We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK location, nice pool, nice breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dom Manuel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dom Manuel Hotel to your Saves list
Dom Manuel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Gago Coutinho | Vila Praia D Ana, Lote 7, Lagos 8600-593, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Lagos
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“OK location, nice pool, nice breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had a lot of trouble choosing a hotel in Lagos. We wanted to be walking distance from The old town centre and beaches, but somewhere with decent rooms and facilities. This hotel is within walking distance of beaches and the old town, but on a hot day it is quite tiring. The breakfast is perfectly adequate. The pool is lovely to relax around/in when the wind picks up in the afternoon and the beaches become unpleasant - you can even get a cocktail! We had a suite room. It was lovely and spacious (although a little dated). The balcony had some lovely swing chairs on it. All in all it ticked all of our boxes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    50
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
111
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Small comfortable hotel, large comfortable rooms, excellent breakfasts.
Very friendly staff nothing was too much trouble.
Our room had free wi-fi and safety deposit box; the hotel bar prices were the same as the bars in town, which is just a ten minute walk. All in all we had a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here 4 nights. Worked out to be £51 per night. Great room which was comfortable clean & cozy. Lovely staff who were very friendly & helpful. Breakfast had a huge selection and will cater for dietary needs.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Amazing hotel with history touch.
Extremely good staff.
Polite,cooperative,experienced.
Perfect breakfast!
We stayed before in several aces in Portugal but none of hotels before was like this one.highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

If you want a small hotel that is full of character and charm and want to avoid large, bland tourist type hotels, then the Dom Manuel is for you. The whole hotel, rooms and pool area are kept exceptionally clean. The pool is small and isn't really designed for proper swimming but it does the job of cooling you off. Balconies are lovely and really feel an extension of the room space. It was really useful to have a kettle, mugs and teaspoons in the room although I would advise you bring your own tea and coffee. We also had a fridge in the room. Breakfast is good and perfectly acceptable although not especially outstanding. There is a breakfast area outside which is very civilised but if full, you have to eat inside - the downside being that we found the chairs pretty uncomfortable - but this is a minor issue. It does take a good twenty minutes to get into the centre of town where all the restaurants are but the plus side is that it is within reasonable walking distance to some fantastic beaches.

Room Tip: I would recommend a pool view room on the first floor - it is worth paying a little bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

we stayed at dom manuel for three nights in july 2012. in general the place is quite nice and offers a piece of quiet in the otherwise tourist-crowded town of lagos. the whole structure is clean and well-kept, staff was polite and accomodating. also, rooms are provided with free wi-fi, which was cool, although it stopped working from time to time.

however, i'd like to mention a couple of things we did not quite like:

breakfast quality was not more than average.

once we asked for a knife at the hotel bar because we wanted to cut some chorizo and cheese we had bought at the supermarket, and we were given one only after complex negotiations. what's wrong with borrowing a knife? if I had wanted to stab someone, i'd brought my own knife anyway!

at our arrival, there were some other people checking in and we had to wait for about half an hour before we were led to our room. Between bringing people to their rooms, Jessica was also busy at the hotel bar and answering other guests' requests. Apparently the hotel's policy is to take as much time as possible for every guest in order to make him feel comfortable, which is OK. But if more than one arrival is foreseen on one particular day, there should be more than one person available to welcome guests and manage other reception jobs at check-in time. Once you eventually made it to the hotel after a long day (as it was in our case) you really deserve to be checked in quickly and you definitely don't appreciate waiting any longer.

I don't know how often this happens but I think hotel owners should consider this last point with care especially because this affects the first impression hotel guests get.

Altogether I think the price is a little bit too high for what is being offered. We enjoyed our stay but were certainly not overwhelmed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in early July for 4 nights. It was the perfect getaway for us. The hotel was charming and filled with character. It was just the start of tourist season so we had nice hot weather and it wasn't too quiet or too busy. In fact this small hotel looked like it only had about ten other visitors at the time of our stay which was perfect for us. It provided a very cosy romantic atmosphere. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They even provided us with a snack pack on the day of our departure since we would be missing the breakfast buffet. The buffet was served 8:00 - 10:30 a.m. and had an assortment of pastries, eggs, coffee, teas, juice and cold cuts. Drinks were served at the hotel bar in the evenings. Cocktails including Sangria were priced between 3.00 and 4.00 eruos. The rooms were very in excellent condition and cleaned daily. There was a small spa that offered massages for 30.00 euros for an hour and half full body. The pool was small but lovely. The hotel was located up on a hill in a quiet residential area only ten minutes walking from the old town and beach.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in Dom Manuel I and not Dom Manuel II. Dom Manuel II is an extension of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dom Manuel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Manuel Hotel

Address: Rua Gago Coutinho | Vila Praia D Ana, Lote 7, Lagos 8600-593, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Manuel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dom Manuel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dom Manuel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dom Manuel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;