We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dom Manuel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dom Manuel Hotel to your Saves list
Dom Manuel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Gago Coutinho | Vila Praia D Ana, Lote 7, Lagos 8600-593, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Old fashioned comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Dom Manuel is an old fashioned hotel but in a good sense. Positioned in a quiet residential area of Lagos, it is quite a way out from the old town but fine if you don't mind walking. We chose a junior suite so got a large bedroom with 2 easy chairs & a small table plus a large balcony with table & chairs. The bathroom was also large with shower over the bath. The hotel boasted a small pool & quite a nice (small) garden area. Sadly it wasn't heated so not warm enough to swim in during our stay in March. The breakfast was great with an enormous choice of both hot & cold food. The room had tea & coffee making facilities but didn't provide it so take a few teabags/coffee with you if you like to have a brew in your room. There is a small supermarket very close though so you can always stock up there. The staff were all very pleasant from Jessica who booked us in to the 2 young ladies who worked in the breakfast room.

Room Tip: We had Room 14 which was classed as a junior suite & was well placed in the hotel as we could us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    57
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
125
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Great quality hotel with very friendly staff. It has sun terrace and small swimming pool. It probably gets more busy during summer, but at the time we visited there was only few other people. It's quite close to city center, about 15 min by foot. At the end of the street there's a lovely and really local bar. Hotel also has a late night lounge where you can have some drinks and watch telly.
Breakfast was the best ever, some of 5* hotels I've been to didn't have such a choice. Really recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed in Dom Manuel for 2 fantastic weeks in the second half of August 2013. Had a lovely stay, great upgrade to suite with own kitchen, two terraces and a pool-view. Great service, especially by Jessica, who helped us with all our questions and made lovely cocktails. Service is superb, so is the buffet breakfast which we could have inside and outside, with great variety and different things every day. The hotel is about a 10- minute walk from the center of lagos, from the beach and there are many activities and great restaurants. There are 5 beaches within 30 minutes walking distance. pool was a lovely area, but it was very quiet. There were lovely lounge beds, which was perfect. We rented a car for 3 days which was very affordable. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room nót directly facing the pool if you're on ground floor. every individual swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This place is a really charming hotel with lots of original antique furniture and fittings. The spacious rooms were cleaned daily. The breakfast was amazing, buffet style but something for everyone.
The location is about a twenty minute walk through the old town to the centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Nothing shy of fabulous! We moved to this hotel after leaving a very disappointing hotel that was more expensive. This place is amazing and I could not believe the value! Very clean rooms! The maids vacuum the decks and then mop them! That's what should be done.
We had complimentary wine and water in our room as well.
Our room was not in the main building but in the newer building behind. It was so relaxing to have another pool over in our building with less people. We had a large bed that was so comfy. The bathroom was trendy and stocked with toiletries.
Breakfasts were great with an assortment of regular buffet items.
Walking distance to the 3 main beaches...10-30 min walk, depending which beach.
Reception staff were very helpful and cheery! (Thank you Jessica and the other girl with long brown hair).
This hotel made leaving the beach easy, but made leaving Lagos difficult! I will hopefully come back soon!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We got a great deal on this hotel and staying here has really raised the bar of our expectations for other hotels.

The rooms were very clean and serviced daily, the staff were very friendly and the environment of the hotel was great. It is a really charming place with good facilities, granted the swimming pool was a little cold (we did however travel in April) but we had use the of a small gym, a sauna and a steam room at no extra cost!

There was a very comfy lounge/bar area where you could have a drink or two. So we did! The bar was very fairly priced and it also offered the use of a computer that was hooked up to the internet, great for planning your days/trips out. The breakfast was fantastic and I dare to say that it had something for everyone. It seemed fresh and it was really tasty, it really set us both up for the day! When the receptionist found out that we had an early morning flight she ensure a breakfast pack was made up for us so we didn't go hungry, GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE!

The location of the hotel is a 10 minute walk from the town center, this wasn't a problem for us as there were great views and great photo opportunities along the way. I'm sure if you decided to get a taxi back to the hotel it wouldn't be more than a couple of euro's.

There are a couple of restaurants in close proximity to the hotel if you don't fancy a walk into town. I must recommend Pizzaria Pizzolino, great pizzas to eat in or takeaway, owned and run by such a funny and generous man.

The hotel is for adults only, which is great. We are in our mid 20's and thought the place would be a bit dated for our tastes, but it wasn't, we didn't feel out of place at all.

This was a fantastic holiday for us and I know if we were to come back to Lagos we wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Perfect little 4 start hotel, nice pool (a touch cold but great when the weather is hot!) Most of the staff were very nice and willing to help when ever they could. Breakfast was good. Location of the hotel was perfect, 5 minute walk to the historical centre and 5 minutes to the beach. All in all, would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dom Manuel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Manuel Hotel

Address: Rua Gago Coutinho | Vila Praia D Ana, Lote 7, Lagos 8600-593, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Manuel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Dom Manuel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dom Manuel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dom Manuel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.