We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a great place to stay. VILABRANCA APMNTS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vilabranca Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Vilabranca Apartments to your Saves list
Vilabranca Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Santa Casa da Misericordia | Torraltinha, Lagos 8600, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“what a great place to stay. VILABRANCA APMNTS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Sue and I arrived at vilabranca apmnts,lagos in nov.2012 by car and even enroute the receptionist Lai, rang us to see if we were ok and not experiencing any problems.We were quickly shown to our accomodation,which was very clean and had all the items we asked for at the time of booking.the accomodation is spacious and well appointed.We had been thinking of spending a month of our winter break here and then moving on but after realising that the accomodation ticked every box we wanted including wi.fi,excellent car parking and well sited for the town and beach we have decided to stay until april.
The manager Tiago and Lai are really the most helpful,friendliest people who simply cannot do enough to make our stay here perfect.they have both helped in giving us directions with maps,advice on where to go for whatever reasons.
we regard all the staff here including the gardner Christella,Mario the handyman and velda our cleaner as our good friends as we have been so well looked after.
we would recommend (as we have done already) to anyone wanting to stay at good quality apmnts in lagos with very helpful and supportive staff to come here for a relaxing holiday or break.The language is not a problem as both Tiago and Lia speak excellent English.

Room Tip: we found our ground floor room most adequate,easy to carry up shopping and we get the sun on our ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVilaranca, Director of Sales at Vilabranca Apartments, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Mr. Ian and Mrs. Sue,

We cannot thank you enough for your comments.
It was a huge pleasure to welcome you and we are really happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

It will be great to welcome you back in October and I'm sure you will have another great stay with us.
Kind regards,
Tiago & Lai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    171
    42
    5
    4
See reviews for
163
214
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leamington spa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment overlooking the 'yellow umbrella' pool. It was nice and private with foliage and a waist height wall between our patio and the pool area. We were ground level and had another apartment above us.
The pool was lovely and clean and had some gardens to one end of it and a bar at the other which wasn't open early in July but this was of no concern as the reception's blue umbrella pool was two minutes away.
The apartment was spotless and the kitchen had everything you'd need for a self catering holiday. Light and bright and always lovely, warm water for bath or shower.
The sitting room had one day bed and we had an extra bed for the second child at an extra supplement when booking

Opposite the entrance of the complex there was a really good supermarket with small deli with cold meats and cheeses, a fresh veg and friut produce area outside and everything else you could want from sunglasses to buckets and spades!
There were also a few bars and restaurants within a few minutes of the complex. We were close to two beaches which also had modern atmostpheric resturants on them. The walk into town was twenty minutes with a shuttle bus twice a day. Taxis were also pretty cheap.
The staff were really helpful and friendly.
I would recommend it to anyone with kids but there were also young and older couples staying there. We noticed a lot of Irish, Dutch and Portugese holiday makers staying there.
Our kids were quite young to be left on their own but some families didn't seem to mind their kids running around the whole complex unaccompanied as it seemed safe and wasn't too big and was enclosed by a wall
Around the whole complex.
I thought it was very reasonable for the standard of the accomadation and was impressed with the location. Highly recommend it.
The kids talk about the place even two years later.
Lagos has real charm with all sorts of bars and cafes and the beach bars are very funky and hip. Lots of beaches to choose from, great boat trips and an international feel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVilaranca, Director of Sales at Vilabranca Apartments, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review.

Your comment describes perfectly Vilabranca Apartments. We are suitable not just for couples but also for families.

We hope to welcome you back in the future and to be able to provide you another great experience.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked Vilabranca based on the Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. We were there for 10 days in October and we were unfortunate as we didn’t even get one sunny day. The weather was terrible, cold and raining every day so we ended up spending more time in the apartment that you would normally want to while on holidays.
While sitting looking out at heavy rain we were at least comfortable. Some of the reviews said the beds were not very comfortable and while they are two single beds put together we had no complaints. Good sized bathroom and good shower. The kitchen is perhaps not the best equipped but we managed adequately. What we really appreciated was the great TV and all the English channels that were available. The housekeeping is efficient and everything is clean and well maintained.
The apartments are well located in a residential area about 20 minutes walk from town. 20 minutes in the other direction brings you to a stunningly beautiful beach. Conveniently there is a small supermarket and great bar at the gates to Vilabranca. Due to the weather we didn’t get to use the pools!! But the pools and grounds are maintained beautifully. The staff are very helpful, friendly and efficient.
This was our first trip to the Algarve. I would have to agree with Greekfanantic’s review and his view of Lagos that it becomes very tedious after a few nights. There is certainly an overabundance of restaurants. It was also very sad and upsetting to see so many people there begging. I would also agree with Greekfanantic's view that Lagos is “a big nothingness and well over rated resort”. There is literally nothing for visitors to do there. Even the excellent staff at Vila Branca were at a loss when we asked for suggestions on things to do. The tourism in the area completely over depends on the sunshine and the tourism authorities dont seem to have thought about the times when there is no sun. We had a car and even with that we are hard pressed to find things to do. We went there as we had not been to the Algarve before and were influenced by Portugals boast of 300 days sunshine a year!!
The Vila Branca saved our holiday from being a complete disaster. I would highly recommend the great value Vila Branca if deciding to go to Lagos. However in relation to Lagos itself I would suggest that unless you go in the mid-summer months when you are almost guaranteed sunshine I would think twice about going. Apart from its beautiful beaches, Lagos is a boring “nothingness”.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVilaranca, Director of Sales at Vilabranca Apartments, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your kind review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, but a bit sad because lagos let you down.

I hope you can return in the future and that the experience in Lagos can be more positive.
We will be here to welcome you.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This accomodation located at a 15 minute walk to the town centre attractions offers outstanding value for money. Pools very cold but easy to sit around.
Large supermarket 5 minute drive away. Quiet, clean absolutely nothing to criticise.
Really do need to have a car to make the best of this excellent location.
Many nearby eating places close on Monday, go into town centre then and really keep away from the nearby Chinese eatery, being polite it was not very good!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sunny balcony not on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My partner and i stayed between September 26th and October 10th this year and enjoyed The Algarve's sunny climate and fabulous coastline, as well as activities such as kayaking, bicycling 36km down a mountain and swimming amongst the big waves that come in from the Atlantic.

We stayed in a self-catering apartment and cooked our own evening meals for the most part.

A few problems immediately presented themselves however. Firstly, there were only two cups, and they were of the tiny espresso-coffee variety. As we like to drink tea, these were completely inadequate. There were also two very small dinner plates, which were more like teaplates. In addition, there was a single very small towel in the kitchen, presumably for drying ones hands, but none for drying up. There was also no washing-up liquid, floorcloths or cleaning products of any kind. On asking at reception for some larger cups and dinner plates, I was told 'we don't have any', I found this response from the otherwise friendly and helpful staff not particularly helpdul, so the next day I bought a couple of dinner plates (couldn't find mugs anywhere), only to find that they had put some new ordinary-sized dinner plates and cups in our apartment (!). We donated our new plates to the animal charity shop over the road (an excellent source of reading material, as they have plenty of English books for only 50 cents each).

These gripes aside, the beds were comfortable and the apartments cleaned every day. The other residents. mostly British and German, all seemed fairly quiet, with no late-night commotions or arguments etc.

The seating in the lounge however left something to be desired, and after sitting on the sofa for half an hour I developed backache. We asked for extra pillows that we then used to prop up the sofa cushions beneath and behind, in order to make them more comfortable.

The other problem was that, being so sparsely furnished, and due to the liberal use of tiling, the (all white) rooms and the hall outside echoed incredibly, making it feel at times as though one were in some sort of weird institution.

The other issue was that the small balcony faced other people's balconies directly, so that sitting outside didn't feel entirely private.

These issues aside, the apartment was very good value for money, very clean, the location of the hotel was pretty good (a healthy walk to both the town centre on one side and a Porto do Mos beach on the other) so if you are looking for a very cheap holiday in the Algarve, and can put up with a few annoyances, this is a good way of doing it. I would stay there again if I had an apartment with more comfortable seating.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the top floor so you don't hear people walking on tiled floors above you. Take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVilaranca, Director of Sales at Vilabranca Apartments, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your review.

We trully apologize for the incidentes during your stay, and we will try to ammend the mistakes.

I hope we can welcome you back in the future and we will try our best to provide a nicer experience.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I was worried before arriving at these apartments as the price we paid seemed like asking for trouble to me, but I had been swayed by so many positive reviews on this site. I'm pleased to say the apartments were lovely and our apartment was exactly what we wanted for a relaxing week - basic but clean, close to 2 supermarkets and with well kept pool areas.

We made use of the hotel shuttle bus to town at night for dinner several times during our stay and once used it to go to the beach, this is an excellent service. Yes the apartments are a bit of a walk from town but the walk only takes c. 20 mins and a taxi is 4 - 5 Euros.

The service at both reception and the bar was exceptional.

My only complaint is that the beds - we had 2 singles rather than a double - and bedding were pretty basic, the only area where the facilities matched the price!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were delighted to find the Vilabrance Apartments were to a really good standard and were very clean and spacious and included everything you needed for an enjoyable stay. The gardens and swimming pools were also clean and beautifully maintained. The location of the appartments was in a quieter part of town but still handy for both the beach which is only 15 minutes walk away as well as the lovely little town of Lagos and we also took advantage of the courtesy bus which was very useful. The reception staff were really friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English.
We will be back again and thoughly recomment it, although would suggest avoiding main season if you don't have kids as it could be a little manic if all appartments were occupied.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vilabranca Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilabranca Apartments

Address: Rua Santa Casa da Misericordia | Torraltinha, Lagos 8600, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lagos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vilabranca Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vilabranca offers a high standard of accommodation which feature a wide range of amenities within the complex. It is the ideal choice for families and those seeking a relaxing break close to Lagos. Clients can benefit from being away from the bustle of the resort, while remaining within comfortable walking distance of the centre of Lagos and Porto Do Mos Beach. Vilabranca has won many awards for its excellent service and friendly atmosphere. Lagos is a bustling old walled city, with great night life with fantastic restaurants, bars and shopping. You can spend hours pottering around the picturesque lanes. Lagos is very proud of its history and there is plenty of sightseeing from the ancient slave market to the 17th-century moated fortress overlooking the harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vilabranca Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilabranca Apartments Hotel Lagos
Vilabranca Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vilabranca Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.