We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place but avoid the clubhouse” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boavista Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Boavista Golf Resort to your Saves list
Boavista Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Quinta da Boavista SA, Lagos 8601-901, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Lagos
Bath
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A nice place but avoid the clubhouse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We stayed in a villa at boavista and really enjoyed our stay, the facilities are excellent and Lagos is by far the nicest place on the algarve. The only downside was the clubhouse resturaunt where the food was of poor quality and overpriced, we paid 9 euro for a 'clubhouse burger' which consisted of only a deep-fried cheap burger, a hash brown and a fried egg. When we complained the staff were very rude and refused to change our meal.

The facilities are lovely, but give the clubhouse a wide berth.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    31
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
45
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

I stayed at Boavista with my family and it was great! My kids like to play golf and my wife loves a SPA. Boavista has both! We arrived on a Saturday, on Sunday the kids had a free golf lesson in their kids golf clinic.Very Good.
I played in the afternoon with the boys and as it was getting darker a marshall showed up and gave as a lift back to the clubhouse.
I recommend Boavista to anyone wanting to go out to Portugal and have a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Having been on holiday for the past 10 years and on most occasions travelling twice a year we are well versed in most destinations. Quinta do Lago, Vale do Lobo, Villamoura and Albueferia are by better than here and if you are planning on playing golf be prepared for the Gestapo style marshals and the storm trooper security guards. In addition to that you have the typical "blue rinse" retired l'Anglais who think they have the right to chastise anyone under 60 for playing on their course. I am a single figure golfer with 2 small boys of 8 and 6 who attend private school and have just started playing golf and taking lessons. The treatment that the vigilantes doled out to myself and my family and well as the treatment received by the blue rinse brigade made our stay uncomfortable and stressful. Do not stay here if you value your freedom and rights as a human being. For instance do not attempt to play the course without a pitch repairer even if your 8 years old you will be sent back to the club house to buy one, do not pay for the twilight round and expect to play 18 holes. The course closes at 8pm in August even in broad daylight and the Gestapo (marshals) drive around the course to force you to stop your game in perfect conditions. Don’t allow your 6 year old son to sit on your knee whilst on the buggy because within1 minute on of the many marshals will be right behind you to stop this illegal practice and of course don’t your children to walk on a green without you because you will be heckled by the blue rinse mod with calls of "get off" "get off" this is not a place for children even though dad is 10 paces away, And one last thought whatever you do not fall into the trap of walking to your accommodation via the buggy path at the side of the course because you will be met with "this course if not meant for walking on" I kid you not. Please please go to either Alvor at stay / play at Alto or better still go 10 minutes down the road and stay / play at Parc de Forista 100% better. Did I mention the dog kennels on the borders of the complex with dogs barking all day and night, of the freezing indoor cold pool and don’t be mislead by the football pitch as part of the facilities. The guy who runs the curses only does so if he has 10 or more kids and if you want to use the football court you will be asked to pay £50 per hour. What are you supposed to do knock on 10 doors to get 10 kids to come and play? Don’t do it do not stay here if you have any sense.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

I must stress that the resort and amenities are first class, however if staying around the Fairview Village complex and have use of this pool, be aware that during the month of August, an anuual pilgrimage of owners and their hoards of children descend, getting up in the early hours of the morning to reserve sunbeds in true German style and generally oblivious to the relaxation and tranquility any other person who has worked hard all year to enjoy, they travel everywhere on mass and enjoy a daily ritual of disrupting the whole pool area by skimming balls across the whole pool area and having total disregard for other holiday makers.
I must stress that the Lakeside complex and pool area is completley different and is completely relaxing and enjoyed by all. As is Fairview outside the dreaded month of August.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enniskillen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

We have just returned from 10 night holiday in a 4 bedroom detached villa in the Lakeside area of this resort.The villa was superb it had every gadget that you would want at home and the owners had left alot of holiday toys for the kids.We also were here with my mother and her husband.This house was big enough for us all and with sky tv nobody missed home.The pool was heated and great with no mad dash for sunbeds.Both my partner and my mothers husband with our 11 year old son played golf and they were well impressed with golf course but don't forget golf shoes or you will not be allowed to play.A car is a must have for his resort otherwise you will be prett much isolated.There are two towns nearby which both have good supermarkets and fantastic beaches.It can also get quite windy but in the summer heat it is welcome! Lagos has also loads of restaurants with great choice of food we never had bad meal whilst we were here and we tried Indian,Piri Piri and of course steak.The golf club on resort has a super menu with 15 percent discount for resort guests.We had 2 great days out at slide & splash water park and aqualand. All this was a great choice and we would go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, united kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

In every way this resort is perfect, wether you are a golfer or not, a truly 5 star resort.
From the layout to the privacy this is the place to stay, great pools and facilities and good restaurants and bars.
You will need a car as Lagos town centre is 2.5 miles away, it is walkable but will take a fit person 25 minutes. The nearest beach is Praia Da Luz, although we prefered Porto Da Mos which is a ten minute drive away.
Every where in Lagos has free parking and there is plenty of space. The apartments are second to none for everything from furniture to equipment, everything you need is there, it's home from home with air con in all rooms, tv's, stereos, dvd players, safes, masses of storage space and a fully equiped kitchen.
If you are a golfer or play tennis or the kids play football, the ammenities are there for you.
It's also a great base for exploring the Algarve.
If you hire a car, make sure you have insurance that covers the wheels and tyres as they love to check them over and hit you with a bill for marks and scrapes! Beware!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

We stayed here in July 2009 and we had a brilliant time. We hired our apartment via Owners Direct and it was beautiful with two large balconies. We found the Algarve very windy especially at night but apart from that we really liked it. If you stay here then you definitely need a car as the nearest beaches and shops are a short drive away. The resort is easy to find and close to Lagos and Praia da Luz. Lagos is very busy with plenty of shops and nightlife. Praia da Luz is quiet and small with a handful of really nice restaurants. Boavista is well maintained with daily maid service and a reception desk. The only reason that I didnt mark this as a 5 is because the Duty Manager was rude to us but everyone else was lovely. The communal pool was huge and we would definitely recommend this place for families and couples.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boavista Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boavista Golf Resort

Address: Quinta da Boavista SA, Lagos 8601-901, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#7 Family Hotel in Lagos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Boavista Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Boavista Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boavista Golf Hotel Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boavista Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.