We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an Oasis of tranquility, good spirits and one suprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Art of Joy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monchique
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Art of Joy
Estrada da Foia | Apartado 97, Monchique 8550-909, Portugal   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Inspiring Healthy Holiday
Ranked #2 of 8 Monchique B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“an Oasis of tranquility, good spirits and one suprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Spent 4 nights at a Art of Joy where our hosts, a beautiful Dutch couple who run the place give all they have to their clients.
Joyous, yet serene; Art of Joy is a great place to relax; take in the breathtaking views; go for long walks in a very friendly environment.

Although we must have been the only ones who weren't Dutch that week; everyone made us feel right at home.

One amazing highlight - the weekly feast. At a long table seating all those who stay at The Art of Joy - a dining experience like no other - made by our host; made with love and shared with all the patrons in what was one of the highlights of a delightful stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
20
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I have been to The Art of Joy for nine times now. Its a magnificent place in the mountains, overviewing the coastline of the Portuguese Algarve.The owners Annelies and Eugene created this bed & breakfast into a paradise on earth. And its not only the view and natural surrounding that makes this place a paradise. Annelies and Eugene are very well able to create an atmophere of tranquility, joy and light-footedness. The dinners here are excellent as well as the individual consultations the couple offers: hand reading, aura reading, massage, and so on. The Art of joy is a place to center down, to get in touch with yourself and to overview your life and all the beauty in it! I would say: go!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ede, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

At a very tranquil spot not far away from Monchique you will find this super & relaxing B & B.
Paradise starts already when you drive up to their place and park at their spacious car park with amazing views.
De scent of flowers, eucalypti and rosemary surrounds you when you walk roll down with you suitcase to your room or apartment.
I really had a room with a magnificent view which made me feel so happy, by the way almost every room or apartment are facing the ocean.
The breakfast is also really something to look forward to , fresh rolls from the oven, home made wholewheat bread. My favourites were the muffins,
Greek yoghurt and fresh fruit. The four course meal was a treat and so many delicious plates prepared with love.
You sleep in what they call box spring beds, very comfortable and good for your back. The private bathroom is clean and fresh.
Annelies, your host together with Eugene, tells you all about walks, culture, beaches, restaurants in the neighbourhood. However she also has all the ins
and outs and route descriptions if you'd like to venture a bit further down to the South or West Coast.
Beware If you lay down at their luxurious garden chairs under the palm tree you never get moving and relax and enjoy this magical place to the fullest!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We got a cheap flight from Derry to Faro and booked 3 nights in the Art of Joy. The road up had loads of twists and turns and the higher you went up the nicer Portugal looked. When it was too hot on the coast, Monchique was just a pleasure. So quiet and relaxing. The pool the jacuzzi all open 24 hours. Watching the shooting stars at night, amazing. Actually it felt like we had the place to ourselves most of the time. If you are looking for some place to chill out, look no further. We were so lucky to find this place free in the high season, and stayed another night as we didn't want to leave after the 3rd night. Portimao was about 14kms away and had all the shopping centre's and too many people, much prefer Lagos further west.

Room Tip: Go and relax, we will be back for sure....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Six days in Paradise, that's what we experienced last week @ The Art of Joy ! What a beaufitful view (you can overlook the landscape all the way to 'the ocean'). In a one word: stunning!
But the view is just one of the elements that make this place a paradise! The beaurtiful rooms and appartments have very comfortabele boxsprings beds, they are fully equipped (the rooms even have water cookers and a senseo machine - Dutchmen like so much), and have a very cosy atmosphere. The breakfasts are rich with different sorts of bread, cheese, boiled eggs, lots of different spreads and jams and not to forget: fresh juice and fresh fruit. Guestmeals (once a week) are even better, they feel like Belgian Cuisine (4 courses and lots of choise in each course). All guests were very much impressed by chief Eugene, one of the owners.
Annelies, host and owner, advises all guests on a daily basis to enjoy the Algarve and the accomodation to the most.
We recommend this Paradise very highly ! ! !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkoping, Sweden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

With a nice dutch couple as hosts, and a view over most of Algarve nothing can go wrong.
And it didn´t. Four nights at this beautiful place was - dispite of the not so nice weather - worth every cent.
Hiking in the mountains in the mornings, followed by jacuzzi sessions in the afternoon made living very easy.
A highly recommendable place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

This is a nice place run by a Dutch couple who has been there for 3 years. The rooms are OK, but nothing special. The beds were very comfortable, but the ventilation in the bathroom and room in general was not so great.

However, the jacuzzi which is set down from the house so that you can sit in it and see the entire valley below out to the ocean makes up for it. Bathrobs and pool towels are provided. The owners also have great walking descriptions prepared. You can walk to Monchique and then take a taxi back after having a nice snack at the coffee shop they recommend.

You can also eat dinner with them twice per week for 17.50 a person plus 4.50 pp for wine. Eugene cooks great Portuguese dishes, but definitely bring your appetite. He cooked for 9 people but we barely made a dent in the amount of food he made.

Euggene and Annelies were both very helpful and gave us lots of tips and information.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Art of Joy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Art of Joy

Address: Estrada da Foia | Apartado 97, Monchique 8550-909, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monchique
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Monchique
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to find tranquility in our Bed and Breakfast and Wellness `The Art of Joy' to enjoy the peace, great scenery, the spacious sun area with swimming pool, the amazing views of the ocean, Jacuzzi and the beautiful natural surroundings. We offer: A) Comfortable accommodation with ocean view and top quality box spring mattresses: Four double rooms (one available for 4 persons) and two apartments.B) Route descriptions for excursions and hikes, also guided hikes and massage. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Art of Joy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Art of Joy to your Saves list