We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going back next year!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vilabranca Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vilabranca Apartments to your Saves list
Vilabranca Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Santa Casa da Misericordia | Torraltinha, Lagos 8600, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Going back next year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

We (2adults, 2 children) have just come back from a very relaxing, enjoyable stay at the Vilabranca apts in Lagos. What can I say that hasn't already been said? The apartments are situated in a residential area which may not suit those who like to be close to the beach. The beaches are about 20 mins walk away - downhill, as is the main town Lagos.

We had a 2 bedroom apartment with two bathrooms, living room, kitchen, balcony, the rooms are kept very clean. The staff are very friendly especially Jose who is very funny and very good with the small kids, he always had time for my youngest and she thought he was great craic - Ze Manual, Clodagh says Hi! As stated previously, the entertainment in the evenings is very "cheesy" , dated, could do with a revamp. Alot of the people we met there were coming back for their fourth and fifth time. We arrived around 10pm the first night so we had a meal at the Vilabranca, the food was lovely, very enjoyable. We would usually have a light lunch during the day at the poolside snack bar, which was more than adequate if a little expensive. The pool is also kept very clean.

We usually went into Lagos for the evening meal, we were spoilt for choice when it came to which restaurant we would eat in, we didn't have one bad meal in the two weeks we were there. The seafood was second to none and the wines....mmmmm!

Would we go back? For sure! My better half is already planning for three weeks there next year.

  • Liked — Quite and relaxing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    174
    42
    6
    4
See reviews for
165
217
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

I can only re-iterate previous reviews and comments. This resort and accommodation was, for my family, just perfect.
We had no reason to deal much with the staff because everything was fine; our 2 bedroomed apartment was massive with an en-suite and a total of 3 spacious balconies!
Unfortunately no-one seemed to take notice of the rule that no reserving of sunloungers was allowed around the pools, but we didn't sit all day around the pool anyway.
The pool water isn't as cold as people have claimed, and the uphill climb back to the hotel is easily avoided via a 4 Euro taxi ride.
The Dolphin Seafari was pricey but great fun and overall value for money. ZooMarine and Silde & Splash also well recommended.
We hired a car for 3 days, and can recommend 'Luzcar' who we booked direct on the net - they gave us a good value service and delivered the car and collected it direct from the apartments.
All in all a faultless holiday!

  • Liked — Size and comfort of apartments
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was perfect
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

We stayed in Vilabranca for a week in June and can honestly say it was the best holiday I have ever had! There was absolutely nothing I would change about it.
On our arrival we were immediately checked into our apartment by a pleasant and friendly receptionist. The apartment was spacious and immaculate. The walk into town takes around 20 minutes and is a lovely walk, however we used the hotel minibus on occasion as in the heat it can be very tiring.
The pool area was large with plenty of spare loungers and the grounds were beautifully kept. The prices were very reasonable and all the staff were incredibly friendly and happy to help. Carlos (the manager) went out of his way to help us find train times and all in all the Portuguese were all extremely pleasant and helpful. Ironically the only rudeness we encountered was from a British cafe in Silves (Suzie's Bar) - the woman working there was surly and unhelpful and refused to let us use her phone to ring a taxi even though we offered money!
The hotel entertainment was good and the bar welcoming and lively.
I cant wait to go back!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

We had a great stay at Vilabranca. We were given a very spacious 2 bedroom and 2 bathroom apartment overlooking the pool. There was never a problem finding a sunbed and the pool area and gardens were beautifully kept. We never used the curtesy minibus and enjoyed the walk into the town and marina. We ate out at a different restaurant each evening and never had a bad experience. We also walked to Donna Ana beach a couple of times which took about 15 mins from the apartment.
We had a great time and would go back again.

  • Liked — away from the bustle of the town
  • Disliked — large clean apartment
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

When we got there the weather was just brilliant. It was fantastic all holiday, not a cloud in the sky. Firstly the apartments were fantastic ours which has two double bedded rooms and on on-suit with a balcony. Infact there were three balconies. One on the kitchen - quite small, the other with the living room - which was larger, and the biggest on the second room. (Although ours was the biggest apartment). The only downside of our holiday was the centre of Lagos was quite a long walk from vilabranca but taxi's were available. overall i think this has to be one of my best holiday so far, and i would recommend this apartment to anyone with families with young children or teenagers.

  • Liked — apartment size
  • Disliked — far away from anywhere
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

Family with 1 girl -10 years. 2 week stay early July.
The facilities were to the excellent standard you will read here in other reviews. The staff are to be commended in their interest in your requirements.
Daughter linked up with other girls in the complex and had a ball!
Lagos as a resort town was also excellent. Great variety of restaurants and good buzz in the evenings.
There is a website www.simplylagos.com which has excellent information town map, shopping, restaurants, local services etc language assists etc. I had a hired car and found it extra helpful.
We will be back!

  • Liked — Overall Standard
  • Disliked — no complaints at all
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRAGA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

Excellent Holidays
Perfect place to stay and relax. Very quite, excelent kept and clean. The pools are superb and quite
Fantastic holidays after one year of working very hard
I will be back for sure with my family.
Staff very friendly and the shuttle bus to the beach and to the center of the town is excellent even with a car , sometimes we do not want to drive

Thanks Vilabranca and all the staff for making my and my family holidays so good

  • Liked — Quite, spacecious and very clean
  • Disliked — Nothing to say
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vilabranca Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilabranca Apartments

Address: Rua Santa Casa da Misericordia | Torraltinha, Lagos 8600, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lagos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vilabranca Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vilabranca offers a high standard of accommodation which feature a wide range of amenities within the complex. It is the ideal choice for families and those seeking a relaxing break close to Lagos. Clients can benefit from being away from the bustle of the resort, while remaining within comfortable walking distance of the centre of Lagos and Porto Do Mos Beach. Vilabranca has won many awards for its excellent service and friendly atmosphere. Lagos is a bustling old walled city, with great night life with fantastic restaurants, bars and shopping. You can spend hours pottering around the picturesque lanes. Lagos is very proud of its history and there is plenty of sightseeing from the ancient slave market to the 17th-century moated fortress overlooking the harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Vilabranca Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilabranca Apartments Hotel Lagos
Vilabranca Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vilabranca Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.