We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip advisor find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante O Lavrador

Restaurante O Lavrador
Atalaia, Loule 8100 - 065, Portugal
962471454
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 81 Restaurants in Loule
Price range: $21 - $28
Cuisines: Portuguese
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
manchester
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A trip advisor find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Found it on trip advisor and decided to visit,we'll worth the visit the cover at 2.50 euro is well worth the money ( normally do not bother) followed this by the best fish cataplana we have ever had which at 26 euro for 2 was very good value.This restaurant is 500 metres up the road from the excellent Birds Nest restaurant with these 2 you will have the best of English / French and Portuguese cuisine

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Even better than the first time round.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Went back to this wonderful restaurant tucked up on the Algarvian hills. This experience was even better than the 1st time round. Excellent service, brilliant traditional Portuguese cuisine and such great value. If you are looking for a real authentic Portuguese restaurant with cuisine to compliment, do try this little gem. We will most certainly not leave it as long to return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

very very clean, food cooked to a very high standard. Friendly people. A lot better than expected. Not very well known was a good discovery for us. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“lovely discobery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

unfortunately only found this place on our last day. Otherwise we would have visited virtually every day of our stay. It is a family run business which seems scrupulously clean and an excellent authentic decor. The proprietor went to great lengths to ensure our experience was a pleasant one. The food is locally sourced and excellently cooked.So reasonable for such a lovely restaurant our lunch was just over 30 euros including a carafe of excellent house white! Will make a point of visiting next time we are in the Algarve

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Authentic experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

After two weeks in Portugal we found this restaurante on our last day whilst out walking. It was great to enjoy an authentic rural Portuguese meal in lovely surroundings. The waiter took pains to tell us where all the ingredients had come from. We had local cheeses, meats and carrots in garlic to start followed by wild boar with vegetables which are a rare ingredient in Portuguese restaurants. We finished with a superb almond, fig and carob cake representing local foodstuffs. All this was washed down with a good bottle of local Rosé. For just over 40 euros it was good value, a good experience and one we'd recommend you to try.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante O Lavrador also viewed

 
Loule, Faro District
Loule, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante O Lavrador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante O Lavrador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.