We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent horses, excellent surroundings, excellent everything!! :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Da Ribeira

Monte Da Ribeira
Raposeira CP 176 Z, Aldeia da Tor, Loule 8100-393, Portugal
910847275
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 attractions in Loule
Type: Tours, Horseback Riding Stables
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Monte Da Ribeira offers riding lessons, hacks, all-inclusive riding holidays, livery and pony club throughout the year. Fantastic hacking in the beautiful countryside near Loulé. Lessons catering from complete beginners to training in jumping and dressage. Happy and healthy horses and ponies in a friendly and confidence inspiring setting. Very reasonable rates and experienced, qualified staff. Great facilities and top quality livery.
Stamford Lincs
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent horses, excellent surroundings, excellent everything!! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Each year i visit very close friends in Portugal and each year we ride!, My friends keep their horses with Katharine at these stables where they are much loved and very well cared for. Katharine is a wonderful person with endless patience and full of fun and a huge confidence giver, not one ounce of panic about her! The stables are spotless as are the horses and the whole place has a sense of tranquil flow about it.
You can take a ride fast or slow according to ability or just how you feel and be well looked after taking in the beautiful scenery and then be offered a lovely cold drink and a piece of cake at the end.

This year my 13 year old daughter rode Annie who is only 4 years old, BRILLIANT!!

Take a look for yourself you won't be disappointed! Thank you Guys!

Jacqui from Stamford Lincs
Jacqui

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“excellent friendly horses & owner very well organised & taken care of thx Natalie & the girls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Couldn't fault this place my girls go every week to a stable day on a Saturday where they learn to look after the horse have rides out in the beautiful countryside or lessons in the arena . I go when I can & the horses are so friendly well looked after and it's very organised , great place worth a visit wonderful rides out very scenic & peaceful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilamoura, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun, safe & beautifull horses!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

If you want to get an impression of the real Portugal, go and ride at Monte Da Ribeira, The countryside is stunning!
Compared to most riding schools, the horses at Monte Da Ribeira are healthy, happy and safe ro ride.
The English owner of the yard, Katharine, is very kind and patience. She also gives very good lessons in jumping and dressage and is really good with children.

You definitely have to visit this yard when you want to go horseback riding in the Algarve!

Maaike van Ginkel

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loule, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Reasons to explore & to come back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

It is hard to find words that would be good enough for description of this marvelous place... Tranquility, joy, stunning nature, noble and well-behaved animals, ...
For me this place is the reason why I will come back to Portugal or maybe one day my own horse will grow up there.
Thanks to Katharine Cook, whose great experience and priceless influence, made this place the warmest horse riding center in the whole Algarve!
Visit it and you will never regret!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algarve
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quiet, relaxing and highly enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I regularly ride at Monte Da Ribeira and can highly recommend it to locals and tourists alike. All the horses are well cared for and are enjoyable rides. Katharine is very knowledgeable and a patient and fun riding instructor. The hacking is all off road and beautiful scenery.
5 * Riding centre!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte Da Ribeira also viewed

 

Been to Monte Da Ribeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Da Ribeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.