We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything you need” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marina Sao Roque

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marina Sao Roque to your Saves list
Hotel Marina Sao Roque
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada da Meia Praia, Lagos 8600-315, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Lagos
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“everything you need”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We are a newly married couple who enjoy quiet hotels that are close to the main attractions. We booked this hotel last minute and the price was very reasonable, and it gave us exactly what we were after. Upon arrival we were upgraded to the 'quiet' side of the hotel, but honestly the road the hotel is on is not very busy at night so I can't imagine it being overly loud. All the staff look after you very well and are so friendly. The barman knows his drinks well and will make you anything you want. The cleaners are ver considerate and clean at a time that suits you. The breakfast has got really amazing choice- I ate something different everyday! As there isn't any kids club and the hotel is quite small, we nearly alwyas had the pool to ourselves on the days we did decide to stay in. But there's so much to do nearby- the Marina is only 5 minutes away the beach 10 minutes and the old town centre only 15 minutes walk. There's a very handy supermarket 100m down the road too which does cheap but yummy chicken baguettes, meaning we didn't have to pay too much for lunch each day. We loved our holiday and would happily stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Our room faced the pool and was very quiet with a large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    26
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
6
34
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

what a cute hotel!! perfect for anyone wanting to chill. I stayed with my friend, and for two girls wanting to chill it was spot on. the location is a 5 minute-ish walk to the beach, 5 minute walk to the supermarket and a couple of shops, cafes and gelado stand! and 5 minutes more away is the main town center for all the bars, restaurants, shops and entertainment. this was too perfect not one slip up. The staff make you feel like you're the only guests there in that they really make you feel welcome and looks after you (not in a weird though! ha) strongly recommend this place. Not very close to the airport but we just a cheap 'resorthoppa' shuttle to and from and so this wasn't a big deal at all.

Room Tip: cute views all round, we had a front view with a balcony so could people watch! other rooms has a cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We booked a last minute escape to the sun and could not have been happier to have stayed at this lovely hotel. We had a lovely room that overlooked the pool, and everything we needed for a few lazy days by the beach. Breakfast selection was plentiful and we had enough to keep us going all morning. The one thing that really made our stay was the warmth and hospitality from Susana and her family, they couldn't do enough for us - it was my birthday whilst I was there and I was shocked and touched to find a beautiful sunflower in my room when I returned that day. Location was great, we hired bikes which I thoroughly recommend to cycle 5 mins to the town and back, and it's equidistant to the beach and old town where we tended to stay the whole time. If you're looking for a hotel that has great hospitality, clean and practical rooms in a convenient location, then I can't fault the Marina Sao Roque.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Just back from a week in Lagos where we stayed at this great little hotel - perfect for those on a budget as we are this year (saving for a wedding!)

The service is excellent from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave and the team are very friendly and genuinely keen to help. The rooms are adequately equipped and the breakfast is varied.

Whilst the hotel is on a fairly busy road the pool at the back is quite peaceful and we often found we had it to ourselves.

In terms of location the hotel is just a short walk ( 5 mins) from the excellent marina with its bars and restaurants and lovely sunsets over the boats. The bustling town centre of Lagos is just a 10-15 min walk away as is the superb beach (recommend Linda's Beach Bar during the day!)

In a nutshell, a lovely little budget hotel in a fantastic location. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it and will return again ourselves one day! :)

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I walked in to this lovely quiet hotel, was welcomed by Suzannah, charming lady and so professional by the way she checked me in...she was very sweet. The room was great, adult sized bath, plenty of hot water, television was not needed, but only had 4 portugese channels. Balcony was overlooking public area walkway, so no privacy, but the pool area was nice for 2 hours of sunbathing. The breakfast was amazing, so many choices of cereals! Rolls, meats etc.. Coffee was horrible, so so sweet when it comes out of the machine..too sweet. And the same with the Hot Chocolate. There was a musty smell in the public areas which I did not like, did not smell fresh, smelt odd and old. The friendliness of the family was nice and genuine aswell as the mother and father. The Housekeeper was a sight for sore eyes, wearing a see through skirt which made me chuckle as you could see her exotic lingerie first thing in the morning!..I Had to laugh! All in all a nice one night stay, but needs to be a bit busier and few improvements like make it more lively and a little upbeat! Flatscreen TV's and more Television Channels would be a great start - and get rid of that awful musty smell in the public areas. More lighting needed in the public areas, it is very dark.. Thank you for my stay!

Room Tip: Go higher than floor one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel is a family run business and all the staff speak good English. The rooms are clean and adequately equipped, some have balconies and some are facing quite a busy road. We have been to Lagos many times self catering but would recommend this hotel. The breakfast is fresh each morning and is varied and tasty. The welcome on your return from your day out is always friendly and Manuel, the owner, who runs the bar in the evening is somewhat of a joker. There is a small quiet pool at the rear of the hotel away from the road.
A great time was had by the 4 of us and we hope to return next year.
Very well, Very well.

Room Tip: Try get a room with a rear balcony, the cafe/bar next door, the Paris Bar is good value and cheap dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East midlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is an excellent budget family run hotel. The owners Manuel, Maria and their daughter Suzanne are lovely people and will do anything to help and make holidays special.
The overall location is excellent. 10 minutes from the centre of Lagos and approx. 10 minutes walk to the beach via the railway station. The grocery store is less than 5 minutes away and the café next door, which is run by Miguel is great!
We have stayed here 3 times now and every time it is better.
The roof terrace has been cleaned, there is a sunbed and table/chairs.
Wifi is now available in public spaces and computer access is free from 8,00am to 23,00hours.
There is a wide choice of USA satellite TV and one UK world news channel.
Breakfast is a plentiful buffet with a variety of cereals, juices, bread, pastries tinned fruits, yoghurts cheese and meats.
The rooms are basic but clean and welcoming and the standard of cleanliness is very good. Clean towels daily and the room always smelt fresh and clean.
We will be returning, hopefully at least twice next year.
Thoroughly recommended on a budget well worth the stay,
This is not a complaint just suggestions.
It may be a good idea to have a small fridge in the room also to upgrade the showers.
They are very powerful but dated and can flood the bathroom if not careful...

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet, (it is on a main road) Balcony on the third floor rooms at the back i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marina Sao Roque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Sao Roque

Address: Estrada da Meia Praia, Lagos 8600-315, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marina Sao Roque 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Marina Sao Roque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Sao Roque Lagos
Marina Sao Roque Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marina Sao Roque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.