We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at Dom Manuel 1” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dom Manuel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dom Manuel Hotel to your Saves list
Dom Manuel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Gago Coutinho | Vila Praia D Ana, Lote 7, Lagos 8600-593, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at Dom Manuel 1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed here very recently for a week. We were upgraded to a junior suite at the top of the building which overlooked the pool. The balcony had both sun and shade throughout the day. We down rated the pool mainly as it is very small; it is well kept and well planted. Cleanliness throughout the hotel is excellent; the staff more than helpful. Breakfast was first rate. We would return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    56
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
123
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

In comparing this Residence (it is not a Hotel) is difficult.We normally stay in a different Hotel cum Bed and Breakfast but they couldn't accomodate us as they had a big party staying,but I shall try.
We found the Residence cold and inhospitable,it would appear that the staff wanted you out of the building asap.The maids were making so much noise cleaning the rooms that it was impossible to sleep past 0745.The room was large and overlooked the pool but the rumble of suitcases passing by was annoying as was the clang of the metal gate that was the entrance/exit to the annexe.
The breakfast was superb,mostly home cooked pastries etc ( sweet tooth fiends note ).The pool was for show really,small and ornamental,not for swimming and as the Residence has 48 rooms and only 11 sun loungers speaks volumes,will we return? maybe,it is obvious that the management want the guests out of the way asap so they can get on with the work.

Room Tip: Rooms 23,24,25,26 get most sun and overlook the pond
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful stay in this hotel. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The room was spotless and the breakfasts were lovely with lots of variety. An excellent base to visit his part of the Algarve.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed here for three nights in March 2014. We had a junior suite overlooking the pool. The room was large, comfortable and clean. The hotel is a bit of a walk to the Old Town, but that means it is quiet. The breakfast was first rate as well. I can't say enough about the staff. They are excellent and very helpful. We will stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Booked this for a long weekend break and it was a good choice for a few nights offering good value for money. I did book a double room with pool/garden view but had a twin room which was a bit disappointing. Shaded on balcony and it appeared only limited rooms had sun for a reasonable amount of the day - great for shade but not if you plan to sit on the balcony in the sun for the day with a book.
We were in April and i would think that parking nearby could become a problem in high season, but the hotel is is a quiet residential area with some walking in to the old town or to the beach and this involves quite a bit of up and down hill. Kettle in room but you will need to sort your own tea/coffee. Bathroom nice and clean but took sometime for the hot water to work through the system.
Staff were friendly and helpful only downside was a cleaner starting at half 6 on Sunday morning clashing around near the room for half a hour by which time we were thoroughly awake.
Breakfast was good and with a wide range of choice of fruit and pastries although we were slightly later one morning and the choice was considerably reduced! The main gripe for breakfast was the revolting coffee (from a machine) yuk and the poor quality orange juice which horrible. Again I should imagine that in high season the breakfast room would be very crowded.
For a short stay or as a base this place offered great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed in a junior suite which was of a very good size and nicely furnished.Balcony of little value if looking for sun but nice if looking for shade in high summer Had kettle but tea and coffee not replaced so you will need to buy your own Room had fairly thin walls so noise from next room TV clearly heard Room up two flight of stairs with no lift.Breakfast of a good quality and choice Tables very close together and must get crowded in high season

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Dom Manuel is an old fashioned hotel but in a good sense. Positioned in a quiet residential area of Lagos, it is quite a way out from the old town but fine if you don't mind walking. We chose a junior suite so got a large bedroom with 2 easy chairs & a small table plus a large balcony with table & chairs. The bathroom was also large with shower over the bath. The hotel boasted a small pool & quite a nice (small) garden area. Sadly it wasn't heated so not warm enough to swim in during our stay in March. The breakfast was great with an enormous choice of both hot & cold food. The room had tea & coffee making facilities but didn't provide it so take a few teabags/coffee with you if you like to have a brew in your room. There is a small supermarket very close though so you can always stock up there. The staff were all very pleasant from Jessica who booked us in to the 2 young ladies who worked in the breakfast room.

Room Tip: We had Room 14 which was classed as a junior suite & was well placed in the hotel as we could us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dom Manuel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Manuel Hotel

Address: Rua Gago Coutinho | Vila Praia D Ana, Lote 7, Lagos 8600-593, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Manuel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dom Manuel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dom Manuel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dom Manuel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.