We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Says it all. It's closed down” 1 of 5 stars
Review of A Muralha

A Muralha
Rua Martin Moniz | 41, Loule 8100-606, Portugal
924089383
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 82 Restaurants in Loule
Cuisines: Portuguese, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Alsager, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Says it all. It's closed down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I have eaten at this restaraunt several times over the last few years and have always found it quite excellent under the then proprieters Gehard and Judith. After being informed the place was under new ownership and also informed the food was far from anywhere near the standard we have come to expect, we decided to go anyway to give it a fair crack of the whip. When we arrived however we found that it had been closed down. It seems that the poor reviews below about the new management were absolutely correct. What a shame it was a delight before.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    4
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
724 reviews 724 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
“beautiful garden and GREAT food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We had lunch in this lovely restaurant on 30 Aug, between lunch and dinner hours. The manager re-opened the kitchen and made a special combination of scrumptious starters/tapas that were perfect. He was really welcoming and the service was excellent. Prices were very reasonable and portions sumptuous. The garden is really lovely--- and inside looks very cozy also. Sublime restaurant ---- with all you can ask for. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice food, lovely garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We ate twice in this restaurant. Our second meal wasn't as good as the first one but it was still nice. The portions are very generous and the staff are friendly. The garden is beautiful with plants creating shade. The inside gets very noisy even with just a few people.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Place, The food, the staff! Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Picturesque settings and a very friendly staff made this restaurant one of our group's favourite eating places. Fresh local food cooked well in typical Portuguese style and reasonably priced. No rush, no hassle and a lot of information and help from the staff.
Our favourite place was the seating area in the courtyard, but the real fire inside could be tempting on a cooler night. Added to this the fact that we were offered free transport to our villa not a few miles away! What more could you ask?
A genuine Portuguese restaurant run by genuine people!

  • Visited July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

We have been to A Muralha between 3 and 6 times a year and have always been more than satisifed with the food and service provided by the then owners, Judith and Gerhard. However, when we returned last May we found that the restaurant had changed hands but nevertheless decided to try it out. I can only say that we will NOT be going back again. The food was awful - what bit of pork I could separate from the fat was 90% inedible and my husband's meal was as bad. Previously, there had been a lovely ambience at the restaurant but that had disappeared also. We have since found some more restaurants which we like but were really disappointed about A Murlha.

  • Visited May 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Muralha also viewed

Loule, Faro District
Loule, Faro District
 

Been to A Muralha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Muralha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.