We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful guesthouse with unbelievable breakfasts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa da Moura

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casa da Moura to your Saves list
Casa da Moura
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Cardeal Neto, 10, Lagos 8600-537, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delightful guesthouse with unbelievable breakfasts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Casa da Moura was great value - a charming guesthouse in Moroccan style in a convenient location in Lagos' old town (just down the road from the excellent burger cafe Nah Nah Bar - yum) with lovely, gentle service. We loved being able to sit on our sunny balcony and look down into the pool (it was a bit cold to swim). The highlight of each day was breakfast on the sunny terrace upstairs. A cavalcade of deliciousness was on offer to fuel us for each day's exploration: fabulous fresh fruit, loads of cheese, more jams and spreads than I could count - even 2 different cakes! A great place to be based in Lagos.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    35
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
85
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Casa de Moura is hidden away on a street in the old town. We were welcomed by friendly, helpful staff who gave some great recommendations on local places to eat. The room was clean and well decorated, with a fridge and kitchen sink. Loved the Moroccan feel to the whole place. Beautiful courtyard and small pool to relax in the sun - very relaxing. Great breakfast on the top floor overlooking the town and view of the old city walls and across to the sea. Easy parking at the end of the road.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Fantastic 3 night stay recently, great little apartments, spotlessly clean,great ambience and charector.
Fantastic views from the roof terrace,and a great breakfast.
Easy to walk to town ,beaches and bars,
Would stay again and have already recommended to freinds.
From the outside you would not know it was there,perfectly placed within the old city walls,very quiet area.

Room Tip: Ask for a apartment at the back of the hotel,1st floor has great balconys,or ground floor is pool si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a quiet respite from the bustle of the city center of Lagos. A convenient 5-minute walk from dining, shopping and attractions, this Moorish-themed hotel is quaint (in a good way!), spacious (our room was more like an apartment, with kitchenette and a separate bedroom), and reasonably priced.

Breakfast is included and is as good as any we've had anywhere. The combination of great views of the old Moorish walls, the sea breeze, the convenient location and the value make this a sure-fire winner for romance, families or short stays.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a beautiful little b&b tucked away in the old town of Lagos within easy walking distance of the centre .My room was a small apartment with cooking facilities & a kettle, which was most welcome for my English cup of tea! It had a separate sitting area with a T.V. Breakfast was amazing, it catered for any requirement & even offered a cooked breakfast too. Decor in all the rooms was delightful, this would be my first choice if I went back to Lagos.

Room Tip: I had a room at the front which faced onto the street & was sometimes a bit noisy, but nothing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

A beautiful Portuguese town house, located within the walls in this charming town, a quiet retreat yet readily available to all amenities in the town centre and beach. It is slightly uphill, and there were so many ways you could take to get down into the centre. The rooms were spacious and cleaned everyday with fresh towels, rooms well equipped, with tv, kettle, 2 bottles of water was left for us, as well as a small basket of fruit, I asked if they had an iron if I needed one, and without asking it was brought to our room and left there for the duration of our stay. I asked also to borrow 3 towels for the beach, this was done without any bother at all. We had a room to the first floor to the back of the hotel with a sunny balcony, quiet, overlooking the pool, with sun all afternoon and early evening. The breakfast was fab, beautiful setting on the tented ceiling roof terrace with views over the town, fresh fruit inc bowls of strawberries, mango, pineapples, melon, grapes, oranges, plus fresh oranges for making juice, cornflakes etc, tea, coffee, hot choc, could make yourself, numerous cheeses, warm home made breadrolls, choice of eggs, with bacon etc, sliced ham, beautiful pastries, set you up for the day and was served from 8.30 till 11.
The two girls who work there were excellent, cooked breakfast, done laundry, ran the reception, (not manned all the time) so if you have anything to ask, best to do this during or around breakfast time. Luis was fab, very helpful, and we used his excellent service of collecting us from airport and return, he was there prompt, even though our flight had landed 40mins early. He was friendly and although I had sent him numerous emails before arriving he answered everyone, nothing was a bother, we would use him again and stay again at Case da Moura. The only disadvantage was the stairs were not well lit which was a little awkward for my mum who is in her 70's fine for us, but she had to be careful. Great shower plenty of hot water.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back seem quieter, although the small road to the front will not be a busy road. We lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I am not easily convinced to give a 5 star rating but this ticks all the boxes if you want a place of quiet, beauty and very very special interior. The design of the place is beautiful as was the poo l(sadly in the middle of february we could not take a dip) :(
The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had in a hotel as everything was fresh and super tasty.
We left the car at the small square at the hotel and everything went fine.
The only this is that they do not have someone at the reception all the time and if you are arriving late you need to call a number on the door so make sure you have enough credit to do that :) However, the service was otherwise very friendly.
Overall: nothing I disliked and highly recommended
P.S in February the prices were cheap but I can imagine in high season it could get expensive especially for the large apartment that we had.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.5 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#24 of 49 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,564 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carvi Hotel Lagos
Carvi Hotel Lagos
#23 of 49 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 49 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
0.7 mi away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#2 of 49 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
1.9 mi away
Canavial Apartments
Canavial Apartments
#9 of 49 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa da Moura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa da Moura

Address: Rua Cardeal Neto, 10, Lagos 8600-537, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
#15 Family Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa da Moura 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a historic manor in Lagos, these apartments are a 10-minute walk from a sandy beach. The complex has an outdoor pool with sun-lounger terrace and offers air-conditioned accommodation with balconies and panoramic views.Casa da Moura apartments feature terracotta floors, woven rugs and Moroccan décor. They include a living area with a sofa and satellite TV and a kitchenette with cupboards for storage.In the morning, guests can enjoy breakfast in the courtyard or on the rooftop terrace. Offering a wide range of quality products with part of the offer being alternated every second day.Several restaurants serving local cuisine are situated less than 2 km away.Guests can benefit from the laundry and ironing services. A car hire service is available and free Wi-Fi is provided throughout the property.Casa da Moura is a 5-minute walk from the Church of Saint Anthony and is 500 meters from Meia Praia Beach Lagoon. Free public parking is possible on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa da Moura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Da Moura Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa da Moura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.