We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place, would highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa da Moura

Save Saved
You added Casa da Moura to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa da Moura
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Cardeal Neto, 10, Lagos 8600-537, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 54 hotels in Lagos
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place, would highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Casa de Moura is hidden away on a street in the old town. We were welcomed by friendly, helpful staff who gave some great recommendations on local places to eat. The room was clean and well decorated, with a fridge and kitchen sink. Loved the Moroccan feel to the whole place. Beautiful courtyard and small pool to relax in the sun - very relaxing. Great breakfast on the top floor overlooking the town and view of the old city walls and across to the sea. Easy parking at the end of the road.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    27
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
70
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Fantastic 3 night stay recently, great little apartments, spotlessly clean,great ambience and charector.
Fantastic views from the roof terrace,and a great breakfast.
Easy to walk to town ,beaches and bars,
Would stay again and have already recommended to freinds.
From the outside you would not know it was there,perfectly placed within the old city walls,very quiet area.

Room Tip: Ask for a apartment at the back of the hotel,1st floor has great balconys,or ground floor is pool si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a quiet respite from the bustle of the city center of Lagos. A convenient 5-minute walk from dining, shopping and attractions, this Moorish-themed hotel is quaint (in a good way!), spacious (our room was more like an apartment, with kitchenette and a separate bedroom), and reasonably priced.

Breakfast is included and is as good as any we've had anywhere. The combination of great views of the old Moorish walls, the sea breeze, the convenient location and the value make this a sure-fire winner for romance, families or short stays.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a beautiful little b&b tucked away in the old town of Lagos within easy walking distance of the centre .My room was a small apartment with cooking facilities & a kettle, which was most welcome for my English cup of tea! It had a separate sitting area with a T.V. Breakfast was amazing, it catered for any requirement & even offered a cooked breakfast too. Decor in all the rooms was delightful, this would be my first choice if I went back to Lagos.

Room Tip: I had a room at the front which faced onto the street & was sometimes a bit noisy, but nothing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

A beautiful Portuguese town house, located within the walls in this charming town, a quiet retreat yet readily available to all amenities in the town centre and beach. It is slightly uphill, and there were so many ways you could take to get down into the centre. The rooms were spacious and cleaned everyday with fresh towels, rooms well equipped, with tv, kettle, 2 bottles of water was left for us, as well as a small basket of fruit, I asked if they had an iron if I needed one, and without asking it was brought to our room and left there for the duration of our stay. I asked also to borrow 3 towels for the beach, this was done without any bother at all. We had a room to the first floor to the back of the hotel with a sunny balcony, quiet, overlooking the pool, with sun all afternoon and early evening. The breakfast was fab, beautiful setting on the tented ceiling roof terrace with views over the town, fresh fruit inc bowls of strawberries, mango, pineapples, melon, grapes, oranges, plus fresh oranges for making juice, cornflakes etc, tea, coffee, hot choc, could make yourself, numerous cheeses, warm home made breadrolls, choice of eggs, with bacon etc, sliced ham, beautiful pastries, set you up for the day and was served from 8.30 till 11.
The two girls who work there were excellent, cooked breakfast, done laundry, ran the reception, (not manned all the time) so if you have anything to ask, best to do this during or around breakfast time. Luis was fab, very helpful, and we used his excellent service of collecting us from airport and return, he was there prompt, even though our flight had landed 40mins early. He was friendly and although I had sent him numerous emails before arriving he answered everyone, nothing was a bother, we would use him again and stay again at Case da Moura. The only disadvantage was the stairs were not well lit which was a little awkward for my mum who is in her 70's fine for us, but she had to be careful. Great shower plenty of hot water.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back seem quieter, although the small road to the front will not be a busy road. We lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I am not easily convinced to give a 5 star rating but this ticks all the boxes if you want a place of quiet, beauty and very very special interior. The design of the place is beautiful as was the poo l(sadly in the middle of february we could not take a dip) :(
The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had in a hotel as everything was fresh and super tasty.
We left the car at the small square at the hotel and everything went fine.
The only this is that they do not have someone at the reception all the time and if you are arriving late you need to call a number on the door so make sure you have enough credit to do that :) However, the service was otherwise very friendly.
Overall: nothing I disliked and highly recommended
P.S in February the prices were cheap but I can imagine in high season it could get expensive especially for the large apartment that we had.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

It's quite a while since we stayed there, in November 2006, we selected by a trawl through the internet. However we now have our own apartment and are in Lagos several times a year, and we frequently walk through the area where Casa da Moura is situated, the last time during a visit in September 2012, which is the date of travel we have selected for this review. However readers should be aware that while we can rate the location as of September 2012, our other ratings refer to our stay there in 2006.

The location is in the old part of town, near the highest point, and from the rooftop terrace the views are stunning. We had a pleasantly furnished suite consisting of a bedroom and living room, somewhat bizarrely with a window opening directly on to the deep end of the swimming pool without a walkway around it. There seemed to be only one member of staff who did everything, she was polite and efficient, our suite was well kept and the breakfasts she provided were excellent.

When we made the booking it was indicated there was parking. However this turned out to be an open unsecured public parking area in the adjoining square. The hubcaps of our hired car were stolen there, and when we returned it at the airport the hire company charged us €200 as a result. When I emailed the owner of Casa da Moura he expressed regret, said he had reported it to the police, but regretted there was nothing he could do. Given that his website stated there was car parking I felt he might at least have offered to share the cost with me. This rather spoiled our experience of the trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa da Moura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa da Moura

Address: Rua Cardeal Neto, 10, Lagos 8600-537, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa da Moura 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a historic manor in Lagos, these apartments are a 10-minute walk from a sandy beach. The complex has an outdoor pool with sun-lounger terrace and offers air-conditioned accommodation with balconies and panoramic views.Casa da Moura apartments feature terracotta floors, woven rugs and Moroccan décor. They include a living area with a sofa and satellite TV and a kitchenette with cupboards for storage.In the morning, guests can enjoy breakfast in the courtyard or on the rooftop terrace. Offering a wide range of quality products with part of the offer being alternated every second day.Several restaurants serving local cuisine are situated less than 2 km away.Guests can benefit from the laundry and ironing services. A car hire service is available and free Wi-Fi is provided throughout the property.Casa da Moura is a 5-minute walk from the Church of Saint Anthony and is 500 meters from Meia Praia Beach Lagoon. Free public parking is possible on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa da Moura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Da Moura Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa da Moura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.