We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa da Moura

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa da Moura to your Saves list
Casa da Moura
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Cardeal Neto, 10, Lagos 8600-537, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A little oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

A great spot for spending time in the old town, easy to explore all the lanes & alleys. A super small hotel but if u can book one of the back rooms as they either open onto the small pool / patio or have a balcony looking over the same. They also get the afternoon / evening sun. Front rooms are a little dark & a bit noisy. Staff are very friendly & the breakfast is super on the roof terrace. Deffo worth a try, would suggest 3/4 days to spend time in this part of lovely Lagos .

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    31
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
76
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This hotel has a really special quality. The thing I liked the most was our room. We were expecting merely a bedroom, as with most hotels, but was presented with a what felt like a mini-Morroccan apartment! We had a living room, and kitchen area. The "feel" of the place was very charming and evocative.
I also enjoyed breakfast at this hotel. It is served on the roof terrace and offers a wide selection of cakes, cheeses, fruit, juices, cold meats, pastries, as well as a hot breakfast menu (at no extra charge).
My husband and I spent a delightful late afternoon by the pool, after returning from the beach. Although the pool is very small, we appreciated the intimacy of the area (as well as the sangria we prepared in our en suite kitchenette!). One of the managers of the hotel gave us free almond cakes throughout our four day stay, which was simply amazing. I want to stay there again!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony, or one which opens on to the swimming pool (ours was one of the fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at Casa da Moura for six glorious days back in June. That was the last time I felt relaxed! From the start of the day to the end we commented on what a gem Casa da Moura is. The apartment was spacious and we loved the Moorish decor. Breakfast was delicious and efficient. The walk to all the hot spots (restaurants, shops, beaches, harbor) was just a few blocks. We loved Lagos and highly recommend it for it's diversity and options for activities from kayaking to cycling to just hanging out at the beach or Casa da Moura's sweet pool. This review would not be complete without extolling the virtues of the Casa da Moura team. I left a very special diamond ring in the room and they found it and Luis spent weeks and his precious time working with me via email to figure out the best way to get it mailed to the states. Luis even followed-up with me to confirm my ring had arrived. I am a service Exec and well-traveled and rarely experience such commitment to excellence and superb service like this. My heartfelt thanks and respect goes out to Luis and his awesome team at Casa da Moura.

Room Tip: pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Casa da Moura is a very quaint Morrocan style hotel. The best location if you are staying in Lagos, you can walk to everything. The breakfast served every morning is great, and the rooftop patio has great views for enjoying an evening cocktail. They go the extra mile, unfortunately we left some clothing in the closet that we needed for the rest of our trip, and they mailed them all off to us. We received them when we got to our place in Spain, it was much appreciated because we would have had to go buy some new clothes if they hadn't got there. And they didn't charge us to do it! That is good customer service!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Have booked the hotel in the middle of June to stay in the beginning of September. Just recently got an email that the hotel itself canceled my booking which was done via venere.com. Probably they provide a very good service but not in case of booking.Their booking system simply does not work (and it is really strange for such small hotel)

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed ther for two nights on the ground floor. It was located near town but on the off road where there was not so much noise and close to the public parking. breakfast was great. Interior was Moroccan style with swimming pool. Feel like being home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

This beautifully decorated hotel in the Moroccan theme was a wonderful rest for us. We had the Fez room on the first floor with a balcony overlooking the pool. The service and breakfast were great.

The location is fabulous walking distance from the old centre.

Could've stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa da Moura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa da Moura

Address: Rua Cardeal Neto, 10, Lagos 8600-537, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa da Moura 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a historic manor in Lagos, these apartments are a 10-minute walk from a sandy beach. The complex has an outdoor pool with sun-lounger terrace and offers air-conditioned accommodation with balconies and panoramic views.Casa da Moura apartments feature terracotta floors, woven rugs and Moroccan décor. They include a living area with a sofa and satellite TV and a kitchenette with cupboards for storage.In the morning, guests can enjoy breakfast in the courtyard or on the rooftop terrace. Offering a wide range of quality products with part of the offer being alternated every second day.Several restaurants serving local cuisine are situated less than 2 km away.Guests can benefit from the laundry and ironing services. A car hire service is available and free Wi-Fi is provided throughout the property.Casa da Moura is a 5-minute walk from the Church of Saint Anthony and is 500 meters from Meia Praia Beach Lagoon. Free public parking is possible on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Casa da Moura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Da Moura Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa da Moura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.