We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kazuri Garden Cottages

Kazuri Garden Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Loule
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kazuri Garden Cottages
Save
You added Kazuri Garden Cottages to your Saves list
Loule 8100, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A Special Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We have spent a very relaxing week in Pomegranate Cottage. Being gardeners we appreciated the lovely surroundings and restful location. It is a very tranquil spot and such a clever idea to place seven cottages for couples in a green environment on the otherwise dry Algarve- as you step through the door it's like entering another world. A lot of thought has clearly gone into it.
The cottage was compact and very well equipped. The bed was particularly comfortable. The privacy afforded to each property and spacious pool area meant that we were never overlooked or crowded. We made full use of our private barbeque.
You need to hire a car to collect essential provisions although there are a couple of restaurants and a small shop within walking distance. You can be at the beach in 15 minutes and there is plenty to do and see within an hours drive.
The owners were welcoming and helpful without being intrusive.
Certainly Alistair Sawday is correct when he says this is a special place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    3
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Hidden away in a small dusty Portuguese village is this gorgeous oasis surrounded by the most stunning gardens. The rustic yet elegant cottages are divine, providing their guests with an immediate sense of relaxation.

My husband and I travelled to Kuzuri on our honeymoon and were 100% impressed with our stay. This holiday suits anyone looking for an adult’s only holiday away from the busy resorts but a short drive from the beach, shops, restaurants, resorts and much more.

Travel:
A car is essential if you want to get around as public transport in this area is not really an option. Kuzuri is located 2minesutes off of the main coastal road N125 and 5mins from the main motorway A22. It is situated in a very good location for exploring both the West coast of the Algarve (about an hours drive to the very end), the East coast and Spain (45minsutes).

The cottages/garden :
We stayed in the Domasco cottage, the largest. Each cottage is linked by a very mature and absolutely stunning garden. The garden is designed so that each cottage has its own private patio/garden area with a BBQ and seating area. After viewing all 7 cottages we did feel that ours was the largest and the garden was the best, so try to book this cottage!

The cottages have been furnished in a very rustic Portuguese style so do not expect the most modern Ikea furniture! Draws rattle and none of the furniture matched. But we found this added to its charm and loved it. The bathroom tiles had very typical Portuguese crazy paving patterns but very clean.

The pool is a good size and well kept, framed by various trees, cacti and palms. Many an hour could be spent sun bathing, swimming and in the evening star gazing.

The owner is worth a mention, the lovely old lady was charming and could not do more to make sure we had everything we needed to enjoy our stay.

What to see and Do:
On our holiday we went snorkelling in Logas, did a Jeep Safari, horse riding, boat rides, visit the markets and during August there are lots of local festivals. Do not let Kuzuri’s relaxing pace fool you, you can have a very ‘see and do’ holiday if you wish too. There is lots of information that can be found in the guides provided by the owner detailing things to do, food and wine, history, golf etc.
Local amenities including 3 supermarkets, banks, chemists etc are within 5minutes drive.

Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend to a friend.

Room Tip: Domasco cottage is the besgt
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We have just returned from a week at Kazuri and thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful setting of the cottages. The owner was very welcoming and could not do enough for us. The cottage - Lemon Cottage - was very pretty but small , it had everything we required including a barbeque which we used often. A car is essential as it is a little off the beaten track. Only ten minutes approx. to both Loule and Villamoura. We enjoyed lying by the lovely pool in the late afternoon. We would be happy to return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Nevis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We have had a very pleasant stay at the Almond house lodge in the grounds of Kazuri Garden cottages, the accomodation was well equipped and comfortable and was surrounded by beautiful garden well stocked with a variety of fruit trees and flowers.
The hosts Sherri and Peter made us feel very welcome and made a special effort to throw a suprise birthday party for our daughter who turned five years old during our stay.
We will definatly be booking to come back in the summer this year to enjoy the nearby beaches and attractions.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

It is a real treat when you step into Kazuri, from the heat of the lane. There's a good balance of shady and sunny spots created by thoughtful planting.
The pool is delightful, surrouded by vibrant,fragrant shrubs.
The cottage has a good private terrace with a productive lemon tree and bougainvillae arbour. It is comfortable and peaceful.
It's a good place to unwind with a book, but is close to the coast if you want more activity.
We will certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

A beautiful place but abhorrant treatment of children by the co-owner/ resident who obviously would prefer them to be seen and not heard. Parents beware, he resides at the bottom of the garden and will not think twice about shouting in an appalling, agressive manner to the point of terrorising very young children- turning on me when I interjected in their defence. I would not dream of recommending kazuri to anyone with children and the owners should think twice before accepting payments from families if they do not want children to enjoy the facilities provided. This gentleman's treatment of children was unacceptable, caused a great deal of tension and distress and spoiled what should have been an ideal, interesting and safe environment for young children on holiday.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Almond House at Kazuri garden cottages. The setting is tranquil and private thanks to the beautiful gardens and the house is well equipped, spacious and nicely decorated. We were warmly welcomed on our arrival by the owner who was able to give us plenty tips to ensure our stay was enjoyable. Due to the limited number of restaurants within walking distance we made good use of our barbeque. A car is certainly essential in order to visit the several pretty towns and numerous beaches in the area. We would certainly recommend Kazuri to others and only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kazuri Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kazuri Garden Cottages

Address: Loule 8100, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Loule
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Loule
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Kazuri Garden Cottages Loule, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kazuri Garden Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.