We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We still talk about it...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Arte

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Arte to your Saves list
Casa Arte
Estrada do Colegio | Bensafrim, Lagos 8600 – 073, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 39 Lagos B&B and Inns
USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“We still talk about it...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

So far we spent nearly a month traveling through Portugal and still talk about Casa Arte. We stayed for 5 nights in the "Riaz" room, from what we understood the only room with a large double bed. The bedroom offered tons of natural light, plenty of space, a super comfy bed with two large artemide lamps on the side, a desk, a good sized flat screen TV and sufficient space for luggage and its content. It was joined by a quiet, sunny & private terrace. The large bathroom came with a wonderful rain shower but no bath tub. There was also a coffee machine and a small fridge in the hallway stuffed with items like wine, soft drinks, water, chocolate etc., all for a reasonable charge. And then came the incredible breakfast, served in the quite artsy breakfast room or alternatively on a large common terrace. We spent nearly 1.5 hours for breakfast every morning as we couldn't get enough of the goodies. There was fresh natural yogurt, fruits, several kinds of cheese, honey with rosemary, several kinds of jam and bread, croissants, smoked and regular ham, salami, fresh tomatoes and cucumber, very tasty coffee, tea, OJ etc etc...Sarah, the host, really went over the top, we are sure that we gained a few pounds during our stay :-)
The house overall was just amazing, the ground was well kept and beautiful but unfortunately the pool was still too cold for our taste. Must be perfect during summertime...The B&B's location is fantastic, close to quiet and wild beaches as well as to the more touristy town of Lagos. We can highly recommend this place and already did several times during our trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
haarlem
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The name of this small hotel is well chosen. It is a remarkable house with beautiful art, and 5 rooms all quite different.
We stayed in Cantara, this room is furthest away from the main house and pool,and therefor somewhat apart from the rest.
The beds are very comfortable, the breakfast is outstanding and so is the service and friendliness of sarah.
And the cherry on the cake is the excellent home cooked 4 course meal by the chef of the house, Freek Mulder.
A place to return to.

Room Tip: All rooms are different. Some have large bathrooms, others large terrace,etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

outstanding architecture
esthetic interiour
beautyful rooms
decent atmosphere
great breakfast
nice owners
cool guests

probably the best hotel in south portugal if you prefer individuality and quiteness to mass tourism and noise.

the hotel is situated a few km away from lagos and a great starting point for day trips to different destinations on the algarve as well as on the west coast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

You have to go there ! It's just like the pictures, an amazing place hosted by an amazing famlily. Rooms are wonderfull with an excellent taste, and Sarah has always been very helpfull advicing us all good spots to go. I never write anything about my hotels but this one was such amazing that I need to share it with everybody ! Breakfast was really good and it's only a 5 rooms place that give you the impression to be all alone in the middle of the country but at only 10 minutes by car from Lagos and 20 minutes from amazing beaches like SAgres, Arifana or Amoreira ! GO GO GO !!

TRy also the restaurant, the food made by a chef in person is excellent !

Room Tip: Our room was just great, Amir Room, but all rooms seems to be spacious and charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We just returned from our trip and fell in love with Casa Arte. It's located in a relaxing, quiet part of Lagos( just a five minute taxi ride away from the main center). The entire property is beautiful and feels as if you're staying at a friend's home. Sarah, the owner, is incredibly sweet and warm. Everything from start to finish was perfect. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Arte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Arte

Address: Estrada do Colegio | Bensafrim, Lagos 8600 – 073, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Arte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Arte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.