We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasic holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village

Save Saved
You added Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Costa D'Oiro, Lote 38, Lagos 8600-544, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 54 hotels in Lagos
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantasic holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed here in August a few years ago. Loved how quiet our apartment was (we stayed down the road from the main resort). We had the pool to ourselves nearly everyday. It was a quick stroll (30 seconds!) back to the main building and larger pool. Breakfast was always nice and well stocked. We enjoyed the walk into the town for dinner in the evenings and to the beaches during the day. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    55
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
67
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Quality is good. Consider apartment with kitchenette. Gives you flexibility to eat in and save money. There local bar and shop just down the road and Spar shop bit futher on into town. 20 minute walk to town but worth it for quiet location.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algarvia, Portugal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had a great week in Lagos and the hotel made our stay even more special. The apartment was large and very well appointed. We had a car so getting to the city and beach was no problem. Otherwise you need to walk, bus or taxi. Sometimes we walked into town which is mostly down hill and got a taxi back, Which was less than 5 Euro,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have just returned from spending a very relaxing and enjoyable week at this hotel. We were a party of four in two attractive, clean and spacious rooms, 1801 with separate kitchen and shaded terrace and 1816 with roomy rooftop terrace and spacious open-plan studio layout with kitchen and dining area. The 'village' appears to be spread out amongst a quiet residential area with the hub being the reception area, bar and restaurant adjacent to one of the swimming pools. We booked as bed and breakfast hotel guests and our part of the 'village' was located a short walking distance from the very nice restaurant and small bar along a quiet residential street with plenty of car parking space. We ate most nights at the restaurant and the standard of food for both breakfast and dinner was very good. We found all the staff to be extremely helpful, friendly and approachable. All areas appeared to be maintained in a spotless condition. The hotel is within walking distance of the old centre of Lagos, as well as three or four beaches / coves. Lagos has a good choice of restaurants and historical interest sites, a large marina and long, attractive promenade in front of the marina. As we visited at the end of October / start of November, Lagos was not too busy but there were still plenty of restaurants and cafes open. We explored the western Algarve, including the hilltop castle at Silves, the most westerly point in Europe at Cape St Vincent, the old town of Alvor and the small pretty resort of Praia de Luz which is a short distance from Lagos.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

not an hotel but a kind of bed and breakfast with rooms in several houses along a street; indeed rooms are nicely decorated but this is totally unsufficent to mask the weaknesses of the hotel and the price which is enormeously disproporionate to what you get;
the first room we were given was at garden level of a house 100 meter away from main buiding, humid and just in front of your bedroom window you had _8 sun beds . for guests; no privacy at all unless live with closed curtain at any time. room was not really large and bathroom rather small

we refused the room and asked to get another one; indeed at first floor with nice balcony and nicely decorated; but about 20 sqm only; but the worse and unaceptable was the bathroom; I measured; 3.6 sqm;!!! Even a motoway low cost hotel has larger bathrooms/
We stayed one night only the time to move to a decent place;
indeed it s quiet, staff is courteous and breakfast is OK; but real value is around euro 40 a night , NOT the 125 euros asked for;
in Portugal we experienced several hotels and for less than 125 euros we always got large suites with sea view and great comfort, not the tiny room and bathroom offered by costra d oiro

when we left we found alternative accomodations without any difficulty,
a suite with sea view right on beach for 90 euro and a 100 sqm appartment with sea view at 95 euro;

any more reasons needed to avoid that place??

Room Tip: rooms at garden level offer no privacy; either on streer or if on garden pool then other guest have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiSaFernandes, General Manager at Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you for your coment.

Costa D´oiro ambiance Village is not a standart hotel. We are a small family professional runned business. In our opinion to be standart in the hotel business is to sell a commodity. Usually at lower price.
We do have 67 rooms and all of them are diferent in size, decoration and location.
But they all have something in common, they all try to pass on to Guests a local touch on the decoration.
Also we bet on good and year around permanent Staff to provide the personal services that most of our Guest look for. They all "ware the T-shirt".
We also offer a local experience in our food offer, buying local products. You had the chance to try our buffet breakfast with 150 diferent products, including a selection of over 30 local delicacies.
All this itens do make our prices higher, particulary in high season ( your stay was in begining September).
We do sell the same room you booked ( Twin/double room) for 69€ a night in October and 58€ in November.
All in all we think we do offer a well balanced price/offer adjusted to the market demand.

Unfortunately this was not your opinion and we have to accept it.

Best regards

Rui de Sá Fernandes
Genarl Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed there for 5 days in a separate house with private and big teracce.
batroom, air condition, kitchen were good quality.
cleaning service was good as well.
Personnel was helpful and friendly.
Location was good for us, as it was away from noise of the downtown. we had a rented car and additionally rented a moto scooter which was great as we could park everywhere, and access any beaches within 5 minutes.
breakfast was so so but satisfactory.
I would recommend this hotel as a strong 3+ hotel.
Tim

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
242 hotel reviews
Reviews in 190 cities Reviews in 190 cities
365 helpful votes 365 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

this hotel was by far the best in our 1 week Easter 2012 trip, spacious rooms and very close to the famous Lagos rock beaches (you can walk there also a walk to Lagos city is possible - however I recommend to hire a car)

Everybody in this hotel was super motivated and had time to talk with us whenever we needed somebody. This makes your really feel special and respected as individuum - perfect for a relaxing holiday!

Rooms are nicely decorated with balcony and located in 4 or 5 villas around the main house (that's why they call it village even this isnot a isolated resort - we liked this concept) which all have own pool and different design.

Breakfast was by far the best we ever had in Portugal-many choices buffet style-outstanding!

The only thing what you should know (but hotel can't change) is that the wall construction at least in our villa is so paper thin that you can hear every word of your neighbour. Falling doors, crying Germans (soooory I'm also one) can make you wake up early or hard to sleep... bring your ear plugs!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village

Address: Rua Costa D'Oiro, Lote 38, Lagos 8600-544, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small 67 rooms & apartments Boutique hotel Costa d'Oiro Ambiance Village is located only 3 minutes’ walk from Praia D Ana and Praia do Camilo. The historic city centre of Lagos is 1 km away. The spacious guest rooms& apartments are uniquely decorated in different styles, all focusing on a Mediterranean theme. There are 4 outdoor pools, 1 covered swimming pool, massage room and free Wi-Fi. The “Restaurante do Village” offers bright, contemporary décor and a range of Portuguese dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, HostelBookers, Escapio, Venere and Otel so you can book your Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa d`Oiro Ambiance Village Hotel Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.