We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent apartment and ideal location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vilabranca Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Vilabranca Apartments to your Saves list
Vilabranca Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Santa Casa da Misericordia | Torraltinha, Lagos 8600, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment and ideal location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Not long been back from a weeks holiday at the Vilabranca and can confirm previous reviewers opinion about this excellent hotel
The staff were all very friendly and helpful
With free air conditioning, free bus several times a day to both the nearest beach and Lagos town as well as room clean every day the Vilabranca is a class above most other self catering apartments
Our room, 234, was enormous-with an en-suite with bath, bathroom with bath, fully fitted kitchen with fridge/freezer and full cooker, separate lounge with tv -incl. BBC1 we would recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere reasonable priced on the Algarve
Rather than use the shop just outside the main entrance go up the road opposite for 50 metres to the LOCAL supermarket - its much cheap[er for milk, water etc. For somewhere different to eat at night try the BRASOA RESTAURANT which is a few metres away from this shop. The proprietor is a lovely man cal;led Silva who will give you a very warm welcome and an absolutely delicious meal

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    174
    42
    6
    4
See reviews for
165
217
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Hotel was in a lovely and quiet 'out of the way' area which was clean and tidy. The staff are fabulous and a credit to the owners! They ordered taxi's for us, sorted out our less than easy to understand booking of tranport back to the airport-thank you so much!

I would like to add though that it is at least 20-30 mins walk (not 15 mins unless you jog!) to everything from all the beaches to the Town Centre. It is worth getting on to the hotel mini-bus when available as there is little if anything en-route to any of these destinations. The beaches are hidden but beautiful(yet small)when you take the trouble to seek them out!

The hotel is in a fabulous area with a local supermarket just across and outside of the main gates but please note a much cheaper and more resident/local supermarket is straight across the road and behind the first supermarket to the right in a residentail square-a little hidden away but well worth the find!

I think the hotel does needs some slight attention around the pool area and our room had huge cracks on the balcony brick work which made us a little apprehensive about having breakfast out there!. The food service around one of the bar pools is only suitable if you have hours to wait for it but nice when it eventually arrives-we went self catering and only used the facility on two occasions(make sure you are not starving when you order it!). We liked the place, it met our needs (2 adults and one 10 year old)but I would not return as I found Lagos too spread out, a little dirity in areas and the one main street at night worth visiting becomes a little tedious after 7 nights. the lack of nightlife and bars over an abundance of restarants was very dissappointing. We were told the harbour was worth a visit - but it really isn't! It was run down, with lots of derelict properties surrounding a few units made into snack and cafe bars-we never revisited after 2nd night in Lagos.

We were glad we went, lovely hotel but Lagos a huge dissappointment sadly! A big 'nothingness' and well over rated resort.

Room Tip: Upper floors are probably the best option. The gardens are a little over grown in parts and some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Vilabranca apartements are very nice and at a very hard to beat price...i've been looking at several apartments in Lagos and couldn't find a better offer.Once there, we have been delighted by the space of the apartment (a one bed room with a big living room). Very clean (the maids come times a week and towels are changed twice a week). Two big swimming pools, plenty of space for the kids since it is a secure area. You can walk to the old town (about We just loved it. min walk) and there is even a free shuttle bus to it and to one of the wonderful beaches of Lagos (we didn't use it since we had a car)
All in all a wonderful apartement.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Very roomy, well kept accomodation, We stayed in August, and the weather was great. A 15 minute wlk into Lagos, but we did it every day and teh kids never moaned once, so don't be put off by the distance. Great beaches nearby, we didn't have, or need a car. Staff really nice, and great for faimiles

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Sometimes it can be hard to belive so many good/great reviews,call me cynical maybe but over the years i have tended to take some with a pinch of salt. That was how i was feeling about Villabranca when reading the reviews,surely it cannot be THAT good but how wrong i was.It is brill and well done to Tiago and his staff, who all were very friendly.No negativity wat so ever about the accomodation or Lagos. We have stayed previously in a villa only 1k up the road so knew the location well already.Local shops very close but large Supermarket only 4k away which you pass on the way in.We always hire a car from the airport,( 50mins) but since Dec 2011 they have placed Toll Charges on the A22 so be aware.These can be paid in the Post Office in town.Lagos itself is very well worth seeing,it has charm,vitality and a certain buzz that other places hav,nt. If you looking for the ` Old Vic or the Red Cow` stick with Albufeira, Lagos raises above that.This is,nt the first time we have visted lagos nor shall it be the last.

Room Tip: We always req extra pillows, after having asked at Reception they were delivered within 5mins to our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We booked these apartments for a late cheap getaway and have no complaints as that's exactly what we got. Very good value for money, nice grounds, very helpful reception, spacey rooms and good kitchen area with a large private balcony. Also an excellent bus service to the beach and town.

Only downsides I would say are the bar that is not a bar, the only soft drinks were poured from a flat 1 litre bottle into a cup and the one time we ate there was terrible, hold the mayo! Also the beds are very poor even for European standards and for some reason covered with a plastic under sheet? I guess the whole place could do with a tidy up but it is late season so I can accept that, the pool area for example went uncleaned for a good five days.

I suppose the best feature about the place is the Super Eureka little shop over the road which is a minutes walk and should cater for all your needs, bottles of corona €1! But remember that this is not Villabranca and says much about the bar and food at the complex.

Ten minute walk downhill to the town so all good there for location and plenty of taxis to get home if you don't fancy the walk back.

Fair price and fair results.

Room Tip: Top floor apartment required to avoid the inevitable clogs/cheap furniture/flushing toilets sounds f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Well where do I start, I am a very wary traveller abroad and do a lot of research before I book, that's how I found vilabranca, from trip advisor, I'm very happy to report that I made the right decision to book here. Our apartment was spacious, light and airy and most important of all clean! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool area was clean and plenty of sun loungers and parasols, important for me as I don't like to sit out in the sun. It was very quiet we were there 11th to 18th sept. The rooms were cleaned every 2 days.
A couple of things I'd like to point out, my husband has arthritis and the beds are quite low, as is the toilet. The shower looked old, but believe me, it was very powerful, we found that the hot water didn't last long enough when showering but it didn't go ice cold, just didn't stay hot enough, long enough for me. The pillows were small and quite lumpy, but they were the only niggly things.
We found the food at the vilabranca to be good, although we did dine out a lot our favourite being the pinguim bar/restaurant literally across the road down from the shop.
It is a good 10-15 min walk into the town, down hill, we took taxis back at just under 5 euros.
We booked bed and breakfast, but after the first day we didn't bother with breakfast again, that was the real downside, it was a very limited continental breakfast and not self service, just bread rolls with jam, and a small plate of ham and cheese, and a cup of coffee or tea and orange juice, we felt the breakfast could be made better.
All in all though the holiday was still good value for money and we would go back there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vilabranca Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilabranca Apartments

Address: Rua Santa Casa da Misericordia | Torraltinha, Lagos 8600, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lagos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vilabranca Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vilabranca offers a high standard of accommodation which feature a wide range of amenities within the complex. It is the ideal choice for families and those seeking a relaxing break close to Lagos. Clients can benefit from being away from the bustle of the resort, while remaining within comfortable walking distance of the centre of Lagos and Porto Do Mos Beach. Vilabranca has won many awards for its excellent service and friendly atmosphere. Lagos is a bustling old walled city, with great night life with fantastic restaurants, bars and shopping. You can spend hours pottering around the picturesque lanes. Lagos is very proud of its history and there is plenty of sightseeing from the ancient slave market to the 17th-century moated fortress overlooking the harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Vilabranca Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilabranca Apartments Hotel Lagos
Vilabranca Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vilabranca Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.