We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carvi Hotel Lagos

Save Saved
You added Carvi Hotel Lagos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carvi Hotel Lagos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia Dona Ana, Apartado 33, Lagos 8600-500, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 54 hotels in Lagos
1 review
“Nice hotel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The carvi hotel is literally a stones throw away from a gorgeous beach, so the location is ideal for beach goers. To go into the town its around a 20 min walk and costs around 8 to 10 euros in a taxi which the hotel kindly rings for you when requested. The number 2 bus can also take you into town, this stops outside the hotel. The reception have the timetable for this.
On arrival we checked in and although we were before the check in time our room was ready. The receptionist was extremely helpful at pointing out good restaurants, and the ones we did try were yummy!!
The room was very clean and morning. We had a room at the back of the hotel so had a view of a wall but flowers had been put to make the view nice. King size bed, tv and hair dryer in the room. There was a safe which was 10 euro deposit and 3 euros a day. Rooms were cleaned every day whilst we were out, apart from one day when we came back about 3.30. We asked the cleaner just to do the bathroom on this occasion as we were in.
Nice clean pool, although it was very good. Good sunbathing area around it, i would say about 20 sunloungers. Pool food bar was nice, good selection of food.
Breakfast- there was a selection of breads, conserves, ham, cheese, yoghurts, scrambled and boiled eggs, mini sausages and tea, coffee and juices.
Bar at night opens at 5, the barman is very friendly. Theres a pool table and 2 tvs in there.
Lovely hotel would stay again. Just be careful on the stairs as the are very slippy if ur wearing the foamy beach flip flops, i feel on the way down near the bottom where there was no stair rail, it was fine though just a bruise.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    76
    25
    7
    7
See reviews for
21
108
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
salt lake city
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Rating of 5 due to wonderful front desk staff. So very kind and helpful in every way. Great location. Easy access to the beautiful beach, maybe the best beach in Lagos. Some rooms have a view of the water. Free parking a plus. Basic room and towels, but quiet, and spacious enough. Nice pool. Check the hotel's website for their booking calendar. Depending on the time of year, the prices vary, but great deals can be had just outside of the most popular times.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The proximity to Doña Ana beach was what initially sold us on this hotel, and made it stand out among others in a similar price range. We were overwhelmed with the beach and happy enough with the 10 minute leisurely stroll into town. Plenty of places to eat and drink and people-watch!

We arrived to the hotel at 11 pm after delayed flights, and were put in room 114 (paid extra for sea view). We were weary from travelling, so went straight to bed only to wake up to a view of a rock and roundabout, and only if we dangled precariously from the balcony could we see some water. Furthermore, the lock on the sliding door wasn't catching, the hair dryer was broken and the surface in the shower turned into a skating rink when it was in use. We brought this to the attention of the lovely women at reception, and were immediately upgraded to 201. A real treat - more reflective of the website photos - with breathtaking views and a dozen more creature comforts. We were instantly relieved, and it made our holiday. The rest of the week was smooth, and we will never forget our time in Lagos with thanks to the hospitality of staff (including Miguel, the bartender with heaps of local know-how) at Carvi. Thanks a mil!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Carvi Beach Hotel was nice and offered all you could expect from a 3 star hotel, the staff were mostly helpful. When we arrived late the barman was friendly and made us toasted sandwiches which were good value. Breakfast was very good, they had a large choice and it was fresh. The pool on the roof is very nice, although they did not have umbrellas to offer shade which they need. However being so close to an amazing beach and beautiful sea to swim in we preferred to go there.

The room was comfortable and very clean, my only complaint was there was an awful smell of drains/sewage in the bathroom which was disgusting and lasted the whole time we were there. When we enquired about it we weren't moved but were told it was because they are close to the sea and the water comes up the drains, so there was nothing they could do but give us a spray air freshener...! Also the room could of done with a mirror (there's just a bathroom mirror so if you share a room and someone is in the bathroom there is no other mirror to use). Also a few more drawers would of been useful, there were just 2 tiny drawers in the wardrobe so nowhere to unpack your clothes. And a fridge would of been good, but you get what you pay for, and being a 3 star these are 'like to haves'. Free wifi is offered which is useful. Check out is 12pm and check in 3pm, however we asked if we could use our room until 1pm as we were leaving then, but they would not accommodate our request, however you can use the hotel for the duration after you check out.

The location is great, a couple of minutes to Donna Ana beach and about a 20 minute walk from the town centre where there are loads of restaurants and bars, although it is very touristy they are all mostly run by British, Australian, Canadians etc, so if you want a truly Portuguese experience you won't get it here. There was a lack of leaflets or anything on the notice board of things to do, so it also would be helpful if they had some kind of 'things to do' ideas. The receptionist was helpful but didn't really tell us much that we could do there than the beach and boat trips. We went into town and found an information/tour centre with a lovely helpful lady who was only happy to help - I would recommend Natura Tours.

Overall I liked it and would recommend it to those on a budget, it has all you need, and is comfortable. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Not sure, but worth enquiring about which rooms have had the drainage smell reported and avoid them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My mum lives out in Portugal so we call came for a family holiday me and my boyfriend decided to add an extra two nights on to our holiday and spend some time in Lagos. I am so glad we did and where we stayed as well. I am not going to lie on our way to the hotel the derelict buildings around the hotel really put me off and i was nervous for what the hotel was going to be like.

However once you get to the end of the road you see the amazing view and the hotel on the right hand side. The hotel was clean and accommodated to all. The staff were lovely and we ended up making friends with the bar man.

Breakfast was good and the rooms were nice.

It was jsut beautiful to just walk out of the hotel and see the sea, once you go round the corner you notice that there is a little beach at the bottom of the cliff. We walked down to find a little cafe and a gorgeous beach. We spent our first afternoon down there just sitting at the cafe. Loved it.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: The beach at the bottom of the cliff is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel in September 2013 when in Lagos for my cousins wedding. The hotel is very nice with everything you would need with clean and spacious rooms and decent service so great value for money!
The location of the hotel is just slightly out of Lagos centre but at a walking distance of about 15/20 mins it is very convenient for getting to all the bars and restaurants and as a plus you have the beach "praia dona ana" right on your doorstep. The beach which is less than 2 minutes walk away is absolutely lovely!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room (front of the hotel), these are much nicer than those at the back of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

That place ticks all the boxes. Excellent location - by the Dona Ana Beach and 10min. walk from the town centre. Clean rooms, decent breakfast and very nice, knowledgable and helpful reception desk staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carvi Hotel Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carvi Hotel Lagos

Address: Praia Dona Ana, Apartado 33, Lagos 8600-500, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#10 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carvi Hotel Lagos 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most beautiful beaches on the Algarve coast, south of Portugal, is the Carvi Beach Hotel. Lagos, a city with more than 2.000 years of history, like many coastal towns in Portugal, Lagos has a special relation with the sea that is firmly established in history, culture, architecture and gastronomic patrimony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Carvi Hotel Lagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagos Carvi Hotel
Sol e Praia Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carvi Hotel Lagos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.