We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUR WORSE EXPERIENCE IN PORTUGAL” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village

Save Saved
You added Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Costa D'Oiro, Lote 38, Lagos 8600-544, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 54 hotels in Lagos
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“OUR WORSE EXPERIENCE IN PORTUGAL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

not an hotel but a kind of bed and breakfast with rooms in several houses along a street; indeed rooms are nicely decorated but this is totally unsufficent to mask the weaknesses of the hotel and the price which is enormeously disproporionate to what you get;
the first room we were given was at garden level of a house 100 meter away from main buiding, humid and just in front of your bedroom window you had _8 sun beds . for guests; no privacy at all unless live with closed curtain at any time. room was not really large and bathroom rather small

we refused the room and asked to get another one; indeed at first floor with nice balcony and nicely decorated; but about 20 sqm only; but the worse and unaceptable was the bathroom; I measured; 3.6 sqm;!!! Even a motoway low cost hotel has larger bathrooms/
We stayed one night only the time to move to a decent place;
indeed it s quiet, staff is courteous and breakfast is OK; but real value is around euro 40 a night , NOT the 125 euros asked for;
in Portugal we experienced several hotels and for less than 125 euros we always got large suites with sea view and great comfort, not the tiny room and bathroom offered by costra d oiro

when we left we found alternative accomodations without any difficulty,
a suite with sea view right on beach for 90 euro and a 100 sqm appartment with sea view at 95 euro;

any more reasons needed to avoid that place??

Room Tip: rooms at garden level offer no privacy; either on streer or if on garden pool then other guest have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiSaFernandes, General Manager at Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you for your coment.

Costa D´oiro ambiance Village is not a standart hotel. We are a small family professional runned business. In our opinion to be standart in the hotel business is to sell a commodity. Usually at lower price.
We do have 67 rooms and all of them are diferent in size, decoration and location.
But they all have something in common, they all try to pass on to Guests a local touch on the decoration.
Also we bet on good and year around permanent Staff to provide the personal services that most of our Guest look for. They all "ware the T-shirt".
We also offer a local experience in our food offer, buying local products. You had the chance to try our buffet breakfast with 150 diferent products, including a selection of over 30 local delicacies.
All this itens do make our prices higher, particulary in high season ( your stay was in begining September).
We do sell the same room you booked ( Twin/double room) for 69€ a night in October and 58€ in November.
All in all we think we do offer a well balanced price/offer adjusted to the market demand.

Unfortunately this was not your opinion and we have to accept it.

Best regards

Rui de Sá Fernandes
Genarl Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    52
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
9
68
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed there for 5 days in a separate house with private and big teracce.
batroom, air condition, kitchen were good quality.
cleaning service was good as well.
Personnel was helpful and friendly.
Location was good for us, as it was away from noise of the downtown. we had a rented car and additionally rented a moto scooter which was great as we could park everywhere, and access any beaches within 5 minutes.
breakfast was so so but satisfactory.
I would recommend this hotel as a strong 3+ hotel.
Tim

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
242 hotel reviews
Reviews in 190 cities Reviews in 190 cities
370 helpful votes 370 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

this hotel was by far the best in our 1 week Easter 2012 trip, spacious rooms and very close to the famous Lagos rock beaches (you can walk there also a walk to Lagos city is possible - however I recommend to hire a car)

Everybody in this hotel was super motivated and had time to talk with us whenever we needed somebody. This makes your really feel special and respected as individuum - perfect for a relaxing holiday!

Rooms are nicely decorated with balcony and located in 4 or 5 villas around the main house (that's why they call it village even this isnot a isolated resort - we liked this concept) which all have own pool and different design.

Breakfast was by far the best we ever had in Portugal-many choices buffet style-outstanding!

The only thing what you should know (but hotel can't change) is that the wall construction at least in our villa is so paper thin that you can hear every word of your neighbour. Falling doors, crying Germans (soooory I'm also one) can make you wake up early or hard to sleep... bring your ear plugs!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in early February and although the hotel was not busy we had exceptional service. The staff went out of their way to make our holiday wonderful. The restaurant was beautiful and the food was very good. They took evening reservations and would open for only one couple. The breakfasts were great and they always asked if there was something we wanted that they could cook or provide for us. Again the staff was very friendly. Although the hotel is a series of complexes, we never heard a sound from the others in our building. Again, even though we were the only people in our complex for the first few nights, there was a beautiful flower arrangement in the lobby. Parking was good and the hotel within walking distance of the beach and just a 10-15 minute walk from the centre of town. We had a small kitchenette in our apartment which was adequately stocked for light cooking only. The only thing I didn't like about this hotel was the lack of iron and ironing board in the suite. There were also no laundry facilities for personal use although they would do your laundry for a charge....not really practical for longer stays. We will return to this hotel if we return to the Algarve.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Stayed here for almost 2 weeks Dec - Jan. It's a '3-Star plus' (in my opinion) and NOT a traditional Hotel, but a collection of Cottage style buildings, with rooms of various sizes. Room was quite small, but adequate and kept VERY clean by pleasant staff. Shower (curtain not screen) room small again & poor lighting (for make-up / shaving), but again - clean. Not much hanging space. Breakfast was fine, with a decent buffet selection and VERY nice, helpful & friendly staff. Dinner had to be booked in advance - but in fairness it was 'off season', with not many guests. It's a good walk from the town, and not exactly in the best location, but perfectly adequate & the Staff are very good.

Room Tip: FYI : One building is a short walk up the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Stayed for a week between Xmas and New Year 2011.
The hotel is actually a collection of appartments scattered around a complex.
We paid 505 euros for 7 nights including breakfast.... Now the review:-

Location.
Situated in a quiet residential area of Lagos about 20 mins walk from the town centre.

Room
Our small room looked more like a self catering apartment with the twin bed sharing space with a cooker, a sink and various cooking utensils. Not what I would have expected from a hotel. There was a small balcony overlooking the outide pool area. No mini bar and although there was a safe, we had to pay extra if we wanted to use it. Normally these things are included in the room price! Bathroom was small but clean, although there were several cracked tiles near the toilet. The corner shower had a nylon curtain rather than a proper shower door..not impressed!

Food
The restaurant area is situated by the poolside. The buffet breakfast was excellent with lots to choose from as well as bucks fizz! No complaints on that score.
The receptionists were very helpful and efficient.
Overall the accommodation was O.K. but the bedroom wasn't up to the standard I was hoping for.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the restaurant otherwise you may have to walk a distance to get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

The hotel is actually a collection of small cottages and is located in a very quiet & residential part of Lagos. However, it is just 5mins away from the beautiful beaches of lagos.

The manager at the check in was really warm & friendly and showed us to our rooms well before the check-in time. Since we were on our honeymoon, they had kept a bottle of bubbly for us! that was really sweet. The room was very large and spacious and had its own kitchen. the hotel has two pools (we didnt use either) - one for summer & the other for winter (heated).

We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and both were very good. Everything was nice and fresh and very Portuguese.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village

Address: Rua Costa D'Oiro, Lote 38, Lagos 8600-544, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small 67 rooms & apartments Boutique hotel Costa d'Oiro Ambiance Village is located only 3 minutes’ walk from Praia D Ana and Praia do Camilo. The historic city centre of Lagos is 1 km away. The spacious guest rooms& apartments are uniquely decorated in different styles, all focusing on a Mediterranean theme. There are 4 outdoor pools, 1 covered swimming pool, massage room and free Wi-Fi. The “Restaurante do Village” offers bright, contemporary décor and a range of Portuguese dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HostelBookers, Expedia, Escapio and Venere so you can book your Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa d`Oiro Ambiance Village Hotel Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.