We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solar de Mos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Solar de Mos Hotel to your Saves list
Solar de Mos Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Santa Casa da Misericordia, Lt. 1, Lagos 8600, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Preparing 2015 holidays
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“what a great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We have just spent 10 days in this wonderful hotel and what a great time we had. This is not a 5 star hotel but what it lacks (and it's not much) in facilities it more than makes up for in it's staffs great attitude and enthusiasm. Nothing and i mean nothing was to much trouble and they are all very friendly and good for a laugh and a joke. It is like a home from home where we felt really comfortable. So if you are looking for a good holiday with really friendly people as your hosts this is the place to stay. Thier moto should be arrive as guests leave as friends.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the garden are sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    47
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
114
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

A small 15 bedroom hotel about 15 - 20 mins walk from the walled old town of Lagos. The bedrooms, public rooms and pool area are all very well maintained and comfortable. Breakfasts are more than adequate. The owners and staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

The only downsides being:- for some, the walk into town although a local bus passes the door and taxis area reasonable and plentiful, also the bar/food prices are a little higher than you would pay in neighbouring establishments.
However, when we are next in Lagos, if we could get a similar deal we would have no hesiation in staying again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolardeMos, Manager at Solar de Mos Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.
You are welcome to give us your opinion and we are paying attention to your comments.
Every time this make as grow.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We tried this hotel after reading Tripadvisor's reviews and were not disappointed. Excellent service, rooms and facilities and charges reasonable.

Lena and Carlos succeed in making you feel really welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them. Carlos prepared some beautiful golden sea bream for us one evening.

Due to a let down by TAP, the Portuguese airline, instead of getting to the hotel by 6 p.m. we had to take a later flight from Lisbon, along with a lot of other Gatwick passengers, and could not get to the hotel until 2 a.m.!!! Try finding your way in a strange city at that time of the night! However Carlos was there to welcome us - something we greatly appreciated.

We will certainly be back but do hope they have bought a new toaster!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolardeMos, Manager at Solar de Mos Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.
We are always pleased to have guests opinion. We consider your comments and we try to fulfil guests wishes.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

As a couple in our 50´s we wanted a nice, quiet, friendly hotel and Solar De Mos fitted the bill perfectly. Our room was spotless and comfortable and the hotel is run very professionally by its lovely owner. He helped us with all our enquiries about the local area and always had a smile on his face. Breakfast was always fresh and had a good choice with cheese, fruit, ham and some pastries. Very good. We enjoyed the walk into town and only takes about 15 to 20 minutes, so ideal for a bit of gentle exercise! There is a small but clean swimming pool to use and we never had a problem getting a sunbed. We really appreciated the personal service here and we would return if in the Algarve.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolardeMos, Manager at Solar de Mos Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.
It's always a pleasure to us to have a feed back from our guests. It also make us able to make it better. I wish you a nice Year.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is our 4th time back to this hotel. If you want peace and quite and excellent service with a smile at the best price then this is it. 10 to15 minute walk from the centre of Lagos then this is for you. rooms comfortable with all you need, Food, Tell Lina what you want before Midday and she will get it frash and it will be on your table when you want it ( Fantastic ) I can not speak to highly of this hotel. You Must try it.
Peter and Fran.
Widnes
Cheshire.

Room Tip: All Rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolardeMos, Manager at Solar de Mos Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
My dears. Thank you very much for your stay at Solar de Mos. We enjoy your visit and we keep you in mind.
We wish you a fantastic time back to England.
Carlos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, we stayed for 5 days, room is small but has all essentials you need very comfy and clean. We were met with all our accommodation needs, very friendly owner who gave us lots of information about places to visit.
The room we stated in had a small balcony of from the room, nice to sit and relax and take in the views. Hotel offers breakfast in morning and has an outdoor pool with sunbeds.

Good location as its 5 min drive to lagos town and a beautiful beach is located there too. Definitely worth a stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolardeMos, Manager at Solar de Mos Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and nice words. We hope to keep our standards or even increase them. We enjoy our work and this feedback it's very important to us.
Best regards.
Carlos Gloria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterossa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We spent 7 nights here and were well pleased with the decision. The hotel and environs were very clean, rooms well equipped, beds comfortable and the owners friendly and helpful. Room was serviced beautifully each day.
Yes, it is a 20 minute or so walk into Lagos town centre but there are buses and taxis if required. The walk home, depending upon which route you take, can have a couple of steeper sections but these are not long and the rest of the walk is a slow, steady, gentle incline. We found the walking no chore, in fact liked it because we fit some exercise into each day.
Breakfast should leave no one hungry. There is a range of breads, cereals, yoghurt, fruit, cold meats, cheese, sweet biscuit type things, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs and bacon or sausages (alternating days). Granted the sausages are not the best.
Good free Wifi is available throughout the hotel and this is a great big plus. We would heartily recommend and if fortunate enough to make a return trip to the Algarve would stay here again without hesitation.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolardeMos, Manager at Solar de Mos Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and nice words. We hope to keep our standards or even increase them. We enjoy our work and this feedback it's very important to us.
Best regards.
Carlos Gloria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solar de Mos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar de Mos Hotel

Address: Rua Santa Casa da Misericordia, Lt. 1, Lagos 8600, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Solar de Mos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family run hotel, with a welcoming atmosphere and a personal service it is built on two floors with a lift. The 15 well appointed bedrooms all with terrace or balcony are equiped with private bathroom (with bathrobe), mini-bar, direct dial telephone, alarm clock, safe (rentable) cable TV and air conditioning, smoke and fire detectors, electric power at 220v. A free parking place direct at the hotel is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Solar de Mos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar De Mos Lagos
Hotel Solar De Mos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solar de Mos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.