We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Club Apartments II D Joao I Block

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Marina Club Apartments II D Joao I Block to your Saves list
Marina Club Apartments II D Joao I Block
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lote 19, Lagos 8600-780, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Lovely apartment, spacious and modern. Spotless and cleaned every day. Lovely toiletries also replaced each day. Friendly staff and lovely pool area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

hotel with all the amenities at a reasonable price. Clean well appointed rooms with a long distance view of the ocean. Patrons were multicultural and interesting. Everyone we met was friendly and helpful. Laundry available for a modest fee or do it yourself for even cheaper. Apartments features kitchenette and comfy sitting area. High speed internet only available in certain parts of the buildings.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

Stayed a week B&B at the Marina Club II from 24/8/08. Booked a Studio Apartment (C204) at the last minute. Unfortunately had to pay 'top dollar' for the stay. The room was very nice, modern, clean, spacious. Small kitchen area, with fridge (handy for beers, chocolate). Didn't cook anything but had a carryout one night, so plates etc. were handy. Air Con. seemed a bit loud at night, but otherwise can't really fault the accommodation. We had a great view across the pool area towards the marina. The pool area was nice, but it needed some general maintenance. Some of the block paving was uneven, a few weeds, leaves from trees allowed to gather around the sun lougers and in the pool. Some litter around the pool area and even in the pool on one occasion not collected on a daily basis. Generally the pool area was good, but a little extra effort would make the difference. The buffet breakfast area was nice, but the choice was a bit limited. Sufficient to get you going in the morning. The Marina Club II is very central and close to the old town. There are some nice restaurants closeby around the marina. I would consider going back to the Marina Club II, but would probably go room only next time. Comments passed to the Marina Club.

  • Liked — New build with modern furnishings.
  • Disliked — General maintenance around pool area.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

this hotel is amazing, very modern, bar, food, service, area, rooms, pool, everything 5 star definatly.

  • Liked — The area its a very cosmopolitan area
  • Disliked — The beach is a bit away you could walk but its not really close
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in August having booked through wshtravel. Arriving at the hotel on first impressions we were struck by all the building going on around the hotel. Not the prettiest sight! However on entering the hotel the whole world changed. The hotel is build at the Marina, with hundred of yachts docked in the harbour. There are a number of resteraunts and snack bars in the area immediately outside and also night time entertainment ( mainly solo guitar palyers/singers). Well worth a visit.
The room we stayed in was a two bed apt with a pool view. It was very large and the best way to describe it was very modern while being minimalistic in furniture. The kitchen was well equiped with everything provided - kettle, toaster etc. The only thing was surprising - for all the cooking utensils provided the cooker just consisted of 2 rings, no oven. However that was not an issue for us as we ate out most of the time. The bedrooms were large, one with an en suite which had a very powerful shower. Towels were changed every day. Small toileteries were provided. The second bathroom was in the hall and was also very well designed. The sittingroom was very big ( again minimalistic) The flat screen tv had sky news bbc 1 , lots of cartoon channels but these were mostly in portugese.
The balcony had tables and chairs and two sun loungers. Perfect for catching some evening sun. We were on the ground floor and had steps leading down directly to the pool ( ok for families with teenagers but not suitable for younger children)The rooms were cleaned every day and the hotel was kept spotless.
The pool was a large kidney shaped pool with an island in the middle. As far as i could see there was no life guard on duty.
Reserving of sunbeds was not allowed and more than once during our stay I saw towels being removed by staff from unocupied sunbeds! As a rule there was no big rush to get sunbeds early and generally sunbeds were always available.
If you are staying in Lagos this hotel is definately worth the money.
lagos itself has two sides to it. There is the marina area where the hotel is and across the river over a footbridge which opens to let the yachts up is the old town with all its narrow cobbled streets. restaurants and quaint shops. The square has street entertainment. The restaurants are about 1/4 cheaper than spanish restaurants and like everything some are very good, but some are disappointing. Because it was peak season queues formed outside the popular restaurnts with abour 1 hour wait.The best meal we got was in Praria De Luz (€.8.80 by taxi ifrom lagos)in a restaurant called Dukes. It was superb. Plenty of boat trips were available out of the harbour - you could even take lessons in sailing. Also a train runs all around lagos ( for €.2.50 )which is good value for approx 3/4 of an hour.
We enjoyed our stay in the Marina Club and Lagos and we will return maybe not next year ,but not too far in the distant future.


  • Liked — The proximity to everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

The pool-Marina facing apartments in the newest block are really nice, great size for a studio and all mod cons and nice design features. Air con is great and very efficient.

As other reviewers mentioned, the place does not have a lot of personality but it is kept spotless and staff are very nice.

Pool very nice but with it being July there are obviously lots of children about.

Location is perfect for wondering into Lagos, which does have some great restaurants. Our favorites-

Estrela Del Mar - Above Market - Amazing fish
Nectar Wine Bar for fab wine and quality tapas (inc nice curries)
D´Henrique
Lemon Grass Thai (owned by English but was good Thai cooking)
Os Lamberto - Outside walls Rue Do Compromisso Maritimo Amazing Seafood Rice on Sunday luch & a real locals place (1 portion of rice for 2 is ample=

We did not have a good meal at Artista - very bland.

Anyway enjoy Lagos!

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2006

Have just returned from a fantastic week in Lagos, staying at the Marina Club Apartments. What can i say it, has been one of the most relaxing breaks i've ever taken. The apartments are all brand new and modern, with good sized balcony (pool views recommended), lovely bathrooms with a good sized bath tub to have a proper relaxing soak. We stayed in for 2 nights enjoying some food and wine on the balcony. The apartments are right by the marina which is great for sitting a looking at the luxury yatchs. There are a few bars and resturants here where everyone is so friendly and welcoming. The main part of town is a very pleasant 15 minute walk away.

We didnt stray to far from the apartments over the week, spending a few days on both the local beaches, or lazing by the pool.

I would higly recommend a visit here. Ten out of Ten.

  • Liked — Brand new
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a pool view
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Club Apartments II D Joao I Block? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Club Apartments II D Joao I Block

Address: Lote 19, Lagos 8600-780, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Club Apartments II D Joao I Block 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Marina Club Apartments II D Joao I Block reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Club Apartments Ii d Joao i Block Hotel Lagos
Marina Hotel Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Club Apartments II D Joao I Block, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.