showers, which made for a soggy experience, as the whole floor was one giant puddle on the day we visited. The 'swimming pool' is a medium sized pool with massage jets, but due to the layout swimming is not possible, and if you are brave enough to use the gym upstairs, be prepared for old, broken equipment. Towels are not provided unless you ask specifically, and mine smelled of rancid massage oil. At this price, the place must be resting on the laurels of former glory, one hopes, as it is just one big rip off from start to finish. Unpleasant experience overall.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

We didn't stay at the hotel, but came to the Spa for the afternoon where four of us had booked massages. Two unsmiling receptionists informed us that no children under 12 were allowed, therefore our 9 year old couldn't use the facilities. No one had mentioned this over the phone. When we asked what he could do while we were at the spa, one of the receptionists thawed a bit and arranged for him to use the hotel pool, but with "one adult only". By this time the first massage appointment was 10 minutes overdue and on asking we were told to go upstairs. No robes or further information about what to do was offered to those having massages, so we trooped upstairs. On entering the treatment room, there were no robes and the masseuse didn't leave the room as I undressed. The treatments were good, however, although expensive for what they were. When one of us finished her massage, she came back to reception and just stood there, unsure of what to do. No one helped or greeted her, so eventually she had to ask about the facilities, robes, etc. and wasn't even given the correct footwear that everyone else was wearing. There are no towels for drying after the spa unless asked for. The facilities aren't that good - the indoor spa pool which is like a giant jacuzzi, a small steam room, two saunas and a so-called relaxation room consisting of four loungers and some orange juice, which was difficult to relax in wearing sodden robes! The spa building is hideous, a concrete block. The receptionists seemingly disliked the clients, their attitude was quite rude and they were more interested in talking to other members of staff than us. You also have to buy swimming hats at 3 euro each, which rip immediately you put them on! I wouldn't recommend this spa at all - four massages and swimming caps cost over €200! You are not made to feel welcome by the receptionists. The little village is quite pretty though.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort

Address: Caldas de Monchique, Monchique 8550-232, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monchique
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Monchique
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the top of Algarve!Resembling a white village perfectly nestled among the Monchique Hills, Villa Termal features an outstanding Thermal spa using the only thermal waters in the south of Portugal . An indoor warm rich mineral water pool and exquisit facial and body treatments and massages by La Phyto are a welcoming card.The elegant and charming rooms distributed through 5 unique lodging complexes, are furnished with 18th- and 19th-century pieces.Guests of Villa Termal Das Caldas De Monchique Spa Resort can enjoy some great tapas and a glass of local wine at the stone-walled bar " O Tasco". The 1692 Restaurant offers a grill menu and Portuguese cuisine with traditional delicacies from the Monchique region, including special meat dishes.The outdoor swimming pool is surrounded by green garden and padded loungers. Besides relaxing in the sauna or steam bath, guests can enjoy walking and mountain biking tours in Serra de Monchique National Park. Other Nature related activities are available including canoeing, Climbing, Paintball, mountain bike downhill just 10 min away.Perfect for a relaxing getaway or an alternative holidays, the Villa termal das caldas de Monchique is 20 min away from the main stream locations, 25 min from the The best Algarvian beaches on the Atlantic, 40 min from the best wild Alentejo coast and Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Termal Das Caldas De Monchique Spa And Resort
Villa Termal Das Caldas De Monchique Hotel Monchique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.