We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE YOU MAY NOT GET A ROOM IN THE HOTEL, BUT IN AN ANNEXE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dom Manuel Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dom Manuel Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dom Manuel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Gago Coutinho | Vila Praia D Ana, Lote 7, Lagos 8600-593, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 54 hotels in Lagos
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“BEWARE YOU MAY NOT GET A ROOM IN THE HOTEL, BUT IN AN ANNEXE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We booked a twin bedded room facing the village in Don Manuel I.
When we arrived at reception we were taken around the pool, out a security gate, up the road, through another security gate to an annexe.
This room was actually in Don Manuel II, it was very modern but had no character.
When questioned why we didn't have a room in the main hotel we were advised that the hotel was fully booked and the annexes were considered as part of Dom Manuel I .
We insisted that we had booked a room in the hotel and went to reception each morning.
On the second day we were offered a room in the main hotel ,which we accepted.

The hotel is very quiet and clean.
Breakfast is very good with a selection of cereals, breads, cakes and a limited range of hot items. Coffee is good, but the fruit juice is disappointing.
The hotel is in a quiet residential area, with a short stroll down to the old quarter, going past a supermarket.

It is long walk to the bus station, even further to the railway station.
Buses to Sagres, Luz and Salemena pass nearby so you don't need to go all the way to the bus station to get one.

Lagos is around 80km from Faro airport, when we booked our holiday we took the option of a transfer to and from the hotel with Best Transfers 4 U, which cost £22 return per person.
The downside is that you have to endure the other passenger drop offs, but our return pick up was exactly on time, and with all the other pick ups our journey time to the airport was less than 2 hours.
Taxis charge around 70 euros each way.

We ate in various restaurants in the Rua 25 de Abril, all meals were competitively priced, and in a week we were only disappointed with 2 main courses.

Don Toro Steak House R Lancarole de Freitas 12
Good portion of ribs, chips and salad lots of sauce, too much if you don't like your chips soggy.
Desserts include a generous portion of lemon and strawberry ice cream

Restaurante Os Arcos Rua 25 de Abril, 30
Menu includes a traditional lamb cataplan for 2.
Generous portions of lamb and vegetables

Restaurante Bar O Castelo Rue 25 de Abril, 47
Menu items include a large filleted sole in orange sauce and a generous sirloin portugese style
Dessert options limited to selections from frozen food items.
Select your item from the menu and watch the waiter take it out of the freezer and return to your table

Restaurante Caravela, Rue 25 de Abril, 14
Delicious large portion of ham on the bone served with vegetables,large swordfish filleted with potatoes.
Great selection of reasonably priced desserts including lovely mango mousse crepes, strawberries and cream or ice cream.

Room Tip: If you like the rooms displayed in the online brochure then request a 'traditional room'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    44
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
96
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We have just arrived home after 6 nights at Dom Manuel Hotel. We had a fantastic stay here. From the moment we arrived the staff were so helpful. Really could not do enough for you. For the whole week I seen 1 spec of dust on the carpet. It was immaculate. A credit to the cleaning ladies. Our room was beautiful with a great shower and plenty of hot water. Breakfast was absolutely fine. Wi Fi worked great in the room. It was about a 15min stroll into town which was a pleasant walk in the evening. I'm looking forward to returning some time soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood; Hants
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We recently spent 6 days at the Dom Manuel. From the very warm welcome and attentive reception staff we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was large and comfortable; breakfast was reasonable, but let down by the awefull coffee, more like embalming fluid than aribica. But otherwise we would recomend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing break

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Very nice small hotel (under 30 rooms). Most rooms had balconies overlooking a small pool area. The staff was very attentive and the breakfast was very good. The location is about a 15 min walk to the historic district of town, not bad for an evening stroll for dinner. WIFI worked well in both rooms and common areas.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Lagos and the Dom Manuel Hotel. Great room with a private balcony and sun loungers. Very pretty pool and breakfast areas. The receptionist Stephane was really helpful but the breakfast staff looked pretty miserable and didn't really communicate with the guests. Breakfast buffet was good but the synthetic orange juice and powdered scrambled eggs were a let down. Good location with an easy walk to town and a few of the beaches. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stayed on August 2011 with my wife for two nights. The hotel's location is about 1km from the center of this small town but it's a very enjoyable 10-15 min walk plus that it's very quiet because of that fact and closer to the beaches. It is very well structured with beautiful buildings and gardens, (stone is used as the main material) it has a nice pool area (though rather small) etc. The reception is big with many sofas and a bar, we had a VERY warm welcome with many explanations about the city and the shops, the beaches etc.

The room was fantastic, BIG about 25-27m2, (with a 32 LCD TV, fridge, hairdresser) spacious bathroom, balcony with table, chairs and sunlounge (!) - check my pictures to see yourself. When i did the reservation i asked for a double bed and we got a nice big double bed - not the "two stucked in one" thing.
We had a pool view room (nr 131) - i certainly recommend you to take a pool view room, it worths the small difference because you have the sun light for more as they facing west plus that you have a nice view.. Everything was clean as the whole hotel area (and as the whole Lagos area by the way!). The linens were very clean and they smelled softener (in fact, the hotel's laundry area is nearby the entrance so you can check the old lady who does all the work as she uses clean baskets and closets and she works very caring on that :o) ). Free wi fi in the rooms.

Free parking in the street in front of the hotel. VERY tasty breakfast with great variety and a beatiful area to enjoy it.

The only one small problem that we had and it is solved almost instantly was that the pillows were big and thick so we asked for thiner ones which they brought us the night after.
Totally recommended hotel to enjoy your stay in Lagos.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saintfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The staff in this hotel could teach many of the more elite hotels something about customer care. Where many large hotels adhere to an outward 'policy' of care the staff in Dom Manuel displayed a 'genuine' interest in us. I actually saw one of the room staff who was passing by at breakfast, rush to provide a chair cushion to one of the guests. This seemed true of all the staff, that they had a constant eye for detail! In every repect, comfort, homeliness and service this hotel is super value for money. One small negative feature was that we chose a room where there was a short period of early morning noise of traffic. I assume this was deliveries or refuse collection. This certainly did not spoil our stay.This hotel has the added advantage of being in walking distance of all the features of what is a beautiful area of the Algarve. To be highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dom Manuel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Manuel Hotel

Address: Rua Gago Coutinho | Vila Praia D Ana, Lote 7, Lagos 8600-593, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Manuel Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Dom Manuel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dom Manuel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dom Manuel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.