We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vilabranca Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vilabranca Apartments to your Saves list
Vilabranca Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Santa Casa da Misericordia | Torraltinha, Lagos 8600, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were delighted to find the Vilabrance Apartments were to a really good standard and were very clean and spacious and included everything you needed for an enjoyable stay. The gardens and swimming pools were also clean and beautifully maintained. The location of the appartments was in a quieter part of town but still handy for both the beach which is only 15 minutes walk away as well as the lovely little town of Lagos and we also took advantage of the courtesy bus which was very useful. The reception staff were really friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English.
We will be back again and thoughly recomment it, although would suggest avoiding main season if you don't have kids as it could be a little manic if all appartments were occupied.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    171
    42
    5
    4
See reviews for
163
214
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Another stay at Vilabranca and yet another fantastic holiday. All of the staff were as always very friendly and first class at making sure you have an enjoyable stay.

The apartments are spacious and have everything you could need to enjoy your time there. Housekeeping ensure they are kept clean and change both towels and bed linen 2/3 times per week.

Gardens & pool areas are very well maintained and the shuttle bus to both town and beach comes in handy when you don’t feel like walking.

I have no doubt that this won’t be our last stay here and we both look forward to returning before to long.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

To quote Mike Brewer , Villabranca apartments are "champagne accomodation for lemonade money"!, excellent reception staff, could not fault it.
We arrived on a bus which had dropped holidaymakers like ourselves at other accomodation on the Algarve. Judging by the other apartments we had seen along the way , we were not expecting a lot . We were pleasantly surprised however as Villa Branca are quite upmarket apartments .
From the outside the apartments are attractive while inside, the rooms are large and clean. The shower is strong and the bathroom has plenty of room in it. The kitchen had everything you would want including a microwave ,it is a decent sized kitchen with everything you need.
The view onto the pool was very pleasant from the balcony , lots of flowers etc. It was cleaned three times in the week while we were there, fresh bed linen and towels along with floor cleans etc etc.
The reception staff ,Tiago and the two girls could not have been more helpful They not only recommended car hire but did the ordering for us ( 25 euro /day). Tiago even did my Ryanair online check in for me! (Give them a bonus David O Leary!)They made our week run smoothly.
For the sort of money we paid , Villa Branca was top value. We would go there again for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room , high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Read reviews on apts prior to going & were impressed by the comments. We loved Vilabranca , the grounds & gardens were beautifully kept (the girl doing the gardens was so friendly & her English was perfect). Reception staff were really helpful, polite & kind, & again spoke good Engish. We enjoyed Lagos, walking to town was pleasant, & the harbour front was interesting, again nice places to stop & have coffee, especially the Oasis on the marina. Thankyou everyone at Vilabranca for our lovely break. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVilaranca, Director of Sales at Vilabranca Apartments, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest,
we are very happy to know that you had a good experience in your first visit to the Algarve.
It was a pleasure to welcome you at Vilabranca and we hope to see you in a near future.
Thank you for your charming comments ;)
Best regards,

Tiago Espinho
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just got back from a week's holiday at Vilabranca which I booked after reading the reviews on tripadvisor. The accommodation is in a residential area so very quiet and the apartment was clean and large with all mod cons including English TV and a washing line! There are two pools with sun beds and a pool bar at one of them. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The free shuttle bus comes in handy as it is about a 20 minute stroll into Lagos and to the beaches but uphill walking back. The beaches are excellent. There are a variety of places reasonably priced to eat out. I would recommend Vilabranca to anyone who, like me, was looking for a low budget holiday but good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a west facing balcony to get the sun in the afternoon. Less noise second floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is the first time we have stayed here, but it will not be our last.
The accommodation was excellent. Very clean and roomy. The cafe bar had very friendly staff, who went out of the way to assist in anyway possible.
The pool area was lovely too, with sun beds and huge bean bags that were a delight to relax on.
I would recommend these apartments to anyone.
Already considering booking again for next year!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I booked the Vilabranca on the strength of the reviews on tripadvisor and I was not dissappointed, We were there 3 weeks and had no complaints at all, The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The apartment was spacious and very quiet even though all the apartments were full.As it is set in a residential area it does not feel enclosed and the setting is as you see it on the photos and is very pretty. It is an easy stroll to Lagos but it is slightly uphill back, There is a no 2 bus that goes every hour in the day except in afternoon when it is every 2 hours. That plus the shuttle bus means that you dont have to walk to lagos or beach. There are lots of restaurants near by. The Onda Norte is excellent both for quality and value. We will certainly go back again,

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the afternoon sun as part of the complex is shaded by trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vilabranca Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilabranca Apartments

Address: Rua Santa Casa da Misericordia | Torraltinha, Lagos 8600, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lagos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vilabranca Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vilabranca offers a high standard of accommodation which feature a wide range of amenities within the complex. It is the ideal choice for families and those seeking a relaxing break close to Lagos. Clients can benefit from being away from the bustle of the resort, while remaining within comfortable walking distance of the centre of Lagos and Porto Do Mos Beach. Vilabranca has won many awards for its excellent service and friendly atmosphere. Lagos is a bustling old walled city, with great night life with fantastic restaurants, bars and shopping. You can spend hours pottering around the picturesque lanes. Lagos is very proud of its history and there is plenty of sightseeing from the ancient slave market to the 17th-century moated fortress overlooking the harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vilabranca Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilabranca Apartments Hotel Lagos
Vilabranca Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vilabranca Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.