We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful what you book” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Club Lagos Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marina Club Lagos Resort to your Saves list
Marina Club Lagos Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marina de Lagos, Lote 20, Lagos 8600-780, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Biggar, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Be careful what you book”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I spent a week at this hotel, the first night they put us in a room on a round-about!!! It was extremely noisy. We did manage to get moved at a considerable additional cost to us.

In our so called "suite" the kitchen units needed a good clean and were a bit shabby as was the bathroom. Certainly not four star in my opinion. There were a number of areas that could have done with a bit of attention i.e broken tiles in and around the pool.

On a positive note the assistant manageress was extremely helpful and thankfully to her my whole holiday was not ruined

Room Tip: All the photographs advertising this hotel show lovely views of the pool and marina. Beware there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinaclub, Manager at Marina Club Lagos Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are extremely sorry that you didn't enjoy your holiday with us.
It is an unfortunate fact that we cannot please everyone.

Yours Sincerely,

Marina Club Lagos Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    110
    25
    10
    5
See reviews for
98
125
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We spend 10 days in May/June with our two kids (5 & 1) and all of us loved the hotel. We had a spacious appartment at the corner of the main building with a bedroom and two sleep couches in the living room. Everything was clean and service was good. Front desk staff was always supportive.
The pool was good even though it is not heated. English breakfast in the restaurant on the grounds was okay for our needs. Spa as used for a massage was good too.
There is no playground on the hotel grounds but within a few steps a swing and some monkey bars can be found.

Location is great: a number of pubs and restaurants are close-by in the Marina, beaches and Lagos city center can be reached in a 10-15 minute walk. The next supermarket is a 5-10 minute walk.

Guests should speak Portugese or English as e.g. only a few were able to speak a Little German.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinaclub, Manager at Marina Club Lagos Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are most pleased to know that you've enjoyed your stay with us.

Yours Sincerely,

Marina Club Lagos Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here with 2 adults and 2 children in a 2 bedroom apartment for 3 nights and had a great time. We were upgraded to an apartment in another block which had lift access and bigger terraces and were very impressed with the size of the flat and the terrace. The pros were :
1) Bright, airy apartment with huge terrace : there is no shortage of space as the apartment had a big lounge, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The enormous terrace with extra dining table and a couple of sun loungers were a definite plus. The furnishings were modern and colourful.
2) location : I know this area of Lagos well and the marina is very close to most places in Lagos. From here you can walk to the station, to town, to the beach, to the shops or just enjoy the restaurants in the marina. A perfect pick!
3) car park : the apartment comes with free underground car park with direct lift access to your flat
Overall we had a good time. The only thing I would say is that the apartments are quite pricey. If you are staying for a week, I think there are other apartments with a pool on offer in the same area at much more affordable prices.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinaclub, Manager at Marina Club Lagos Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your preference and kind words.

Yours Sincerely,

Marina Club Lagos Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Great facilities and location. Friendly, helpful staff. The place to stay in Lagos. Suites are ideal for couples. Underground parking. Nice pool: other guest prone to staking claim to sun beds with their towels and not tour nig up! Busy around the pool accordingly.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinaclub, Manager at Marina Club Lagos Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your preference and kind words.

Yours Sincerely,

Marina Club Lagos Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have nothing to add other than to agree with previous reviewers about the quality of the apartments and the location of the Marina Club. I would recommend it.

Here are some other things that might be useful if you book there

Ricardo is the fitness manager. He organises walking tours and cycling tours on Tuesday and Thursday. Both cover the same general area but I went on both anyway and enjoyed both. There is no fitness team encouraging you to participate in "activities" which is great. Also, there is no music played around the pool also great

Sun lounger reserving is essential and not discouraged by the hotel staff. Just go with it and don't get annoyed by it

Don't stay by the pool all the time. You can walk in 30 mins to get to some really beautiful and not packed beaches on the gold coast or just go to the Meia Playa about 10 mins from the hotel. The hotel will provide a shuttle service but the walk is good exercise. There are a couple of restaurants with stunning views close to the beaches

Bring a jumper or cardigan. A few nights were a little chilly due to an onshore breeze and you will need something more than a light teashirt.

The dolphin watching trip was great fun and we saw dolphins. Nobody complained of being seasick on our trip

Do the Kayak trips to the grotto and caves. I went on the "Days of Adventure" trip.

Do the bird watching trip on the lagoon. It only takes an hour and we saw lots of birds. The captain of the boat is great fun and shouts a lot when a rare bird appears. He caught a baby turtle with his bare hand so we could take a photograph.

No bad meals but the favourite restaurants in Lagos were Dos Irmaos , Navegador(stunning views from the terrace) and Arribile (our personal favourite where booking is required). The latter two are about twenty metres apart just off the main pedestrian area. Dos Irmaos is beside the church in the square at the end of the promenade/pedestrian area.

Overall, Lagos is a great place for a family holiday

Room Tip: Pool/Marina views are nice but we didn't spend a lot of time on the balcony staring at the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinaclub, Manager at Marina Club Lagos Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your preference and are pleased to know that you've enjoyed your holidays in Lagos and our resort.

Yours Sincerely,

Marina Club Lagos Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Just returned from a week at marina apartments. The service from all of the staff was excellent, the rooms were well equipped and spotless. There is plenty to do and places to go, the town is a short walk away with numerous restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinaclub, Manager at Marina Club Lagos Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your preference and are pleased to know you've enjoyed your stay in Lagos and our resort.

Yours Sincerely,

Marina Club Lagos Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent 7 days here at the end of July/first few days of August 2013 in a one bed apartment which was comfortable enough for a family of 4 with 2 teenagers. The rooms and kitchen area provided more than enough space and the cleaning was to a good standard. We were on the south facing (car park view) side of the building which wasn't a major problem for us as we spent most of our time out and about but obviously a room with a pool or marina view would be preferable if you like to spend more time relaxing and watching the world go by or need to keep an eye on the kids. The facilities were also good - the bars pleasant and the pool large enough to never really get crowded although there is pressure on the sun loungers so unfortunately you may have to arrive early to avoid disappointment. Our only minor criticisms/observations of the resort would be the size of the bathroom in our flat which felt a little cramped and although clean enough could perhaps benefit from a slight refresh sometime soon; and the reception staff who were friendly but never really came close to going out of their way for us as customers on the couple of occasions we had cause to trouble them. Nothing serious really and this could of course just be our own isolated personal example.
The marina itself is modern and pleasant, there are convenient bars and restaurants and some more quiet areas towards the inner part. The position is perfect, the local supermarket is close, the footbridge takes you straight into town and the masses of bars, restaurants and shops and the fantastic Meia Praia beach is just a 10 minute stroll away. We had a great time overall and would definitely recommend this resort and location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinaclub, Manager at Marina Club Lagos Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your preference and expect to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Marina Club Lagos Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Club Lagos Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Club Lagos Resort

Address: Marina de Lagos, Lote 20, Lagos 8600-780, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Lagos
#9 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Club Lagos Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Marina Club Lagos Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Club Lagos Hotel Lagos
Marina Hotel Lagos
Marina Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Club Lagos Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.