We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated and Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Quinta

A Quinta
Rua Vale Formosa, Loule, Portugal
+351 289 393 357
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 81 Restaurants in Loule
Price range: $37 - $75
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Alvor, Portugal
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Understated and Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

As residents of the Algarve, but living come way from A Quinta we have been meaning to go to this restaurant for some time having heard great things.....We were not disappointed. The restaurant ambience is understated yet sophisticated and had a very warm feel. The terrace looked great but it was a too chilly to eat there.
All the staff had a quiet attentive efficiency and worked together as a team to provide a wonderful evening. The food was really good, My wife loved the slow cooked Pig cheeks and I feasted on a beautiful crispy duck and followed this with a delicate Bread and Butter Pudding. This was washed down with a bottle of one of my favourite red wines from Portugal called "Herdade dos Grous".

I thought the restaurant offered good value in an expensive area and is well worth a visit, which obviously alot of other people thought too as despite it being the last weekend in October they were full.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    20
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sao Bras de Alportel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best restaurant of its type in central Algarve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Sadly, they no longer do lunch. The restaurant is run by the owners, the food is excellent, service professional, atmosphere buzzing. It was a lunch favourite but the economy dictated and now it's only dinner which is too expensive for us to go as often as we lunched.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Ireland
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Nice food in a friendly setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Returned again last week and again the level of food and service was up to its usual standard. There is just something nice about fresh linen and good fresh ingredients.
This is no more expensive than many of the restaurants around the marina in Vilamoura. It could do with a bar close by to have per dinner drinks as the restaurant bar is not up to much and is in the restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“best food in the Algarve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I visit the Algarve about 3 times a year, both for golf and holidays. A’Quinta never fails to impress, the food is simply magnificent, great choice from the menu, which doesn’t change much (why would you?) and everything is exceptional. There are a lot of good restaurants in the Almancil, Quinta do Lago, Vale do Lobo area, but A’Quinta is the daddy of them all. They are also very accommodating if you want something different or want to ensure particular ingredients are not used. The prawns in filo pastry starter, mains of rack of lamb and steaks are exceptional amongst great food. You need to book in advance or you have little chance of a table, in the summer ask for a table on the terrace. All British staff and reasonably priced, (not cheap but not rip off either), also worth keeping your eyes out for the various celebrities who eat there while in the Algarve.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton on Thames
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant Great vaue for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have been going to this restaurant for several years and are never disappointed. It is always very busy which is a good sign for any restaurant especially in a recession. It is situated quite high up on the way to Loule. The car park soon gets full up , so it can be a problem parking your car. The staff are always very welcoming , and we have never had to wait long to be served. The portions are quite large . I can never manage three courses. They never mind if you want two starters, which I often have. There is always plenty of choice and the fish changes daily. Cannot fault this restaurant and the bill is nearly always the least expensive of all the meals we have had during our holiday. It is a must to visit , but am afraid too many people will find it,

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Quinta also viewed

Loule, Faro District
 
Loule, Faro District
 

Been to A Quinta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Quinta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.