We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family run, friendly hotel. Exteremely clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marina Sao Roque

Save Saved
You added Hotel Marina Sao Roque to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Marina Sao Roque
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada da Meia Praia, Lagos 8600-315, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 54 hotels in Lagos
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Family run, friendly hotel. Exteremely clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I travelled here with my sister in June. We were greeted by owner at arrival and from then until we left we found the family and staff and Suzanne to be most helpful and pleasant. We didnt use the pool as the beaches localy are fantastic, and there was no need. Good breakfast. Very close to the train station, a walk to Marina, and just over the bridge to the town. The owners lent us beach towels and parasols for the beach and were very helpful with and questions we had on the area. I would not hesitate in retuning to this hotel, for the price it is the best quality I have found in ages.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    19
    7
    9
    1
See reviews for
4
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry city
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

we stayed here in October for 11 nights and loved it, nice size family run hotel and the staff were all so nice, like a home from home, lovely breakfast as an added bonus, 2 mins from the marina and a short walk over the bridge to the town, so great locatation as well. hope to go back next year and would highly recommend to anyone looking for a central but quiet place to stay. thanks again to all the staff for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: we had a room at the back which looked out to the pool area, ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

good clean small hotel but unfortunatly there is a busy road runs right in front of it so you can't really open the doors onto the small balcony for the exhaust fumes. In saying this we enjoyed the hotel it had a friendly feel, staff were helpful but there was no roof pool, however there was one on the 1st floor and a small terrace to sit on. The location was good as in previous reviews. There was a great chinese on top of the marina and a brillant italian just as you were entering the old town (mama mias). Position good if you have slight mobility problems as I do as everything on the flat.like previous person we also had to get up at 5.45am for our flight although no-one from the hotel got up and although we had paid for 14 breakfasts and only ate 13 we asked if they could make up a couple of rolls and pieces of fruit but they refused. This let the hotel down badly as far as I am concerned. The rooms are also small but adequate, and Lagos itself was brill!

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the pool as it would be quieter and you would be able to open the doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

The location couldn't have been better (although it was a little confusing for us at first because we didn't have a number for the street address). It was a 5 minute walk from the train, a 10-15 minute walk from the beach and a 10 minute walk from the historic center. The rooms were modest and charming and clean with a balcony. The restaurant where the breakfast was served was traditional and clean and comfortable. The staff were more than accommodating and pleasant and caring. For the price, it was a bargain. It's perfect for active people looking to go to the beach and enjoy the city center.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Me and my boyfriend have just returned from a 9day stay at The Hotel Marina Sao Roque. The staff were all friendly and they went out of their way to make sure everyone was ok. The manager was extremely funny and his little stories made us laugh and we enjoyed having a drink with him in the bar. The reception staff speak very good english and the young girl especially was very helpful and called our transfers for us. Breakfast was lovely just what you wanted to wake up to every morning. The room was a nice size and shower did take some getting used to but was fine. If you want 5* then book 5*. The location was perfect!!! Bar Paris is to the left of the hotel and they do some lovely food and its very reasonably priced. Its a couple of minutes walk to the marina where there are lots of bars and restaurants. The town is a 10 minute walk from the hotel and its a lovely walk we wouldnt have wanted it any closer. There are many lovely places to eat but the best one by far was "Maharaja's Tasty Indian". We walked past it in the day many times but one evening thankfully we decided to eat there. The staff were so nice and they cook in an open kitchen which is wonderful. The food was the tastiest I have ever eaten in a restaurant anywhere!! Do not eat in the Kohninoor unless you like everything creamy and cooked in yogurt. The staff in the Shalimar were very rude so we decided not to bother and the Pashmina seemed to keep shutting earlier because they were quiet. The "Piri Piri" did lovely food and their salads were a work of art. Make sure you go to the english pub "Fool's and Horse's" you won't have a dull moment. The beach is about a 15 min walk from the hotel and is absolutely stunning! Make sure you go on a boat trip to see the grottos its 10 euro's and the views will blow you away. All this right on the doorstep of the really lovely Hotel Marina Sao Roque . We left at 6.45 am and they even opened reception early so there was someone there to see us off and thank us for our visit. This was a lovely thing to do and made us feel very special. Do not read the bad reviews on this hotel they are NOT true!! Book yourselves in and make up your own mind. I can assure you that you won't be disappointed. Thank you to everyone at the Hotel Marina Sao Roque we will see you soon :) xx

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Would thoroughly recommend Marina Sao Roque to anyone wanting a good value hotel to stay in Lagos. The location was excellent, approximately 10 minutes walk from a wonderful and unspoilt 5km sandy beach, less than 5 minutes walk from the Marina (with bars and restaurants) and about 15/20 minutes walk from Lagos itself. This meant that during our 10 night stay we could walk everywhere - no need for taxis etc! The hotel itself had a quaint, traditional feel - and a great breakfast every morning! The staff were very helpful and freindly, and really made the stay very pleasant. We also enjoyed the little roof pool and sun terrace. The only downside would be the close proximity to the road - although we still slept incredibly well! Completely fell in love with Lagos itself, and staying here only enhanced our trip!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

The B&B overall was lovely except it was right next to a very busy road. By the end of the week I did get used to the drone of traffic which was a surprise. It was very difficult to sleep in the room at the front of the B&B but had a small balcony which caught the evening sun which wasn't all bad. The room was very hot with the air conditioning as it went off after a short period of time and you would manually have to turn it on again which was slightly frustrating. The twin room was fairly small but was very clean and the towels were changed everyday. Sadly the shower leaked everywhere as the shower head was not heavy enough. Managed to place the shower curtain in a certain position to stop water from flooding the floor. Did report this but nothing was done. The women on reception were very friendly and tried to move us to a quieter room which sadly we couldn't get as it was very busy.The breakfast was very well organised and offers a basic choice of cereals, juice fresh fruit, bread rolls, meats and cheeses etc. It would have been nice to have fresh coffee and tea instead of a machine drink. The waitress who looked after the breakfast was excellent and was highly efficient. The pool was small but very quiet which was lovely. There was ample space to sunbath including a sun terrace, just need a few more sun loungers. The B&B has great potential to have a gym and extra seating on the sun terrace. The bar wasn't really used as well which could have been promoted better as it looked a nice place to chill out if you didn't fancy going into town.
The B&B is located very close to the bus station and a large supermarket up the road which was very helpful to get provisions. I have been to Lagos before and food can be quite expensive so it was good to get shopping as well as eating out. The beach is a short walk from the B&B and the Marina. There was a great cafe next door to the B&B which had free internet and printer. The food was really nice and reasonably priced.Being a B&B if you are staying out after 1am you need to get a night key. Families/couples etc tend to stay out later as it is a bustling town. Overall I would go back to the B&B but I would like to chose my room next time. Thankyou to all the staff at this B&B.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back of the B&B overlooking the pool as it is noisy at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Marina Sao Roque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Sao Roque

Address: Estrada da Meia Praia, Lagos 8600-315, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 54 hotels in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marina Sao Roque 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Marina Sao Roque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Sao Roque Lagos
Marina Sao Roque Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marina Sao Roque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.