We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont Be Folled by Fake Reviews” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Mos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Mos to your Saves list
Vila Mos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monte Carapeto | Porto Mos, Lagos 8601-910, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in Lagos
Orlando
Level Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Dont Be Folled by Fake Reviews”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We needed a 2 bedroom apartment on or near the beach for our family trip to Southern Portugal. We found this place and of course read the reviews on this website which most said it was great. Well, it is not great at all. The area is great, the view is very good (hence the 2 stars), however, the room is old & dated, no decorations, noisy and overall poor. I tried to switch it to their fancier hotel, but they only had one bedroom and it was not much better. Staff is ok, but nothing like we are used to in decent hotels we stay. It is not a 4 star by any means, I will list the issues and then the few pluses. Biggest is the room having only a few small pillows, no decorations, no rugs, old, hard beds, the furniture is literally a Kmart plastic chairs and table, nothing in the kitchen but a small fridge that does not get cold, only one small old TV for whole 2 bedroom apartment. No WIFI in apartment. The pool is decent but has no Hot Tub, which unfortunately, it is cold here in June. The decent items are it is a nice property with a good view of the ocean and the luxury Villas that i wish i would have found before, free WIFI, a happy hours by the pool with 2 Euro beers, a small playground on property and the Apartment is actually very big with a big patio, which is what sold us to begin with. The reviews showed nice pictures, while the unit we have needs to be upgraded with better beds and pillows, a real fridge since it is a large kitchen, etc. I think you get the idea. Good Luck.

Room Tip: Noisy AC unit, so get a different place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    37
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just back from a week long stay at the Vila Mos.
Pros:
1. Good size rooms
2. Excellent housekeeping.
3. Great quality of linen and laundry.
4. Decent amenities with good garden area for children to play.

Cons:
1. Very poor attitude shown by the receptionist (I think the lady called Doris). Rude, disengaging and unhelpful.
2. Quality of breakfast ok, lack of variety, (considering you are staying for a week).
3. Location was a bit far away from the amenities, especially when you are staying in a self catering.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Our room was really lovely and absolutely huge- we booked a one bedroom apartment for two people and had a lot more space than we have done in the past in similarly sized hotels. Despite not paying for a view we had a beautiful view across the pool and down to the sea.The pool area and reception were also very nice, though the pool wasn't heated.The hotel had a tennis court which we enjoyed (5 euros) though it wasn't particularly well maintained. The room was cleaned twice in a 6 night stay which was enough for us. Wifi was available for free in reception.

However, the location was poor. The website claimed it was a 15 minute walk from Lagos centre, yet it was 35 minutes in reality. We took a taxi once which we were told would be 5euros, but cost us 9. The hotel has no shop- the nearest small shop is a 10 minute walk away. However, it is a 5/10 minute walk down to the beautiful porto mos beach, which has two restaurants (campi mar was particularly good).

We had dinner in the restaurant once and lunch in the bar once. Both were ok; nothing special but convenient.

I would stay here again if I just wanted to relax by the pool or local beach, or if I had a car. The hotel was very good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 305 was quiet and had a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

just back from vila mos lagos portugal what can i say it was fabulous, beautiful room spectacular sea views, when we arrived dora on reception was lovely a very nice lady, a bottle of wine in the room too, we ate in the restaurant a couple of times but a bit pricey, but the food was nice, room cleaned regulary, in all had a fab time would i go back oh yes

Room Tip: if you book to go here ask for room 215
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in July 2012, just looking for a basic hotel so we could explore lagos. But we ending up really enjoying the hotel! The rooms are nice and we had a beautiful view of some water and palm trees from the back yard. The food was pretty good, loved how you could see the sunset through the glass walls while eating dinner. Loved the lunch and bar in the lobby. Beautiful, Beautiful grounds. Also, loved that you could get a drink from the lobby, lie by the pool, tan and see the ocean. It's a bit of a walk from town, and from the main beach. But the hotel is worth it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Went for a week break at the end of October. The room was spacious with a beautiful view of the valley and sea. The rooms were cleaned regularly and the staff were lovely especially the young girl serving at the bar. We ate there a few times; once for breakfast which had a good variety but maybe a bit pricey. Day time menu was good but we didn't eat in the restaurant at night. We didn't use the pool due to the weather. It rained a bit but most of the time it was warm enough for shorts and t-shirt. It is a bit of a walk into the old town; about half an hour. The old town is lovely and plenty of great places to eat for reasonable prices. The cliffs by the hotel give you a beautiful view if you like to walk. We rented a car from the hotel which made it really easy as they dropped it in the hotel and picked it up from there as well. Overall it was a lovely break and a great hotel. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just returned from 6 day break at Vila Mos Sept 2012. It's difficult to fault this hotel. Lovely, very clean and large apartment (a lounge/kitchen, bathroom and bedroom) with loads of space and I think every room had a sea view. 4 stars about right. Most staff were friendly and helpful, but perhaps could have been a little happier if we were being overly critical. Direct path to a "blue flag" beach, about 150-200 metres. About 1-2km to the old town, just about walk-able, taxi is 5 minutes (3.55 euro). Loads of lovely restaurants to choose from, reasonably priced and excellent quality. Coastline is awesome, boat trip to see this definitely VFM. Many other beaches to choose from.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#24 of 48 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,447 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carvi Hotel Lagos
Carvi Hotel Lagos
#22 of 48 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#2 of 48 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vilabranca Apartments
2.1 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#10 of 48 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Mos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Mos

Address: Estrada Monte Carapeto | Porto Mos, Lagos 8601-910, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Mos 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 350 meters from the magnificent beach of Porto de Mos, Sunplace Vila Mos is a hotel with an excellent range of holiday apartments in Lagos. Sunplace Vila Mos is surrounded by beautiful gardens, providing a perfect communion between sea and nature. If you like quiet environments where you can really relax, then it is guaranteed that you will love the atmosphere provided here. A short walk away, the beach of Porto de Mos has everything to make visitors fall in love with it. The long beach of fine golden sand, the caves that appear when the tide is low and the flora that sprinkles the landscape, make this a truly unforgettable beach. For many, this is in fact the best beach in the whole of the Algarve. And it's easy to see why! If you are looking for holiday apartments in Porto de Mos, Sunplace Vila Mos is the right choice. This holiday resort offers a wide range of apartments, covering several types of accommodation. If you need a spacious and comfortable apartment for a family holiday in Lagos, you will appreciate the fantastic 3 bedroom apartments (T3) at Sunplace Vila Mos. A large family needs enough room to make the most of their holidays and that is what these apartments offer. In Sunplace Vila Mos nothing was left to chance and guests can expect a wide range of amenities to ensure a dream holiday. Because a good holiday is not just spent on the beach, Sunplace Vila Mos offers a tempting pool surrounded by palm trees. Your well-being was not forgotten and the resort features a fantastic Health Club so the guests can reinvigorate the body during the course of their stay. If tennis is one of your favourite sports, Sunplace Vila Mos has great tennis courts where you can practice and perfect your game. If you need help finding other activities to your liking, you can seek the assistance of specialised personnel at the front desk. Among other activities, you can book excursions, bicycles, boat trips, horse riding, etc.. At the Sunplace Vila Mos you will find the holiday apartment in the Algarve that you always dreamed of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Vila Mos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Mos Lagos
Vila Mos Hotel Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Mos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.